Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th May 2006, 16:57   #16
rkg
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,041
Thanked: 543 Times
Default

Hi!
we r using GPS since last two years. my brother got it form usa for 80$. i do not remember the make. but it drinks internal batteries like anything. two cells for every one and half hour.it tracks uisng 5 satellites. i think post sept 9/11 one can not buy GPS with 5 sat capability easily. u can buy upto 4 easily. we used it extensilvely on bangalore -visakhapatnam route and also bangalore -hampi-badami-aihole-pattadkal route. way points have to marked manually.
rkg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2006, 18:54   #17
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 156
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

The problem with most GPS systems is that they will not have maps to cover Indian Cities to use it for navigation like they do in the US or Europe. So having such a device may be very useful in those countries but not really useful in India. The reason why I choose Garmin is because of Google Earth Plus. This allows me to trace routes and locations that I want to and analyze it on Google Earth for what ever it is worth. So, technically, I am not really using it as a navigation system. More as an analysis tool.
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2006, 19:09   #18
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 156
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Errata

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharathjeppu

<SNIP>
4. It normally tracks 4 satellites (max) and will retain signal with even 3 satellites.
</SNIP>
This is a factual error that I have made in my previous post.

The Geko 201 is "WAAS-enabled, differential-ready, 12 parallel channel GPS receiver continuously tracks and uses up to 12 satellites to compute and update your position"

The WAAS system however is not useful in India.

More tech specs here

Sharath
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2006, 20:22   #19
BHPian
 
a4_attitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 442
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Anybody using GPS with N series as now am using Nokia N80, am looking for Gps reciever with cradle. about maps of Delhi, Now they can be easily purchased online.
and what are technical things which I should keep in mind before buying a reciever as no. of sattelites?? antena internal or external
Cheers
Wadhwa Ajay
a4_attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2006, 00:27   #20
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

I am using Lowrance ifinder expedition C
It works even on the seat next to me, need not be on the dashboard. But its 16 channel so that helps(Make sure you try to get a 16 channel and not a 12 channel).
If you have a metal coated windscreen(Some expensive cars have these), the reception will be poor so you may beed an external antenna

I am also looking for delhi maps, but I guess I will have to create those with GPS Trackmaker.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2006, 10:22   #21
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 94
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

check out ebay.in . a few guys selling gps receivers & maps of indian cities.

Last edited by shldn : 29th June 2006 at 10:24.
shldn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2006, 11:10   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
satish_appasani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,033
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

SatGuide is offering GPS services in India. Their software is based on PocketPC. So, if you have the PocketPC with GPS module, may be you can buy the software and Maps from them.

I got this information from their site. Contact them for any other info including pricing details.
satish_appasani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2006, 09:05   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 20
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

When the GPS receiver with built in antenna is kept on the dashboard, the number of satellites visible is limited by the windscreen. Normally, 7-10 satellites are visible if the antenna can be mounted on the rooftop. There are small (2 inch square) magnetic patch antennae available which can remain magnetically stuck to the rooftop and connected to the external antenna input of the GPS receiver. This assures good satellite locking even when there is tree coverage or urban canyons.

If GPS receiver output is connected to a laptop running suitable navigation software, in real time, one can watch the course of the vehicle. I did it a few years back while driving from Bangalore to Yercaud and back with a Magellan receiver.
zen-ith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2006, 09:10   #24
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zen-ith
When the GPS receiver with built in antenna is kept on the dashboard, the number of satellites visible is limited by the windscreen.
Actually no. If that were the case than the GPS device would never see anything inside a bus.
The roof does not block all the signal. + there is reflection and stuff. So if you have a receiver which has a SIRF III or equivalent chip you can get quite a lot of satellites. I can get 6 satellites with the unit on the seat, but if there are trees and all, the number drops. In modern cars where windscreens are slanted(this is for non metal coated) the external antenna can be connected to windscreen itself with a suction cup. For internal antenna devices, you can have a suction cup cradle which places the unit near the windscreen.
This is enough for the Newer Garmins and Lowrance, and also for some magellen receivers.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 10:58   #25
BHPian
 
naveendhyani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 542
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

i wish 2 buy a GPS device with electronic altimeter. can nybody suggest some good options? although i have a watch which has barometric altimeter but the altimeter sucks big time, because of this i wish for a built in electonic altimeter in the GPS unit which gives accurate measuments.
naveendhyani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 11:21   #26
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 156
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveendhyani
i wish 2 buy a GPS device with electronic altimeter. can nybody suggest some good options? although i have a watch which has barometric altimeter but the altimeter sucks big time, because of this i wish for a built in electonic altimeter in the GPS unit which gives accurate measuments.
If your use is in India, I would reccommend the Garmin's Geko 201 unit.
They are not as expensive as the other fancy models, very rugged and pretty accurate. Has a compass as well as an altimeter and speedometer.
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 11:28   #27
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 156
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

BTW, I was chatting up with a friend who is into chip design for mobiles yeterday. He was telling me how GPS systems will be come integral part of most mobile electronic systems. These include Cars, Cameras, Mobile phones, etc.

Apparently, in the US, if your car is equipped with a factory fitted GPS system to help the insurance companies to track your car, the insurance premiums are lower. Apparently, they are now building systems which will automatically govern the max. speed of your car based on the roads that you are driving on based on the positioning. Doesn't seem like Science Fiction any longer now.
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 13:08   #28
BHPian
 
Driven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 106
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

hi,,
i am using and retailing garmin units,,
i recon they are the best, the m5 pda unit is the best they have,
it has the 4 metropolitans mapped, fully,and all thre highways, if u toch the screen and ask for fast food joints it will give u the location for all the macdonalds in delhi and the distance of each from present location,,
and also the route to the nearest one,, and that to voice activated,,

100meters take left and all that,,

it has a antena which is flip open,, and a car cradle with a cigrate lighter socket for charging, there is a speaker in the unit and in the cigrate charger as well,

is quite accurate and detailed,,
and u can take it to ur trips abroad,,
maps for countries in europe and america are available on the net, but india is only mapped by garmin and is not for sale sepratly, it comes built in the unit,
and what more, it doubles as a pda,,

rocking aint it,,
regard,,
driven



















Quote:
Originally Posted by naveendhyani
nice work mate. i will also go for 1. is there ny way u can power the unit thru the car's battery rather than running on internal batteries?

Last edited by Driven : 3rd July 2006 at 13:11.
Driven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 13:14   #29
BHPian
 
a4_attitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 442
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Driven
hi,,
i am using and retailing garmin units,,
i recon they are the best, the m5 pda unit is the best they have,
it has the 4 metropolitans mapped, fully,and all thre highways, if u toch the screen and ask for fast food joints it will give u the location for all the macdonalds in delhi and the distance of each from present location,,
and also the route to the nearest one,, and that to voice activated,,
Hey am looking for same one, how much did you paid for this model? and how old is your set, any other reviews abt drawbacks?
Cheers
Wadhwa Ajay
a4_attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 14:29   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4_attitude
Hey am looking for same one, how much did you paid for this model? and how old is your set, any other reviews abt drawbacks?
Cheers
Wadhwa Ajay
Ajay read carefully Driven is the seller for the Garmin's.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks