Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th September 2009, 14:44   #31
BHPian
 
anky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 395
Thanked: 92 Times
Talking Sorry no scanner

Sorry guys I do not possess a scanner to scan the service manual pages for you... I bought the manual at my mass centre for 800 rs and is of my BSII alto yr 2004 which I guess is more closer to the alto vx than todays BSIII with a different ecu(32bit) as opposed to my (16bit) I guess so for bsIII cars the couplers that come from ecu to speedo may be different and also have different pin outs as I have heard the bsIII speedos are not compatible with bsII ones....my speedo was the one with black dial and green backlight and 2 trip meters....wil post pictures of my speedo later in the week...must recharge my digicam batteries first.
anky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2009, 23:19   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
sumeethaldankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,673
Thanked: 1,022 Times
Default

Hello guys,
check out the below link for the Alto's official web site where you can the instrument cluster in the image is different from the one's i have seen on some of the new Alto's.

Maruti Alto

The image shows the Alto as having a tachometer along with the speedometer.Does the Alto come with a tachometer option from Maruti ?

sumeethaldankar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2009, 19:00   #33
gpa
Senior - BHPian
 
gpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,773
Thanked: 273 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anky View Post
Sorry guys I do not possess a scanner to scan the service manual pages for you..must recharge my digicam batteries first.
Just an idea: You can still click pics of the relevant pages with a digi-cam and upload them. I did this once when I had to send a letter and didn't have a scanner.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Does the Alto come with a tachometer option from Maruti ?
They have used a pic from the now discontinued VXi version of the Alto. The new Alto doesn't come with a tacho.
gpa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2009, 11:00   #34
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 956
Thanked: 368 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpa View Post
Can you still post the picutre of the cataloge that will confirm this. A few Bhp-ians like vid6639, Technocrat and Gansan were all keen on getting the tacho fitted and it will help us all.
Hi, here's the A-Star tach page from the parts catalog.
Alto Lxi Speedo Upgrade-z_astar_tach_2.jpg
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpa View Post
Can you post pictures or upload a scanned copy of the manual with specific reference to the tachometer and its connections to the ECU?
This will require a few images - first, the terminal arrangement of the Alto's ECM. As you can see, the tach signal is from pin C03-06.
Alto Lxi Speedo Upgrade-z_alto_ecm_3.jpg
Second, the voltage specs of the C03-06 terminal.
Name:  Z_Alto_ECM_5.jpg
Views: 2382
Size:  40.9 KB
Third, the console end where the tach signal is fed to terminal K8.
Alto Lxi Speedo Upgrade-z_alto_console_0.jpg
And finally, the instrument console couplers, K8 is apparently connected to a brown wire & I presume draws the tach signal from the ECM's C03-06 terminal.
Alto Lxi Speedo Upgrade-z_alto_console_1.jpg
The Alto's parts catalog does not differentiate between the F8D & F10D ECMs. The differences in the way the fuel-injection & ignition is handled is quite interesting though. Anyway, one needs to look up how the tach's handled in the A-Star from it's workshop manual to conclude whether its tach is compatible with the Alto. I've been informed that the ECM terminal arrangement may not be the same in the newer Altos, i.e. clear-lens ones. Please verify with the terminal arrangement in your car before proceeding with this mod. Else, you could save yourself a lot of trouble & get an aftermarket tach that supports 3 cylinders (yes, some do).

Last edited by im_srini : 7th September 2009 at 11:10.
im_srini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2009, 11:13   #35
gpa
Senior - BHPian
 
gpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,773
Thanked: 273 Times
Default

im_srini,

Thanks for the pics. I have been trying to get my head around this tacho thing the whole weekend. You pics really help to put things into perspective.

From what I see in the pictures, I don't think the A-Star's tacho will be compatible with the Alto ECU as the connections are very different.

I think the safest bet will be to go in for an aftermarket tacho and draw the signal from the -ve terminal of the ignition coil and draw the power and other connections from the fuse box.

IMHO, this will not void the warranty as there will no wire cutting involved.

What do you think? Am open to inputs from everyone.

Thanks,
gpa

Last edited by gpa : 7th September 2009 at 11:17.
gpa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2009, 12:02   #36
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
Hello guys,
check out the below link for the Alto's official web site where you can the instrument cluster in the image is different from the one's i have seen on some of the new Alto's.

Maruti Alto

The image shows the Alto as having a tachometer along with the speedometer.Does the Alto come with a tachometer option from Maruti ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpa View Post


They have used a pic from the now discontinued VXi version of the Alto. The new Alto doesn't come with a tacho.

Thats an interesting Observation, yes the meters are from VXi but its not a VXi because the VXi had neither the rotary A/c controls nor the red Hazard switch in Center.

Do they Export the alto anywhere?
Attached Images
 
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2009, 12:59   #37
gpa
Senior - BHPian
 
gpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,773
Thanked: 273 Times
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Do they Export the alto anywhere?
AFAIK, the Alto in its current avtar here in India is discontinued, so I don't think it is being exported globally. The replacement being the A-Star.

However, it could be a new version or the now common 'limited editions' version that MUL has come up with to further boost sales. I went through the Alto site, but found no mention of the added features on the specs/ features list.

Regards,
gpa
gpa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2009, 13:03   #38
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

Yeah man even I am wondering how come they got this picture, got to check out for any limited editions for this.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2009, 18:32   #39
BHPian
 
csshyamsundar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Coimbatore, TN
Posts: 37
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

@Technocrat - I bought a new alto last month. A Midnight black LXi.Shortly put, except the tacho, everything else is same.
csshyamsundar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2010, 23:51   #40
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 696
Thanked: 84 Times
Default

Check out this neatly installed A-Star tacho in an Alto.
http://www.orkut.co.in/Main#Album?ui...aid=1264062744

Last edited by Live To Jive : 12th February 2010 at 23:52.
Live To Jive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2010, 23:39   #41
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 910
Thanked: 297 Times
Default

Would there be any need for calibration of the tacho on retrofittment? The Vxi was 4 cylinder and the Lxi is a 3 cylinder right?
wildsdi5530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 00:16   #42
BHPian
 
kingofmyworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad / pensylvania.
Posts: 788
Thanked: 248 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Live To Jive View Post
Check out this neatly installed A-Star tacho in an Alto.
http://www.orkut.co.in/Main#Album?ui...aid=1264062744
Where did he get the tacho from? Does it work well on the alto? If it does, Then I'm sure it'll also work on the M800.
kingofmyworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY-Blue LED Parking Lamp & Speedo Meter+Wire Mesh Grille & Underbody Neons for Alto badboyscad DIY - Do it yourself 133 1st March 2015 00:50
Hyundai i10 ERA or WagonR LXi or ZEN Estillo LXi SumitBahl Hatchbacks 41 12th September 2010 00:41
Wagon-R: VXi+LPG OR LXi+Upgrades+LPG? EDIT: Now booked LXi sohu9 Hatchbacks 14 16th January 2007 13:37
my speedo ended !!!- zen needle crosses last point on speedo speed0mania Street Experiences 81 11th August 2006 12:22
Speedo calibration DRC Technical Stuff 24 26th January 2005 03:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks