Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th November 2007, 17:46   #361
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcolm View Post
i have the o2 orbit which has gps man its amazing in the car tell me my odo meter my speed records my top speed aswell
also if i wanna go to a particular place i can activate voice navigation as well love it..
HTC 3300 and O2 Orbit uses the same GPS instrument but the software is different. Can you tell me the subscription for GPS. Do we need to enable WAP in order to use GPS.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2007, 17:59   #362
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 828
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

with GPS receiver, you can collect the sat signals from any corner in the world,, there is no subscription required..
However, to project those signals into a map and to use Navigation capabilities, you need a navigation software and maps for the area you are going to use that..
Go thru the entire thread,, its interesting and you will get lot of inputs on how to make use your HTC 3300..

btw,, is this a windows mobile phone?
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2007, 16:06   #363
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketan View Post
with GPS receiver, you can collect the sat signals from any corner in the world,, there is no subscription required..
However, to project those signals into a map and to use Navigation capabilities, you need a navigation software and maps for the area you are going to use that..
Go thru the entire thread,, its interesting and you will get lot of inputs on how to make use your HTC 3300..

btw,, is this a windows mobile phone?
Thanks for the reply, HTC 3300 is a windows mobile phone with GPS.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2007, 16:15   #364
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 73
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi guys,
I am looking for upgrading myself for the PDA/Smartphone. I am looking for a phone which should have atleast 3G, GPS and Wifi.
In this category, I think HTC Touch Cruise fits the best. I dont know whether it is available in India or not. but i think its a great device.
What you all say ???
HTC Touch Cruise - Full phone specifications

Please provide your inputs guys...
saurabh159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2007, 17:04   #365
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh159 View Post
Hi guys,
I am looking for upgrading myself for the PDA/Smartphone. I am looking for a phone which should have atleast 3G, GPS and Wifi.
In this category, I think HTC Touch Cruise fits the best. I dont know whether it is available in India or not. but i think its a great device.
What you all say ???
HTC Touch Cruise - Full phone specifications

Please provide your inputs guys...
I also saw that model. It is an upgrade to HTC 3300 which has the touchflo feature, but that is not available in India. Unlike iPod the touchflow feature works in certain mode only.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2007, 22:22   #366
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 73
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

In international market, it is slated to be launched in this month with a price tag of $390.
I hope HTC which is really looking to expand its PDA phone business in India will launch it soon in India also.
"Unlike iPod the touchflow feature works in certain mode only.".........
CAn u elaborate more Gopinathann ? I want to know what you are referring to since HTC Touch is already available in India which has Touch Flo technology.
saurabh159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2007, 09:56   #367
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 73
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I am sorry, the correct expected price of HTC Touch Cruise is $730 according to one of the websites.
saurabh159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2007, 19:16   #368
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh159 View Post
In international market, it is slated to be launched in this month with a price tag of $390.
I hope HTC which is really looking to expand its PDA phone business in India will launch it soon in India also.
"Unlike iPod the touchflow feature works in certain mode only.".........
CAn u elaborate more Gopinathann ? I want to know what you are referring to since HTC Touch is already available in India which has Touch Flo technology.
In iPhone you can use 2 finger gestures which are not present in HTC, however we can install 3rd party softwares for that
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2007, 19:48   #369
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

excellent review between iphone and htc touch
[SIZE=2]HTC Touch vs. iPhone, Part 2: Video Smackdown - WMExperts

[/SIZE]
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2007, 22:37   #370
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

I bought HTC 3300, I got MapKing instead of TOM TOM Navigator and I can select any one map free. Anyone know how to mark my current location.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2007, 11:13   #371
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default MapMyIndia Navigator

I am using Mapmyindia Navigator now.It has got all india road maps and detailed maps of major cities.
dilipkumar7278 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2007, 11:17   #372
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 215
Thanked: 24 Times
Default

Hi Dilip, can you do a user's review of the mapmyindia navigator? Planning to buy one but havent read any reviews for this.

Thanks
indianrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 10:46   #373
BHPian
 
kumar_ranjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MH12
Posts: 246
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indianrunner View Post
Hi Dilip, can you do a user's review of the mapmyindia navigator? Planning to buy one but havent read any reviews for this.

Thanks
There is a review of this maybe it can be of some help to you
Techtree.com India > Reviews > Basics > Specials > MapMyIndia GPS Navigator (A-max 06GP5A)
kumar_ranjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 11:04   #374
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcolm View Post
i have the o2 orbit which has gps man its amazing in the car tell me my odo meter my speed records my top speed aswell
also if i wanna go to a particular place i can activate voice navigation as well love it..
WHats the navigation software that comes with Orbit? Is it MapKing?
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 11:51   #375
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
WHats the navigation software that comes with Orbit? Is it MapKing?
I have Mapking with my HTC 3000, but the software shows off road and not accurate, not impressed. However freeware google map is accurate but it shows only the route. For navigation you have to buy the software
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks