Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th December 2005, 12:13   #16
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,972
Thanked: 15,684 Times
Default

the only reson I advise against netscape is because of security issues. The issue you were facing may recur soon. The reason is this :

http://browser.netscape.com/ns8/support/relnotes.jsp

these are the release notes for netscape latest version ie 8.0

If you see the security fixes, it says "firefox 1.0.7".

firefox 1.0.7 is old and any new fixes which have come in firefox 1.5 will come in netscape after 2-3 months when the next version of netscape will be out, based on firefox 1.5.

As for usability there is not much difference between firefox/mozilla/netscape.
If you really want to use netscape I would suggest you get a good free firewall like Zonealarm(Do not use if you are on AMD 64bit). With a firewall and antivirus along with microsoft anti spyware you are pretty safe.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2005, 12:25   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

One strong reason to shift to Mozilla Firefox is that it is actively evolving, which is then "probably" backported to Netscape. If you are used to netscapre look n feel, find a theme in Firefox which looks similar to netscape.
RX135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2005, 15:06   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,662
Thanked: 2,017 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper
I agree. what I have done is delete both the files. I dont know how they got there in the first place. Lets see if problem is solved if not I think i'll just reinstall netscape unless someone can come up with a solution.

Viper
That file loads in the background when the OS boots and keeps searching for updates on the net from the mother site. It "got there" when you installed the browser. Reinstall will solve the problem only if somehow the EXE got corrupted. However in that case you may just copy a new file from the disk (or wherever else) you installed the browser from. I strongly suspect the site where it checks for updates must have gone down and hence it is failing. You know how it is with Netscapes, the way they are sinking...
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2005, 16:23   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 577
Thanked: 84 Times
Default

I suggest to use latest versions of Firefox and for the AV, Avast Antivirus Home Edition is a good bet. Both AVG and Avast are available in free editions and are almost as good or better for day to day use than paid versions from other major vendors.

For users still preferring IE, use Maxthon which is based on the IE engine. It has everything that IE always lacked .
Digital Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2005, 16:26   #20
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,680
Thanked: 1,424 Times
Default

See Run ? Type 'msconfig' .

A window pops up.

Take the Startup option in taht window

Uncheck the 'updatewhateveryousaidisceatingproblemexefile'

close

restart.

end of story.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2005, 16:29   #21
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,680
Thanked: 1,424 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Vampire
I suggest to use latest versions of Firefox and for the AV, Avast Antivirus Home Edition is a good bet. Both AVG and Avast are available in free editions and are almost as good or better for day to day use than paid versions from other major vendors.

For users still preferring IE, use Maxthon which is based on the IE engine. It has everything that IE always lacked .
Guten Tag

What IE lacked was security and what all wanted was Firefox.

ANd dont you guys use sophos antivirus in germany?

I use McAfee and Firefox 1.5
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2005, 22:43   #22
BHPian
 
ArmourOfGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 150
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I'll give a better option, go for Mozilla Firefox or try using Opera which are any time better then Netscape and IE....and they also block Pop up's, etc......
ArmourOfGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2005, 09:50   #23
BHPian
 
rapideffect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 147
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper
Hi,

When I use IE after a few mins the same message appears and IE shuts down. Can anyone help me solve this.

Viper
I had suffered the same problem a long time back where in I was using only IE 6. Initially I thought of a bug and searched the entire microsft tech site and couldn't get any clue. But today I'm not facing this problem because my default browser is Opera and I literally stopped using IE 6.0.
rapideffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2005, 18:15   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

And if you are stuck up with "IE only" sites, you can install "IE Tab" and "View in IE" extensions of firefox. With first, you never have to leave FireFox and just toggle the view between Firefox and IE. With second, you can open up any link/page in IE by right mouse button click.
RX135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2005, 22:58   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,547
Thanked: 1,613 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
See Run ? Type 'msconfig' .

A window pops up.

Take the Startup option in taht window

Uncheck the 'updatewhateveryousaidisceatingproblemexefile'

close

restart.

end of story.

Never seen anyone bring solution to a pc problem so confidently....

KP
kpzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help - problem with internet connection at home RAC Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 15th January 2012 09:21
Internet Explorer 9 (IE9) and Team-BHP problems kapilvgupta Gadgets, Computers & Software 24 7th July 2011 20:46
Internet Explorer 8 APZoom Gadgets, Computers & Software 24 9th May 2009 14:25
Unix File Explorer.. Is there any? clevermax Gadgets, Computers & Software 20 18th November 2008 14:25
Internet Explorer problem!!! Shan2nu Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 2nd June 2008 15:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks