Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 21st August 2011, 12:54   #1
BHPian

Default Special bikes of the past - Part 1

I have been thinking of writing a series of articles on special bikes of the past and thought I would start with the homologation specials.
Here we go:

Special Bikes: Part 1: Homologation Specials

Several years ago, I visited Hattar Motorsports, north of San Francisco to show some Ducati parts that I had designed. My 6 year old son with Rossi like hair and his distinct #46 bumble bee jersey impressed the lady at the parts counter. She commented – I like your hair. It was definitely not directed towards me unless she was trying to be sarcastic.

But soon my attention was consumed by the distinctive “stare” of a Yamaha R7 OWO2 that invited me for a closer inspection. I studied this magnificent machine for a few minutes and a salesman walked over to me and said – you sure know these bikes – he was tickling my ego of course. The price tag of 25k USD was actually not too high for a bike of this caliber. New they sold for around 35k USD. I remembered Go-Show (Anthony Gobert) win on an R7 beating Nicky Hayden on the bigger RC51 at sears point during an AMA superbike event. Was it Goby’s exceptional throttle control? May be. But nevertheless the #16 blue R7 is what I recall screaming past the start-finish line leading #69 by a fraction of a second. Goby did disgrace the motorcycling community later on, but that would be a different discussion.

In an era where sub-400-pound 120HP sport bikes are a common place, my admiration for expensive and old homologation specials has not ceased one bit. This is somewhat ironic to the masses. I have tried to rationalize this seemingly visceral attraction with hard evidence to back up my scary obsession. Now, do my eyes and their cerebral connection discern rarity or is there something more? I would like to think the latter.