|
| |
| LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| | #16 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Oct 2009 Location: Madurai
| The Endy is the obvious choice in this case. Go for it and you won't regret it. |
| | |
| | #17 |
| BHPian | Hey I am in the same dillema,confused between a fortuner nad Ford endy.The endy has loadsa of goodies over fortuner! |
| | |
| | #18 |
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | ^^ Please post your requirements and expectations from the SUV. My Fortuner ownership thread and Endeavour AT TD thread might prove useful to your research. Feel free to post any queries. ![]() LINKS: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...omes-home.html http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...automatic.html (Testdrive: Ford Endeavour 3.0 Automatic) |
| | |
| | #19 |
| BHPian | Also check my reviews on my own Endy, which I got a month back. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...-3-0l-4x4.html The Fortuner looks good, but without AT, and many of the other goodies from the Endy, I am not sure it's worth the price and the waiting period. Also, I have heard persistent reports of brake problems, and a tendency to overturn at high speeds. |
| | |
| | #20 | ||
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | Quote:
Regarding tendency to overturn, A SUV should never be driven like a car. Any vehicle with higher COG can be overturned easily with dangerous manoeuvres. | ||
| | |
| | #21 |
| Senior - BHPian | Hi my choices by rank 1 Captiva MT/AT - Overall good package 2 Endy - minus is comfort & Service PLUS is road presence 3 Fortuner - Long waiting period 4 Pajero - Outdated and resale value All the best dude |
| | |
| | #22 |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | It;s really irritating that there is no vehicle with the Features, Brakes, Comfort of the Captiva AT, the AT of the Endy and Captiva, the Reliability and Resale of the fortuner, ruggedness & Presence of the Endy and Fortuner, without the bouncy low back and middle row seats of the Endy and without the brakes of the fortuner. All three are roughly the same price but have very different attributes. No options coming soon either. |
| | |
| | #23 |
| BHPian | I think Endeavour is the choice here. Pajero is outdated now and also lacks refinement. According to me Captiva is a soft roader. But one problem I think with Endy is that it has got leaf springs at the rear but overall it is a good vehicle. I have heard that Pajero Sport is about to be launched though I do not know exactly when it will be launched here. So if you can wait then Pajero Sport will be a better choice. |
| | |
| | #24 | |
Give the SUV segment some time, the market needs to move up (happening gradually). The Fortuner's success has made every other manufacturer sit up and notice. Newer entrants expected in the coming years. | |
| | |
| | #25 |
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | ^^ I agree. Its the Fortuner which altogether redefined the premium SUV segment. Earlier all the SUV's co-existed peacefully with no one eating each other's Pie but thanks to Fortuner manufacturers like Ford, GM and HM-Mitsubishi are working hard to retain their share in the segment. If Fortuner would not have happened, we would not have got the New Endy with AT, Chevy would never have dropped the Captiva price and Mitsubishi would have never considered Pajero Sport for India. Just like they say the detergent commercial 'Daag ache hain' Similarly for us customers 'Competition acha hai'. Last edited by .anshuman : 29th June 2010 at 09:18. |
| | |
| | #26 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Bangalore
| Now, these are my personal opinions about the Fortuner when I had gone to check it out at the local dealership which ended up in me not feeling exhilarated as most of us are about it. 1. The steering wheel is pathetic. Too thin for an SUV, too hard and yes, the adjustment was too little for my liking. 2. The parking brake lever too feels flimsy though I m sure it is tough. My Scorpio's parking brake lever feels so much better to hold and use. 3. For some reason I failed to find a comfortable seating posture from the driver's seat. At the correct seat height, my thighs would touch the steering wheel. If I moved the seat backwards, the pedals would seem too far and I had to stretch myself. I can be of defective build but most other vehicles give me a suitable posture.4. I was looking for the option of having a flat bay in the Fortuner but the rep told me that inspite of folding all the possible seats, there is no fully flat bay. 5. The middle seat of the middle row is very uncomfortable due to the armrest it conceals. 6. The rear most row, well, is just, a row. Not a row of adult seats. 7. The ride, at least in Bangalore traffic and roads, was bumpy in the middle row. 8. The fit and finish of many interior plastics left a lot to be desired for this segment. 9. All in all, it felt like a shorter(in length) Innova on stilts and a bigger engine with 4wd and a few more gizmos. Will test the Endy this week and see how it feels. PS: All this is being done for a friend who is looking for an upgrade. |
| | |
| | #27 | |
| BHPian | Quote:
A Mahindra badged SS Rexton at 13 Lakhs? | |
| | |
| | #28 | |||||||
Yes, the ride is bumpy but its much much better than both Scorpio and Endeavour. Quote:
I have driven this SUV in deep sand and even in 4hl this things powers out of sand in a way you cannot expect from Safari, Scorpio or Pajero. The Engine has real grunt low down, i always find myself driving in a gear higher than i would be driving some other diesel car. For those looking for just flexible seating and outright comfort get yourself the Innova with lower GC and lesser suspension travel. Fortuner is made to excel both On-Road and Off-Road conditions, with Off -Road i do not just mean OTR's, This SUV can take you to Leh and will let you take some shortcuts with equal ease and you can drive it comfortably to Jaisalmer and try some sand driving. All of above with confidence of being in a Toyota SUV, with the chances of something going wrong a lot lesser than out Desi SUV's. A lot of us might debate that 90% of the Fortuner owners might never use its 4WD potential ever but why should we worry about them, Innova would have been a better choice for them. | |||||||
| | |
| | #29 | |||||||||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Bangalore
| Quote:
Coming to reliability, I believe that the Scorpio is equally reliable and the same has been proven by umpteen tourers using the same. Heck, even the Safari has proven its mettle with many TBHPians as well. Quote:
I have a few more points/questions for you since you told me that you have extensively used it, so waiting for your reply. | |||||||||
| | |
| | #30 |
| BHPian Join Date: Apr 2010 Location: Navi Mumbai
| Well... Thanks a lot to everyone for the inputs. Finally, It has been decided... It will be the Endy (unless the financier rogers my case). Was planning to keep Xena (that's what I will call her) a secret from my wifey, but I somehow need to include her in all of these crazy decisions; she reassures them. She has chosen the black color. She has not read any of the reviews, hence, I am presenting her perspective of all of those points that we have been debating. 1. It is a 6 seater vehicle with Biz Class seats in the first two rows and mini-biz class seats in the rear only meant for our 4-yr old monkey; and once he outgrows, it would be the Lab. That's it! 2. Steering is thick in the centre... enough to hold to, and she finds it more comfortable than the last vehicle she ever drove, the Alto. That's it! 3. Thank God for the rear-parking camera; the trees will heave a sigh of relief. 4. We'll have to drive slowly, for this rocks sideways. ... and similarly many more. Its just a matter of seeing it from another angle. Personally speaking, I liked the Fortuner, but wasn't keen on paying 50000 US$ for something which is available at almost half the price internationally. The engine is beautiful, but naaah! The Paj is something which has a nostalgic value, and I would give my right arm if the same 'old' looks were available, but with an autobox. Captiva gives a snobby look, 'hey! stay away, i am almost in the x6 category', but thanks! I wanted the road presence. So, it would be the black endy 3.0 automatique! Shall keep you guys posted... @GTO: Should I continue on this thread or should I start a new thread for I wanted to write right from now all the way till I complete a year with the car. |
| | |
![]() |