Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th January 2006, 09:38   #1
BHPian
 
pratheesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 49
Thanked: 0 Times
Smile Windows ----> Linux

hey guys help me out. Now I use Windows SP2 (oops! its pirated), and i would like to switch to Linux. Before sometimes I used linux, but I came back to Windows, just because my CADD softwares were designed only for windows.
Now I am planning to go back to Linux. Please specify me a very engineering friendly (means with tools like units converter, graph plotter, optimization tools, etc) Linux flavour. And also some CADD softwares whcih works in Linux.
I need a modelling software with similar functionalities and flexibility of ProE and an analysis software similar to Ansys (I heard that linux version of Ansys is available), both should be a free one.

Pratheesh Prakash
pratheesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 09:55   #2
BHPian
 
Harrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: KA 03, KL 12, TN 38
Posts: 699
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Linux version of ansys is available. But sadly it is not free. It would cost a bomb. But believe me when you do a FEA yuo'll see the difference. Linux machines finish the tests way faster than the windows ones. And rarely do yuo have system crashes during analysis.

Not sure about modelling softwares though... I guess Ideas has a linux version.

BTW what modelling / analysis software are you using now? If you purchased a proper license, then i guess you can get back to the vendor and get a deal on the new license.
Harrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 10:30   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Agree, while pirated versions of software's are readily available for windows, for linux there will be difficulty.
As for using Windows pirated, MS has started cracking down in India too. So they know who is pirating, and it could turn out to be costly mistake(Fines are in range of 50000rs).

As for the tools you need, units converter etc., List exactly that you want, that would help

you could contact the Linux Bangalore User group(blug.in) or Linux Delhi user group(http://www.linux-delhi.org).
There you will find better answers. If you are insterested in a live discussion come over to #linux-india at irc.freenode.org.

Last edited by tsk1979 : 11th January 2006 at 10:33.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 12:29   #4
BHPian
 
pratheesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 49
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

even now i m using pirated versions of Ansys n ProE (though i dont use them for commercial works)...soon I ll shift to Linux... but i want a linux flavour suited to my needs... well than both of you for replying.

Last edited by pratheesh : 11th January 2006 at 12:30.
pratheesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 12:39   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Try open source tools like Rhino for modeling. It is quite good.
RX135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 15:31   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979
Agree, while pirated versions of software's are readily available for windows, for linux there will be difficulty.
As for using Windows pirated, MS has started cracking down in India too. So they know who is pirating, and it could turn out to be costly mistake(Fines are in range of 50000rs).

As for the tools you need, units converter etc., List exactly that you want, that would help

you could contact the Linux Bangalore User group(blug.in) or Linux Delhi user group(http://www.linux-delhi.org).
There you will find better answers. If you are insterested in a live discussion come over to #linux-india at irc.freenode.org.
Wow how do they know you are using pirate copies ? Unless you connect to the net using your pirate OS how would they know ? Could you a copy of Linux on another partition and use that when going on the net ?
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 15:44   #7
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,383 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979
As for using Windows pirated, MS has started cracking down in India too. So they know who is pirating, and it could turn out to be costly mistake(Fines are in range of 50000rs).
They raided a friends office. Obviously found a couple of PCs with pirated windows and MS office. After some serious begging and apologising, they left, but only after he had bought 2 official copies of Windows Xp and one of MS office.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 16:34   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Yes that could be a solution. But a tad inconvinient so most people who are into serious gaming and all stick to windows, others go to linux. I use windows just for gaming and standard chartered website . Have got a licenced XP, so no issues of M$ getting to know.

Other solution is to get a firewall, and disallow any M$ application to connect to the internet, like updater etc.,
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 20:13   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

I used slackware many many years ago. I have tried Ubuntu Linux, and it runs well. I am not sure if they will ship to India but if you click on shipit free cds and fill in your details you may get lucky. I had the discs a few months ago. It used to let you order a few free copies so order a few and give them to your mates.

http://www.ubuntulinux.org/
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2006, 21:34   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 80
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Forget it... just buy windows (~ Rs. 5000/-)

Since you have used Linux, I'm sure you know that it can be a pain.

There is no good MCAD software (Solid, surface) for linux, yet...

- mvnk
DrunkenMonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2006, 06:52   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

if you are acquainted to linux and love playing with your pc, dont even look at windows.

I have always been a windows guy until now. But last week I used linux and I knew what I need. The latest linux 64-bit rocks.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2006, 09:01   #12
BHPian
 
pratheesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 49
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Infact I love to work with a Linux machine.... only problem is I cant play with the configurations like I did with a windows machine... and also the caddware issue. I havent worked with caddwares in linux machine.

Last edited by pratheesh : 12th January 2006 at 09:03.
pratheesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2006, 09:08   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Its not difficult to play around with configs, infact advanced config is easy one you get the hang of it. ITs all a case of familiarity. My take is that if you find good linux cad software go to linux, otherwise you can stick to windows
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2006, 09:19   #14
BHPian
 
pratheesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 49
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I dont want to stick to windows, even if it is provided free!!!
I dont have access to many of my favorite programs when using Linux, as they dont have a linux version, i dont want to use the win emulators either.
pratheesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2006, 09:39   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

If you dont have the programs then you have to use emulators or windows. There is no way out. You could try asking around in linux-bangalore-technical users group in yahoo. Large community. Most programs(except games) have an equivalent in the unix world. Infact in the engineering field its usually the other way round. Companies release their softwares for the unix world and not for windows.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team-BHP Linux support thread devarshi84 Gadgets, Computers & Software 141 17th July 2017 10:54
Which linux distro do you use, and why? ntomer Gadgets, Computers & Software 183 7th March 2016 21:40
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
Linux Ubuntu Beryl gopz Gadgets, Computers & Software 31 4th March 2008 08:41
Which linux distribution for me? Harrie Shifting gears 3 5th October 2005 16:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:49.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks