Team-BHP > Shifting gears > The Team-BHP Meet Section

Old 21st March 2011, 15:37   #946

re: ext Tapri meet in Pune - 8th May Drive & Lunch Meet: Mulshi

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
Why do you need walky-talky when you have mobile phone?
Because mobiles we use everyday and it has become boring. Walky-Talky is something new. Atleast for me. Never used it before
Old 21st March 2011, 15:40   #947

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
Why do you need walky-talky when you have mobile phone?
AP,
1. Mobile is not free
2. coverage may be intermittent
3. its one-to-one whereas walkie-talkie (radio) is generally broadcast with send/receive selector.
4. a convoy can have better fun talking on a proper radio set with everyone else
5. no need to dial like in case of mobile (which is risky while driving.) all that needs to be done is to put the set to transmit and speak out
6. It will give some excitement like being in a armoured convoy and also the lead car can inform others about road condition, things to see, nice scenes, photo opportunities in advance...

I think its a good idea...But I hope they are professional sets? Like the ones with security staff at offices at least? The kiddie toy ones are really not worth it...
Old 21st March 2011, 15:51   #948

Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
4. a convoy can have better fun talking on a proper radio set with everyone else

So, its like

car no 5: hello hello car no1, left turn le left turn le, over.

car no 7: are bhai, yanha left ko rasta nahi hai, turn kaise leuanga, over?

car no1: left nahi left nahi, sidha jana hai, mai paanch saal pahele yanha aaya tha, muze raasta malum hai, over.

car no2: ham log kanha ja rahe hai, over?

car no3: car no 1 ke pichchhe, over.

car no4: tum sab log cricket umpire jaisa over over kyo bol rahe ho?

car no10: lagta hai kisi ko bhi raasta malum nahi hai, better, mai wapas ghar chala jaata hu, over.

car no 15: arey ruko, ruko, chai ki tapri dikh gai, muze ciggy lena hai, over.

car no18: achcha hua, muze bhi rukna tha, bahot der se lagi thi, over:

show goes on.....

Last edited by ASHISHPALLOD : 21st March 2011 at 16:04.
Old 21st March 2011, 15:57   #949

it would be really great fun if we had such conversations! maybe we can use the walkie talkies to communicate between groups of cars rather than one in each car.
Of course, it depends on how many people end up at the meet.

Perhaps they would be better in a maze of roads as against one headed in a single direction. If the range is less, then we might have to fall back on the mobiles or the ever reliable roll-down-window-and-ask option
Old 21st March 2011, 19:06   #950
dot

@ashishpallod, this exactly the plan. Just imagine the fun!

BTW, the walkies are for professional use, they rent it to event managers. Not kiddie stuff. Well I have never seen an event manager with a kiddie walkie talkie so far. Need to check.

Last edited by dot : 21st March 2011 at 19:09.
Old 21st March 2011, 19:18   #951

Originally Posted by dot View Post
@ashishpallod, this exactly the plan. Just imagine the fun!

BTW, the walkies are for professional use, they rent it to event managers. Not kiddie stuff. Well I have never seen an event manager with a kiddie walkie talkie so far. Need to check.
I guess that closes it. They'll definitely be the good black ones in that case. LOL @event managers with kiddie walkies
Old 22nd March 2011, 07:01   #952

Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
== and also the lead car can inform others about road condition, things to see, nice scenes, photo opportunities in advance...
Sounds great , its a must for lead car & specially for the trail car

Will work to keep the group together on longer drives ( exceeding 100 kms & overnight halts .

Its Good for emergencies too .( hope they never arise ) & it will provide security .

Sudarshan
Old 22nd March 2011, 11:46   #953

LOL! Please bring the walkies on its gonna be wild! Looking forward to the drive mpre than ever now.
Old 22nd March 2011, 12:10   #954

Walky talkies will be awesome.We can have the typical jokes where someone says "Roger that" , so the reply will be "Arey Roger kidhar hain".
By the way Adventure Plus is a strange venue for a T-BHP meet. Its OK but will be very hot now with the onset of fiery April. A hill station would be an ideal venue. M'shwar would be better albeit a bit far
Old 22nd March 2011, 14:11   #955

I am game for Walkie Talkies, but since i will be on bike, i need to have a headgear for it so that i dont end up placing it inside my helmet...

just imagine the fun
@Leadcar: this is Lead car ;over
@car 2: i cant see u ;over
@leadcar: Look for car with stolen logo ;over
@car 2: roger that; but i see multiple cars; over
@Leadcar and other cars with stolen logo simultaneously on radio : #@$#@%$##^^^; over and out

After travelling some distance ...suddenly
@car4 : I am hit, i am hit..Mayday mayday...my lowslung bumper has hit a rock;over
@car 5: maintain course car4, i see minimal damage; over
@car 6: car4 and car5 Do not Slow down, I REPEAT do not slow down else i will be on a Collision course with you; over

Time for first break
@trail car: leadcar, Do we have a visual on the Target ;over
@Lead car: Visual positive, i see the target, I REPEAT i see the target ; over
@leadcar: leadcar to trailcar, TAPRI in sight ;over
@trail car: bingo; team prepare to hault;over
@leadcar: Message acknowledged leadcar; confirmed for the halt; over
@leadcar: This is leadcar to the team, lowering speed to 20, halt in 5..4..3..2..1; leadcar parked; over and out

the whole team now parked roadside,After having some tea when they start again
suddenly a dog chases a bike (like it happened last time to me)

@Biker01: Biker01 to car03, i have an unidentified bogey on my tail, need permission to speedup;over
@car03: Negative biker01, the bogey not identified as hostile (barking dogs seldom bite), stay on course;over
@biker01: The bogey has a lock on my leg over
@car03: Evasive manuevers now biker01; over
@biker01: (Now going berserk forgets the military communication code)No can't dos-ville, i am out of here...
@car03: biker 01 do you read me;over; biker 01 do you copy; car03 to biker01 respond now ;over...Team we have lost audio / visual contact with biker01;over
@leadcar: requesting a search team to sweep the area...for vehicle numbered BRAVO SIERRA Niner Niner....Blah Blah
@trailcar: Hello police...
Old 22nd March 2011, 14:17   #956

@shridhar - good one!

@ambivalent,
Mahabaleshwar isn't actually too far. Around a 2 hour drive from Pune. Road is great. The problem is, this time of the year, Mahabaleshwar tends to be a burner worse than Pune. Its pretty unbearable out in the Sun even there. Still, its a great destination for us nonetheless. IF we are ok to park our cars at table land I don't know any "points" (i mean like Arthur's Seat, Elephant head etc.) where we can park such a large convoy.

BTW, it looks like the 2-way man-portable radio set has hijacked our main topic and discussion about the date, venue of drive

Regulars like Swanand are getting quieter. Looks like next delivery sprints are on in IT co.s.

Last edited by Reinhard : 22nd March 2011 at 14:22.
Old 22nd March 2011, 14:21   #957

Walky - talkies are going to create a laugh riot i guess.

By the way guys i think we need to freeze the date first. I don't know how a poll can be created in an existing thread so have PMed the moderators about it. Is anybody aware how it is done. Maybe we can have a quick poll for the dates - 3rd April, 9th April or 10th April.
Old 22nd March 2011, 14:33   #958

@Reinhard: Im very much here. Laughing my backside off after reading the imaginative ways of communication on the Porty's. Bravo AP and Sridhar!.

I mentioned yesterday (or the day before) that, if it is the 2nd April wala weekend, then I am out for sure. If it is the 9th wala weekend then I am all game!

Like Amit said, lets create a poll and finalise the dates and then zero in on the destination. What say people?
Old 22nd March 2011, 17:57   #959

Swanand > 9th April week end suits me too. But still TENTATIVE. I agree that Mahaby will be hit this time of the year.
Old 22nd March 2011, 18:09   #960

9th or 10th is OK for me. Please rule me out for the 2nd, as there is no car in sight yet. Also not sure if my bike would be serviced till then.
I dont want to use my wife's Kinetic Sym Flyte.

Is this a family meet or only us guys? If its a members only meet, time restrictions would apply for me!