Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th May 2010, 10:16   #1276
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,074
Thanked: 2,016 Times
Default

the way getsurya has explained, thats precisely even what i know/understand!

i know that that cables from the HU (RCA cables??) has been connected to the amp instead of the speakers, but obvious! and that the cables from the amp going to the speakers has been kept stock in my car for the same reason.

but as triedeverything mentioned, why would the additional wires of the VAS need to go into the HU? i mean, what connection does the VAS have with the HU? the HU does not give it commands.

also, since only the front right speaker plays the commands, i feel this problem will be solved if the connection is kept stock atleast for that speaker.
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 14:03   #1277
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,541 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
the way getsurya has explained, thats precisely even what i know/understand!

i know that that cables from the HU (RCA cables??) has been connected to the amp instead of the speakers, but obvious! and that the cables from the amp going to the speakers has been kept stock in my car for the same reason.

but as triedeverything mentioned, why would the additional wires of the VAS need to go into the HU? i mean, what connection does the VAS have with the HU? the HU does not give it commands.

also, since only the front right speaker plays the commands, i feel this problem will be solved if the connection is kept stock atleast for that speaker.
Any idea,from where does the output of Voice Assist comes from in Scorpio SLE?
Is there anything,that i need to be careful about,while adding a HU and 4 speakers in a SLE?

Last edited by akshay4587 : 15th May 2010 at 14:12.
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2010, 16:54   #1278
Senior - BHPian
 
raj_5004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dubai/Mumbai
Posts: 5,074
Thanked: 2,016 Times
Default

this is a question which even service advisors in mahindra A.S.S. wont know but some T-BHPians may! so, lets wait for an answer, even i am curious now.
raj_5004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 12:23   #1279
Senior - BHPian
 
getsurya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,379
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

VAS as I understand is an independent unit without any link to the HU or the speakers in the front or rear. It has its output only to the front right speaker through the OE wiring and plays on with any speaker as long as the wiring is not tampered. thats how my AU works as of now.
getsurya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 16:06   #1280
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nuremberg,Germany
Posts: 62
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

one question on VAS for SLE variant, if I know correctly the M&M doesn't provide speakers or wiring for this model for ICE then there should be seperate speaker for VAS for SLE?. Does any one has clue on this?.
shivapsreddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2010, 16:20   #1281
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 199
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shivapsreddy View Post
one question on VAS for SLE variant, if I know correctly the M&M doesn't provide speakers or wiring for this model for ICE then there should be seperate speaker for VAS for SLE?. Does any one has clue on this?.
The SLE comes with one speaker on the driver side door as OE for VAS.
zen91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 08:21   #1282
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,541 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zen91 View Post
The SLE comes with one speaker on the driver side door as OE for VAS.
Is it so?
I never checked it.
so,can we change that speaker to a different one?
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 09:43   #1283
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 449
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Is it so?
I never checked it.
so,can we change that speaker to a different one?
Of course, You can. Just make sure the installer connects back the VAS wiring.
Mission_Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 09:51   #1284
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 199
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Is it so?
I never checked it.
so,can we change that speaker to a different one?

I changed mine to an Alpine speaker about 2 weeks back.

Please ensure that the original wiring to the speaker is not changed for the VAS to function.
zen91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 10:04   #1285
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,541 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zen91 View Post
I changed mine to an Alpine speaker about 2 weeks back.

Please ensure that the original wiring to the speaker is not changed for the VAS to function.
Can you please elaborate,as to where the wiring for VAS needs to be connected,in case i change the speaker.
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 10:09   #1286
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 199
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Can you please elaborate,as to where the wiring for VAS needs to be connected,in case i change the speaker.
I guess there is no separate wiring for the VAS..the wiring that is attached to the original speaker has to be attached to the new speaker.

You just need to remove the original speaker and put in the new speaker as the wiring sockets are already in place.
zen91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 10:20   #1287
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,541 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zen91 View Post
I guess there is no separate wiring for the VAS..the wiring that is attached to the original speaker has to be attached to the new speaker.

You just need to remove the original speaker and put in the new speaker as the wiring sockets are already in place.
Sounds good.
thanks
Btw,have you added any rear speakers?
i forgot to check rear speakers location,while checking the vehicle
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 14:32   #1288
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 449
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
i forgot to check rear speakers location,while checking the vehicle
Akshay,

The best place to add the rear speakers is the tailgate door. Remove the default panel, install a mdf board and place the speakers on it.
Mission_Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 17:19   #1289
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London
Posts: 412
Thanked: 478 Times
Default

Hi

I wouldn't recommend installing the speaker on the tailgate door with the after market board, reasons -

1. The board itself is heavy and keeps coming off the screw, since you can't tighten it from inside.
2. You need to drill around 14 holes to fix the board
3. You need dampner on the tailgate door, other wise there will be lot of vibrations and even the rear number plates vibrate.
4. People behind you in the signal can hear music free of cost.
5. Even the effect is not as good as it has to be..

If its a 7 seater, there is enough space between the middle row seat and the side seats to keep two speaker box, or a full box with two speaker and a sub woofer (this is what I had), or a two speaker and two sub woofer.

Regards
chandrda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2010, 18:03   #1290
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,541 Times
Default

I will prefer speaker boxes rather than mounting them in rear door
All Formalities done.
I would be picking up my SLE either on thursday or friday.
Is there anything that i need to check in particular in a scorpio,apart from the usual team bhp PDI list?

Getting JK Elanzo's
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mahindra Thar : Issues & Solutions Rajith Technical Stuff 427 28th August 2017 14:47
Accent / Viva CRDi: Issues & Solutions manishk83 Technical Stuff 61 13th April 2015 14:00
Child safety issues and Solutions sreenidhibr Street Experiences 55 29th April 2013 18:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:40.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks