Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th March 2011, 02:24   #1
BHPian
 
jsmonu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Question ECU Remapping for HayaBusa

Fellow speedsters,

I'm calling out for help today, to know if there's someone I can reach out to for re-mapping the ECU on a Hayabusa?
Basically, I installed a Yoshimura 4-1 can on it, and now the throttle jams and I'm assuming that's because of the throwback of the new (rich) mixture now..
Does anyone know a decent mech / workshop near West Delhi which can help with the ECU Remapping.. but without leaving the bike or wasting too much of time & cash??

Any help appreciated.. Thanks
jsmonu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2011, 11:58   #2
BHPian
 
I-Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 33
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: ECU Remapping for HayaBusa

I guess you will have to fit a Power Commander or Bazzaz unit to be able to re-map as piggy back and use the after market exhaust. I would not let anyone re-map the OE ECU unit.
I-Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 21:52   #3
BHPian
 
jsmonu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: ECU Remapping for HayaBusa

Thanks for the reply i-chief, but I guess that's a known option.. Everyone recommends Power Commander for sure. The reason I'm inquiring to re-map the OE one is because it's a one time adjustment and reading from quite a few places I found that the 32-bit versions on the 2006 models and further can be tuned.
Anyways, any help on what best place would it be to buy a PC within Delhi?
jsmonu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 22:12   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 528
Thanked: 58 Times
Default Re: ECU Remapping for HayaBusa

Try KRP Kaulson Racing ...... GO !!!!!!!!!!!! For KRP in Naraina.
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 07:03   #5
BHPian
 
ravi_xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 58
Thanked: 26 Times
Default Re: ECU Remapping for HayaBusa

Quote:
Originally Posted by I-Chief View Post
I guess you will have to fit a Power Commander or Bazzaz unit to be able to re-map as piggy back and use the after market exhaust. I would not let anyone re-map the OE ECU unit.
Would second that. Is best to use a Power Commander rather than have someone tinker with the OE ECU itself. While i don't have one installed myself, I believe the other advantage you will have is to be able to configure multiple maps over time on the PC. I am however unsure whether that expertise is available in India - perhaps more unaware than unsure.

Good luck.
Ravi
ravi_xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2011, 00:03   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
manson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,547
Thanked: 2,034 Times
Default Re: ECU Remapping for HayaBusa

Couple of questions for you:
What year is the Hayabusa in question?
Is the Yoshi a half system, or a full front to back?
Can you explain the jamming on the throttle, sure it isn't something as basic as a bad cable?

I know of atleast two outfits in UK who could programme your ECU, but that would cost you lot more than buying a Power Commander unit here.
Unless you're very focussed on the drag racing or taking your bike to the track, just get yourself a Power Commander unit and play around with some zillion maps available on various forums. If anything, the Hayabusa has the strongest aftermarket support when it comes to tinkering with the ECU.

manson.
manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2011, 16:12   #7
BHPian
 
jsmonu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: ECU Remapping for HayaBusa

Quote:
Originally Posted by manson View Post
Couple of questions for you:
What year is the Hayabusa in question?
Is the Yoshi a half system, or a full front to back?
Can you explain the jamming on the throttle, sure it isn't something as basic as a bad cable?

I know of atleast two outfits in UK who could programme your ECU, but that would cost you lot more than buying a Power Commander unit here.
Unless you're very focussed on the drag racing or taking your bike to the track, just get yourself a Power Commander unit and play around with some zillion maps available on various forums. If anything, the Hayabusa has the strongest aftermarket support when it comes to tinkering with the ECU.

manson.
Thanks all for your replies..
@Manson.
What year is the Hayabusa in question? >> 2007
Is the Yoshi a half system, or a full front to back? >> FULL SYSTEM
Can you explain the jamming on the throttle, sure it isn't something as basic as a bad cable? >> The problem was like this - When I open the throttle, it doesn't spring back automatically for atleast 2-3 seconds.. I had to manually twist it back.
But it did turn out to be mostly due to the non-usage of the bike for a while, I cleaned and oiled the throttle body and it seemed to improve drastically.
HOWEVER, I'm still not a 100% satisfied after a couple of days, since it seems the problem's coming back. So I definitely need a PC I guess.

Thanks again,
J
jsmonu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2011, 22:53   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
navpreet318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dehradun
Posts: 1,718
Thanked: 826 Times
Default Re: ECU Remapping for HayaBusa

That is a mechanical Problem and not a software or a mapping issue.Seems like your throttle cable is the cause.The software and the powercommander will only lead to different amounts of fuel being let in through the Injector.

It won't control the throttle body.The throttle body is a mechanical device using spring loaded action to return back.And if your throttle cable is old and sticking it will not go back.

This has nothing to do with the full system.
navpreet318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECU-remapping / Chipping jkdas Technical Stuff 97 31st July 2017 15:46
The Suzuki Hayabusa is dead. Long live the 2008 Hayabusa! Rtech Superbikes & Imports 32 31st March 2010 17:26
ECU Remapping for Cedia, Civic, Skoda etc speedfreak7116 Technical Stuff 16 31st March 2009 23:17
Pics : Suzuki GSX1300R Hayabusa + Limited Edition Hayabusa + 2004 R1 v12 Super-Cars & Imports in India 107 23rd February 2008 00:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks