| |||||||
| Register | BHP Garage | Classifieds | Team-BHP FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Sound Off and Show Off Discuss and show your ICE here |
![]() |
| | #47 (permalink) |
| BHPian | Gunbirji, Excellento work done.. again! And please, stop spreading cardiac arrests by posting such details .I have a friend who also owns 2007 white CRV. I've e-mailed him this thread's link. Right now he's in Manala.. oops Manali . I'm sure you'll get to hear from him very soon indeed.cheers rev_hard OT: is it just me or does everyone see a '+' sign as a suffix to Gunbir's handle in the Who's online listing? What does this imply/signify?
__________________ ..price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish - Robert Jackson Last edited by rev_hard : 5th August 2007 at 15:32. |
| | |
| | #48 (permalink) | |
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
Which make of the True RMS Multimeter do you have ? Clip will be delighted to see that also. You measured the impedence of the driver ok that I agree. but how will it help in tunning the amp. And what do you mean by tunning here, is it the gain setting or some thing else. | |
| | |
| | #49 (permalink) |
| BHPian | lbm, yes i was delighted, i believe this is an AZ audiocomp True RMS multi meter which costs aroung 17-20k if im not wrong. thats alot of money for me. i will sure buy a high end dmm once i feel im upto that level. for a start, im going to by an old CR scope. lets see if i can use it properlly. ![]() also iam coming to delhi this mont to buy some electronic stuff. if i dont get it there i might go search in bombay. my shopping list will be final soon.;-) and just for the sake of discussion, would like to ask if one can make out a difference in .34ohms Nominal IMP? everything remaining the same just the imp difference. will the extra IMP make an audible difference? LBM, from whta i know, you need the impedence when calculating the voltage for setting the gains with a DMM. correct me if im wrong. cheers clip Last edited by clipto333 : 5th August 2007 at 17:49. |
| | |
| | #50 (permalink) | |
| Newbie Join Date: May 2007 Location: delhi
| Quote:
![]() just as i was about to hold my pants i saw some thing wrong 87,000! rs and the paint is chipping off before install, are these pictures of a install or uninstall, spending so much and getting this quality even thou it doesn't affect the sound is kind of a sorry state. similar to buying a dented brand new car. | |
| | |
| | #51 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Dubai (3-10 July)
| With common amps (ones that dont have the same power output at multiple impedances), and a resultant load within 1-2 ohms, a 0.33 ohm variation would mean a lot of output variation. On the other hand, there would be nearly zero difference between an amp driving 8 or 8.33 ohms nominal impedance. The former scenario would mean a lot to SPL competitors, and they would like to keep the impedance as close to that at which the amp puts out maximum power. But I dont think Gunbir and JB look like they're going to the next drag with this setup. Theoretically, LBM is right. Other than that, there's nothing worrisome about it.
__________________ Operator! Give me the number for 911! |
| | |
| | #52 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: Delhi/Noida
| techn9one...my my....what eyes you have.... You know you would be really much happier if you looked at the brighter side of things..... This forum is really more about appreciation than depreciation.....
__________________ Car : Kenwood - Tru - Rainbow - ID Home : Dynaudio - Krell In the audio world, adding to the music is the biggest sin. |
| | |
| | #53 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
Appears to be a rather well finished spacing(with a rotary grinder) job resulting in the chrome flashing enough to catch someone's eyes! @ gunbir/jb: What was the total cost of this setup? if i may ask sirji?
__________________ ..price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish - Robert Jackson Last edited by rev_hard : 5th August 2007 at 20:52. | |
| | |
| | #54 (permalink) | |
| BANNED Join Date: Sep 2005 Location: New Delhi
| Quote:
.I wonder that you actually think that a paint will chip off like this on such an expensive set from world's one of the most reputed loudspeaker driver manufacturer. There is nothing wrong with these midbasses. Its just that the pictures were taken after the midbasses were test fitted in the vehicle. It is the screw marks which you are refering as paint chipping off. | |
| | |
| | #55 (permalink) | |
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
Sir the Impedences which are given but the manufacturer are wrong kya. so why do we need to measure them again and if we measure what is the purpose may some new tuning technique. Also we need to measure the voltage on the amp or the impendence of the woofer while setting the gain.Correct me if I am wrong. No offense bro. | |
| | |
| | #56 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
i mean no offence but you should think before you write. there could be many possibilities for that(if the paint is chipped) and im sure even the best paint in the world wont resist screw marks. did you think it can be due to test fitting the midbass? maybe the components were being used earlier by the customer? you didnt bother im sure. i have seen a new s class in the showroom in ludhiana. it had a minor scratch. around 2-3mm. i noticed cause i was checking the wheels and it was near it. now, even though it doesnt affect the performance nor visible from say 2-3 feets can you say MB's quality is in a sorry state? i think you should really think before you say something. rest, im not forcing my opinion and cant and i wont stop you from saying anything ![]() cheers clip ooops, sorry jb didnt see your reply. i frgot to click the send button and its too late now lol. Last edited by clipto333 : 5th August 2007 at 23:39. | |
| | |
| | #57 (permalink) | ||
| Quote:
Both are important. | ||
| | |
| | #58 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
it was a question lbm, i didnt mean to cut what you were saying. i asked because i didnt know. ![]() i believe what the good companies state. but maybe there is som deviation. that only gunman or jb can clarify why they hd to measure impedence. also correct me if im wrong but its the resistence that you can measure. impedence is frequency dependant so how can one measure Impedence? Jb/Gb, you really need to clarfy why and how you measured impedence. also i envy you guys for having the best install tools and test & measuring equipment. now im sure you have the AZ audio meter. thats drool worthy dude. gift me you dmms and the 100 ampere test power supply for bench testing. i beleive it costs around 150-200k rs. right? gunbir bhai? would like to ask if the stuff from the AZ catalogue available? i mean a to z. i love those black capacitors and the sonus inductors. how much doe the sonus caps cost? rough idea? cheers clip | |
| | |
| | #59 (permalink) | ||
| Quote:
We do it only in the case of very high end equipment by using test tones with speaker hooked to amplifier and DMM for measurement. For easier measurement one can use Impedance Bridge. Quote:
![]() The component level stuff is available on special order of multiple pieces only. The Sonus caps and Inductors are expensive. Last edited by Autophile : 6th August 2007 at 00:43. | ||
| | |
| | #60 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Ernakulam, Kochi. A.K.A Cochin. 1 day transit.
| I've just seen the pics now and haven't read the rest of the pages. Wow! Wow!! Wow!!! That's really a great install. Nice HU, amps, subs and what not!
__________________ She was born in 1956. Rebirth is today!!! |
| | |
![]() |