Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Street Experiences

Old 21st May 2008, 01:51   #1

Unhappy Oh my GOD! I banged my brand new shiny car twice within a weeks time.

I banged my brand new shiny car twice within a weeks time... now its not so shiny in the front in some places. Its not the scratches that I'm worried about cos those are minor and can be fixed. Its that the things could have got worse. I'm new to driving and have driven about 60 kms till date or roughly 10 hours behind the wheel.. which includes the 5 hours I spent at driving class. Is this normal? ... have all of you faced such problems or is it just me?... this is such a confidence breaker and the people staring around only make things worse.
How to deal with things in such a situation?
daemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2008, 02:21   #2
Team-BHP Support

Dont worry - put up some pics and watch the suggestions flow.
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2008, 02:36   #3
BHPian

Nothing new dude. As the mod suggested, put up some snaps of the places that need attention and see all the best advice that you get around here.

And dont worry, initially things happen. That's why it is called learning.
CorsaLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2008, 02:37   #4
Senior - BHPian

Its absolutely normal for a new driver to take a few hits. Everyone learns that way. All you need is some quick reflexes & quick thinking to be able to get out a situation.
Simple technique that I think anyone could use:
1)Search- Look around you at all times,while driving/riding. Make sure you have atleast a vague idea of what type of vehicles are around you on the road.If there are trouble makers,try to distance yourself from them.
2) Evaluate- figure out what your possibilities are,if something untoward were to happen. Ex- someone stopping suddenly; someone trying to cross the road in a hurry; or plain rash driving that affects your speed & judgement.