Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th June 2011, 16:13   #16
BHPian
 
BulZire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 348
Thanked: 132 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

Thanks swiftnfurious,Let me try to check the filter today or tomorrow by myself. Though a MASS is near my home i can take the car there only on weekend. Totally tied up with work on weekdays.

Last edited by BulZire : 7th June 2011 at 16:25.
BulZire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2011, 16:22   #17
Distinguished - BHPian
 
libranof1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: All over!
Posts: 3,728
Thanked: 2,833 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverado View Post
was it your HANDBRAKE??
Even partially pulled up Handbrake can cause it.
Had it been the handbrake, there would be much more than just a lag in acceleration.

By end of the trip, the tyres would have been busted and the brakes gone for a toss.
libranof1987 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2011, 16:23   #18
BHPian
 
BulZire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 348
Thanked: 132 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

Quote:
Originally Posted by anachronix View Post
What speeds do you do when you shift from gears 3-4-5!?
Couldn't specify the exact speed, as it depends on the road condition and traffic. It should be around 40-50 while 3-4 and around 60 while 4-5.
Will see to that the RPM is around 2500's. Will touch 3000 only when i take it to 130 and above, But this is not that frequent considering my driving style.
BulZire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2011, 18:02   #19
BHPian
 
BulZire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 348
Thanked: 132 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

Saturday I took my car to MASS and did a check on turbo, filters and inter cooler . Everything looked fine and normal, the service adviser was sure the lag is because of the contaminated fuel. I asked him to drain the fuel so that i can refill it from a reputed bunk. As i had more than 10 liters of diesel he didn't want to waste them. He asked me to use the available diesel for some more kms and refill it when the needle goes below E mark.

He told that when i do a tankful the available impurities will get dissolved and there will not be a problem later.

Still i am waiting to get the fuel mark goes below E to refill and check.

Last edited by BulZire : 13th June 2011 at 18:03.
BulZire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2011, 18:17   #20
Distinguished - BHPian
 
libranof1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: All over!
Posts: 3,728
Thanked: 2,833 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

If the SA says contaminated fuel is the problem, why don't you have it flushed out?

I doubt impurities will just dissolve and the pump will be cleaned up just like that. You'd need to have the pump flushed clean; i.e. the pump completely emptied and flushed with fuel.
libranof1987 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2011, 19:54   #21
BHPian
 
BulZire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 348
Thanked: 132 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

When he said it is due to the contaminated fuel, i asked him to flush it first. But he told it is not required as the fuel is already nearing E, the impurities are burnt already to some extent. After some 100 odd kms and topping it up again will dissolve the minimum residue available. not sure how reliable this suggestion is, but when he checked the fuel filter, did not notice any big block of impurities or clog.

I will top it up in some COCO bunk and check it out.
BulZire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2011, 20:34   #22
Distinguished - BHPian
 
dhanushs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bathery/BLR
Posts: 3,446
Thanked: 4,055 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

Quote:
Originally Posted by BulZire View Post
When he said it is due to the contaminated fuel, i asked him to flush it first. But he told it is not required as the fuel is already nearing E, the impurities are burnt already to some extent.
I would advise you to go further and clean the tank, fuel pump and replace the fuel filter - IF the issue is really due to bad fuel.

Check out what I got after a fuel tank clean up.

Name:  150720103460.jpg
Views: 274
Size:  209.0 KB

Name:  150720103462.jpg
Views: 260
Size:  161.0 KB
dhanushs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2011, 21:05   #23
vsh
BHPian
 
vsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: sirsi
Posts: 102
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

i have experienced the same thing in my dzire. it was due to bad fuel. so after doing some more kms i filled the tank in another reputed bunk. it solved the problem.
vsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2011, 11:27   #24
BHPian
 
BulZire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 348
Thanked: 132 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post
I would advise you to go further and clean the tank, fuel pump and replace the fuel filter - IF the issue is really due to bad fuel.

Check out what I got after a fuel tank clean up.
That's really scary, I will opt to flush and refill it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsh View Post
i have experienced the same thing in my dzire. it was due to bad fuel. so after doing some more kms i filled the tank in another reputed bunk. it solved the problem.
Thanks for some positive comment.

Now i am confused on what to do
BulZire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2011, 16:42   #25
BHPian
 
wild child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: chennai
Posts: 174
Thanked: 141 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

Quote:
Originally Posted by BulZire View Post
Yesterday I did Bangalore-Dharapuram-Bangalore at a single stretch to attend couple of my friends weddings. The round trip was around 900 kms
===============
I need advice from experts on the other things to be checked in this case to identify the problem and sort it out.
Hi

After this "loss of power" situation, did you notice white smoke from your tail pipe when you accelerate your dezire?

cheers.
wild child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2011, 17:40   #26
BHPian
 
BulZire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 348
Thanked: 132 Times
Default Re: Something is stopping my Dzire VDI from cruising freely

No White smoke , checked it.
BulZire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something fast, Something naughty - The Volvo S60 T6 (304 BHP) kau_therock Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 97 26th December 2014 17:27
Car not rolling freely devarshi84 Technical Stuff 13 8th September 2011 15:47
Something wrong with my Dzire, I don't know what. mentos Technical Stuff 8 24th June 2008 10:41
Electronic wedge brakes[Lighter, better, shorter stopping distance & in cars near U] 1Day The International Automotive Scene 3 11th November 2006 23:05
Banned drugs available freely in India! DCEite Shifting gears 4 27th November 2005 06:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:07.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks