Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th December 2012, 12:20   #1246
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,500
Thanked: 1,832 Times
Default Re: Mahindra launches BlueSense App for Android

Quote:
Originally Posted by fundagenie View Post
Not by me in any chance since am a professional designer...
touché


Quote:
Originally Posted by fundagenie View Post
Had taken it to the service centre and got the tire swapped with the spare one, as all the tires were showing as OK at the time and to check it out thoroughly would take a couple of hours. But again today morning onwards the alert is back that the pressure is low on the front left tyre. And this time its not switching off even after a few kms of running.

Would it be because the spare tire is filled to a lower pressure of 30 and needs to upped to 32?


FundaG
Strange! The sensors are in the wheels, right? So then with the swap (FL with Spare) I would have expected the spare to throw up the alarm!

Generally, my experience has been that if you have a puncture on the wheel, with something embedded, and the pressure is still not below the trigger point and the wheel goes over a surface that cuases the tyre to get compressed for a brief while and then again regain back shape this happens. The embedded object for a brief while lets air to run out at a very fast clip before the tyre regains back its shape. The very sudden drop for a brief moment causes the alert to trigger and then again vanish. Once your tyre has lost sufficient pressure (generally drops below 26 PSI, over a period of days) the alert stays consistently on.

Again, in your case though it looks like whichever wheel goes to the left front starts throwing up the alert, which beats me!

Last edited by Zappo : 5th December 2012 at 12:22.
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2012, 13:45   #1247
BHPian
 
fundagenie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 443
Thanked: 387 Times
Default Re: Mahindra launches BlueSense App for Android

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
touché

Strange! The sensors are in the wheels, right? So then with the swap (FL with Spare) I would have expected the spare to throw up the alarm!

Generally, my experience has been that if you have a puncture on the wheel, with something embedded, and the pressure is still not below the trigger point and the wheel goes over a surface that cuases the tyre to get compressed for a brief while and then again regain back shape this happens. The embedded object for a brief while lets air to run out at a very fast clip before the tyre regains back its shape. The very sudden drop for a brief moment causes the alert to trigger and then again vanish. Once your tyre has lost sufficient pressure (generally drops below 26 PSI, over a period of days) the alert stays consistently on.

Again, in your case though it looks like whichever wheel goes to the left front starts throwing up the alert, which beats me!
The service person had also given the same explanation on something being embedded in the tire and the reason he suggested swapping with the spare. From the service centre to home (approx 20kms with some good number of humps) the alert dint come up at all and I thought the problem was resolved. Today morning however, the alert started showing up again .

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiserketkar View Post

http://motorbash.com/mahindra-launch...pp-for-xuv5oo/
Mr Rajan Wadhera has been quoted in the article:
We have ensured that over 41000 existing XUV500 owners can also upgrade their XUV500 with the Mahindra BLUE SENSE® APP. They just have to contact their nearest authorized XUV500 dealership for the same.

Obviously for the infotainment system to share the info with the Android phone, you need to upgrade the software of the infotainment system.
Maybe the upgrade was that.
How to check the version of the infotainment software? I remember reading somewhere in this thread about pressing 2 buttons together to get this info.

FundaG

Last edited by fundagenie : 5th December 2012 at 13:51.
fundagenie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2012, 14:51   #1248
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,500
Thanked: 1,832 Times
Default Re: Mahindra launches BlueSense App for Android

Quote:
Originally Posted by fundagenie View Post
From the service centre to home (approx 20kms with some good number of humps) the alert dint come up at all and I thought the problem was resolved. Today morning however, the alert started showing up again .
Help me understand this once more. Did the alert show up this morning for the same tyre? I mean, if the tyre was earlier on the front left and the Tyretronics was showing an alert for that tyre which tyre did it show the alert for this morning? The same front left? Or was the alert now for a new position where the earlier front-left tyre is now fitted?
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2012, 15:00   #1249
SDP
Team-BHP Support
 
SDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,502
Thanked: 6,787 Times
Default Re: Mahindra launches BlueSense App for Android

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
...Strange! The sensors are in the wheels, right? So then with the swap (FL with Spare) I would have expected the spare to throw up the alarm!
...
Again, in your case though it looks like whichever wheel goes to the left front starts throwing up the alert, which beats me!
Quote:
Originally Posted by fundagenie View Post
The service person had also given the same explanation on something being embedded in the tire and the reason he suggested swapping with the spare. From the service centre to home (approx 20kms with some good number of humps) the alert dint come up at all and I thought the problem was resolved. Today morning however, the alert started showing up again .
...
The system will not automatically know that you have swapped the tyre. So even after swapping, the system still reporting problem with the same tyre position is not surprising.

The manual details a process by which the system 're-learns' the mapping of which tyre is at which position. Please check it out.
SDP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2012, 17:27   #1250
BHPian
 
kaiserketkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 182
Thanked: 81 Times
Default Re: Mahindra launches BlueSense App for Android

Quote:
Originally Posted by fundagenie View Post
So any one faced a above issue earlier.

Had taken it to the service centre and got the tire swapped with the spare one, as all the tires were showing as OK at the time and to check it out thoroughly would take a couple of hours. But again today morning onwards the alert is back that the pressure is low on the front left tyre. And this time its not switching off even after a few kms of running.

Would it be because the spare tire is filled to a lower pressure of 30 and needs to upped to 32?


FundaG
Must be the sensor in that particular tyre.
Since you've got it swapped at the ASC, I'm sure they must've subjected the TPMS system to 'learning'. That would rule out you filling air in the wrong tyre.
Easiest way is to have them run a diagnostic on the system.
kaiserketkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2012, 14:23   #1251
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 40
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: XUV 500 niggles and their solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tushargohil View Post
Today my Xuv(i) is celebrating 1st birthday; ODO 18K.

My issue list,

1. Cabinet krr krr noise from odo cluster panel.
2. Folding Seat or rear suspension noise.
3. Suspension thak thak noise.

hope above issue fixed by India garage during 4th service which is due on this week.
I have all the three issues in my few weeks old car.

However for the second one - I verified that it is not the folding seat that makes the noise. It should either be the door or the suspension. This happens on bad road where the car has a little bit of body roll. When both tyres go over a bump simultaneously, there is no oice.

Let me know if you manage to get these issues resolved and what is the explaination that is offered.
tictactoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2012, 16:24   #1252
BHPian
 
HotChillyPepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bang_a_lore
Posts: 605
Thanked: 215 Times
Default Re: Mahindra launches BlueSense App for Android

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiserketkar View Post
Obviously for the infotainment system to share the info with the Android phone, you need to upgrade the software of the infotainment system.
Maybe the upgrade was that.
Yes. We need to get the Infotainment system updated to 4.04 for it to work (most of us will be on 4.01 today). This can be done at M&M workshops approximately takes 1 hour for flashing.

thanks
HCP
HotChillyPepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 16:47   #1253
BHPian
 
fundagenie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 443
Thanked: 387 Times
Default Re: Mahindra launches BlueSense App for Android

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
Help me understand this once more. Did the alert show up this morning for the same tyre?
Its showing for the front left tire again. I understand your confusion. It should have been for the spare since the tire with the issue is now spare. But that tire as spare is now showing as OK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDP View Post
The system will not automatically know that you have swapped the tyre. So even after swapping, the system still reporting problem with the same tyre position is not surprising.

The manual details a process by which the system 're-learns' the mapping of which tyre is at which position. Please check it out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiserketkar View Post
Must be the sensor in that particular tyre.
Since you've got it swapped at the ASC, I'm sure they must've subjected the TPMS system to 'learning'. That would rule out you filling air in the wrong tyre.
Easiest way is to have them run a diagnostic on the system.

Believe this could be the reason since the service centre had only replaced the tire and not reset or relearned the TPMS system. I also remember reading it in the manual. Will have to check it out.

FundaG
fundagenie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 18:07   #1254
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,500
Thanked: 1,832 Times
Default Re: Mahindra launches BlueSense App for Android

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDP View Post
The system will not automatically know that you have swapped the tyre. So even after swapping, the system still reporting problem with the same tyre position is not surprising.

The manual details a process by which the system 're-learns' the mapping of which tyre is at which position. Please check it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fundagenie View Post
Its showing for the front left tire again. I understand your confusion. It should have been for the spare since the tire with the issue is now spare. But that tire as spare is now showing as OK.
From what SDP says I can now connect to the issue. I always thought that for each four wheels (and the fifth stepney as well) there are dedicated receptors which capture the radio frequency within a very short range. So in such an arrangement any tyre in a position will be captured without any further relearning. However, I guess, the system is designed with one receptor to capture the signals from the 5 sensors in which case it will obviously need to learn which one is where.
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 18:31   #1255
BHPian
 
HotChillyPepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bang_a_lore
Posts: 605
Thanked: 215 Times
Default Re: Mahindra launches BlueSense App for Android

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDP View Post
The system will not automatically know that you have swapped the tyre.
I think it does. Once it shown a message on screen saying the Front left side tire swapped on Infotainment display, while the car was in motion

So I believe there is a software module written to detect the tire swap and show that message, even though it shown me the message erratically.

Thanks
HCP
HotChillyPepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 18:35   #1256
BHPian
 
Rossiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 117
Thanked: 40 Times
Default

Guys, the system knows which tyre sensor is where, because when I rotated my tyres recently the system gave off warnings saying my FL tyre has been swapped and so on. These warnings went away when I re-learned the system
Rossiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 19:57   #1257
SDP
Team-BHP Support
 
SDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,502
Thanked: 6,787 Times
Default Re: XUV 500 niggles and their solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
From what SDP says I can now connect to the issue. I always thought that for each four wheels (and the fifth stepney as well) there are dedicated receptors which capture the radio frequency within a very short range. So in such an arrangement any tyre in a position will be captured without any further relearning. However, I guess, the system is designed with one receptor to capture the signals from the 5 sensors in which case it will obviously need to learn which one is where.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotChillyPepper View Post
I think it does. Once it shown a message on screen saying the Front left side tire swapped on Infotainment display, while the car was in motion

So I believe there is a software module written to detect the tire swap and show that message, even though it shown me the message erratically.

Thanks
HCP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rossiter View Post
Guys, the system knows which tyre sensor is where, because when I rotated my tyres recently the system gave off warnings saying my FL tyre has been swapped and so on. These warnings went away when I re-learned the system
I read the manual. It adds to the confusion. Apparently the system can identify when the spare is swapped with one of the tyres. But when more than 2 tyres change their original position (a classic case would be tyre-rotation), you need to make the system 're-learn'. So in a way the system is sophisticated enough to understand the regular use-case when you get a tyre puncture, but is not sophisticated enough for understanding once-in-a-blue-moon use-case of tyre-rotation.

PS: Something like this would be difficult to implement with just one receptor.

Last edited by SDP : 7th December 2012 at 20:00.
SDP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 22:18   #1258
BHPian
 
fundagenie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 443
Thanked: 387 Times
Default Re: XUV 500 niggles and their solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDP View Post
I read the manual. It adds to the confusion. Apparently the system can identify when the spare is swapped with one of the tyres. But when more than 2 tyres change their original position (a classic case would be tyre-rotation), you need to make the system 're-learn'. So in a way the system is sophisticated enough to understand the regular use-case when you get a tyre puncture, but is not sophisticated enough for understanding once-in-a-blue-moon use-case of tyre-rotation.

PS: Something like this would be difficult to implement with just one receptor.
So SDP , you are suggesting that I try making the system re-learn . Let me try and see if the issue gets resolved. Has anyone done it previously. Is there anything specific to do other than pressing the button on left side of the odo meter (which I understand is for TPMS re-learning ). Any specifics to be taken care off before doing it.

FundaG
fundagenie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2012, 22:42   #1259
SDP
Team-BHP Support
 
SDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,502
Thanked: 6,787 Times
Default Re: XUV 500 niggles and their solutions

Quote:
Originally Posted by fundagenie View Post
So SDP , you are suggesting that I try making the system re-learn . Let me try and see if the issue gets resolved. Has anyone done it previously. Is there anything specific to do other than pressing the button on left side of the odo meter (which I understand is for TPMS re-learning ). Any specifics to be taken care off before doing it.

FundaG
Yes funda, I would suggest let the system re-learn. If I remember correctly, after pressing the left side button of the odo meter, it gives indication "Front Left learning" and you are supposed to help by way of releasing a bit of air from front-left so that it makes the connection. Rinse and repeat for the remaining tyres. Do let us know how it went.
SDP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2012, 06:22   #1260
BHPian
 
rohitbagai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 401
Thanked: 226 Times
Default

I would recommended that you should lower down the 5th tyre before you start the learning process, as you won't get much time to do so during the process. If you fail to deflate it within the stipulated time you will have to do the whole process again.
rohitbagai is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metro and City Discrimination By Mahindra- XUV 500 Launch anjan_c2007 The Indian Car Scene 18 29th November 2011 15:10
Niggles, problems (Tyre and Stalling) in Palio 1.6 Sports 2007 anurag_p80 Technical Stuff 31 19th July 2010 17:31


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:25.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks