Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th February 2006, 10:32   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 213 Times
Default Yamaha to buy back '06 R6 due to tacho error.

Yamaha has announced that it will buy back all 2006 R6's if the owner is not happy with the fact that the tachometer has a 9% error in it. This means that the R6 revvs to 16,000rpm and not 17,500 as advertised.

Yamaha Buy back

Now, would we ever see this sort of thing in India! Can you imagine Tata sending out a letter to its owners telling them that the car has 1 inch less legroom than advertised, so if you'd like, you can sell the car back to the company for its original value! Yea right!
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2006, 11:10   #2
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 628
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtech
Now, would we ever see this sort of thing in India! Can you imagine Tata sending out a letter to its owners telling them that the car has 1 inch less legroom than advertised, so if you'd like, you can sell the car back to the company for its original value! Yea right!
YES IT COULD HAPPEN... when you see pink elephants flying in the sky!!
2L8uLoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2006, 22:31   #3
BHPian
 
deftones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 216
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

yep...2 of my friends had thier bike delivered recently and had the problem...the bike shops din know nuts about it....hope they get a new bike soon...
deftones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 00:00   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

How stupid are engineers at Yamaha and bike owners/testers? Calculating revs is a simple combo of the speeds achieved and the gear ratios, since all three are related.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 07:37   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtech
the tachometer has a 9% error in it. This means that the R6 revvs to 16,000rpm and not 17,500 as advertised.
Boo...i just lost some respect for the 06R6...

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r
How stupid are engineers at Yamaha and bike owners/testers? Calculating revs is a simple combo of the speeds achieved and the gear ratios, since all three are related.
Actually the sensor is straight off the crank if i am not mistaken. If i had to guess i would say that the error came in at the D2A conversion or some stage after that though... (its an analog tacho right Rtech?)

cya
R

EDIT
ps - yepp..looks like it to me ! (could just be something as small as a few ohms difference on a resistor in there....but im sure yamaha knew their engine wasnt hitting 17.5k.)


still love her though...

Last edited by Rehaan : 16th February 2006 at 07:47.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 11:46   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Yeah, rev sensing is always off crank or ECU, but you can still figure out any one of the three - speed, revs, gear ratios - given the other two. Pretty dumb.

Bike still looks good though. Best looking Yamaha yet. Almost makes me want to give up being a Ninja fan.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 12:08   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r
Yeah, rev sensing is always off crank or ECU, but you can still figure out any one of the three - speed, revs, gear ratios - given the other two. Pretty dumb.
I wouldnt call it dumb, because that kinda implies that yamaha didnt know, and i think thats close to impossible...
wonder if this was some kind of marketing trick gone bad or something like that!?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 12:56   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

The 06 R6 is really really tiny compared to the other superbikes.

The aim to reduce drag coefficient, Weight,... the size has been decreased.

This might prove a hindrance to a few who'd like to feel a big superbike rather than a moped with a 107bhp engine :(
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 13:31   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

I mean pretty dumb that it took so long. Hasn't the bike been out for a few months? I mean, even in India, people do real speed vs speedo speed comparos, so I'm surprised there hasn't been a big commotion about it.

Well, maybe now things will be rectified...

@Rtech: seems like Yam lied through their teeth. Like Mahindra saying the Scorpio has 5 cylinders, knowing fully well it's only 4. The buyback was the least they could do.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 13:43   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 213 Times
Default

Frankly, the only reason Yamaha launched the buyback was to avoid some guy sueing the pants of them for false advertising. 99% of the R6 owners are not going to return their bikes.

And how does the 1,500rpm mistake affect the performance at all? It doesn't. Just like a speedo error in all our cars, this bike has a slight tacho error. If I had an '06 R6 wih me, I wouldn't really give a damn.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 00:43   #11
BHPian
 
Speedster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 35
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtech
If I had an '06 R6 wih me, I wouldn't really give a damn.
I second that dude.
Speedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 21:06   #12
BHPian
 
ArmourOfGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 150
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtech
Yamaha has announced that it will buy back all 2006 R6's if the owner is not happy with the fact that the tachometer has a 9% error in it. This means that the R6 revvs to 16,000rpm and not 17,500 as advertised.
Well that sounds like some production and wrong advertising result by the Yamaha guys............

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtech
Now, would we ever see this sort of thing in India! Can you imagine Tata sending out a letter to its owners telling them that the car has 1 inch less legroom than advertised, so if you'd like, you can sell the car back to the company for its original value! Yea right!
Well atleast I remember calling up few people and telling them about the mistake in the power steering (in a particular lot of production) and asking them to bring it back to the service center.
ArmourOfGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2006, 12:24   #13
BHPian
 
turbo_v12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thane
Posts: 457
Thanked: Once
Default

Well guys...

If Yamaha really wanted to advertise the wrong way and lie, why do you think they would come out in the open and accept that their claimed statistics were partly incorrect?

Just a personal opinion...Yamaha is being honest about it...I think most autos have errors we cannot catch sometimes...

As Rtech said...How much difference does 1500 rpm make? It's still producing esentially the same power and torque and all other stats remain the same.
turbo_v12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 02:55   #14
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 33
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hey Speaking Of Tachos,
Is there any way you get digital tachos for indian bikes (especially the PULSAR)???
adarshbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 04:42   #15
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Mpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,432
Thanked: 1,682 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan
Actually the sensor is straight off the crank if i am not mistaken. If i had to guess i would say that the error came in at the D2A conversion or some stage after that though... (its an analog tacho right Rtech?)
Most of the modern tachs are run by stepper motors, not mechanical. So theres may not be conversion to A.

Sounds hokey. They should have made lots of dyno runs before launching the bike. Now you're telling me the tach on the dyno was also off.
Mpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY tacho for a car, using a bike's tacho ilangop DIY - Do it yourself 64 25th November 2016 14:59
Yamaha R15 - Warning light error codes Shivanshu Motorbikes 6 18th August 2015 22:42
Pioneer Head Unit Errors. Error 11 and error 17 in pioneer MP3 rajivanoj In-Car Entertainment 32 10th December 2013 17:07
Samsung is in a soup due to a PR Error! MaxTorque Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 8th September 2012 09:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks