Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd July 2006, 23:27   #31
BHPian
 
Driven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 106
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

hi,,
the maps included in the device are delhi, bombay, banglore and calcutta,,
if u are travelling abroad, u can also get maps of the rest of the world,,
europe map cd's are already included in the package,,
the rest u can downloan from the net at a very small charge,,


garmin keeps on updating the detailing part of the maping,
all the upgrades are free of cost,, u pay only once for the equipment,,

regards,,
driven..









Quote:
Originally Posted by a4_attitude
Hey am looking for same one, how much did you paid for this model? and how old is your set, any other reviews abt drawbacks?
Cheers
Wadhwa Ajay
Driven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 09:55   #32
BHPian
 
netarchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 397
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

isnt the Ique M5 discontinued??
http://www.garmin.com/products/iQueM5/
netarchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 11:48   #33
BHPian
 
naveendhyani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 542
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

nybody has ny idea if barometric altimeter is better than the GPS based altimeter? i had a talk with a garmin rep & he told me that both are equally good. somehow i believe the GPS will b more accurate as the barometric altimeter will give different altitude at same place if the pressure changes.
naveendhyani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 12:17   #34
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 156
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveendhyani
nybody has ny idea if barometric altimeter is better than the GPS based altimeter? i had a talk with a garmin rep & he told me that both are equally good. somehow i believe the GPS will b more accurate as the barometric altimeter will give different altitude at same place if the pressure changes.
Here's a link with useful information giving explanation as to why Barometric Altimeters are better than GPS altimeters.
http://gpsinformation.net/main/altitude.htm
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 12:29   #35
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveendhyani
nybody has ny idea if barometric altimeter is better than the GPS based altimeter? i had a talk with a garmin rep & he told me that both are equally good. somehow i believe the GPS will b more accurate as the barometric altimeter will give different altitude at same place if the pressure changes.
Barometric altemeter has to have a starting point. And if weather changes, the calculations go for a toss. So its good to have elvation capability. Most handheld GPSs(For example Lowrance expedition C) has that info. All you need is 4 or more satellites, the more the merrier.
Also if you have a TOPO map you will get extremely accurate altitude info even with 3 satellites as it will come from the map.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 14:21   #36
BHPian
 
naveendhyani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 542
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

do all GPS have elevation capability? what about eTrex of garmin?
naveendhyani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 14:34   #37
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

dunno about eterx, maybe not. You have to go little higher end. Moreover its a 12 channel without the SIRF chipset, better to stay away from this. Try the Cx 60/76 they should have that.
On the lower end MAgellen meridian gold has elevation IIRC
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2006, 15:52   #38
BHPian
 
johy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Siliguri
Posts: 840
Thanked: 370 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4_attitude
Is there any GPS avialable in market which also works as mobile, its a great gadget, but worth only if it has mobile facility tooo, carrying two geomectry box is a tough job..
I heard some company launching it soon in India
any clues??
Cheers
Wadhwa Ajay
Ipaq hw6500
Ipaq hw6715

Ipaqs are really good all-in-one devices.
johy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2006, 14:06   #39
BHPian
 
a4_attitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 442
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johy
Ipaq hw6500
Ipaq hw6715

Ipaqs are really good all-in-one devices.
Anybody using any of these for navigation purpose?
does it has inbuilt gps on sirf III technology?

Wadhwa Ajay
a4_attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2006, 16:27   #40
BHPian
 
naveendhyani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 542
Thanked: 7 Times
Default hey

nybody in delhi has a GPS unit? wud like to check it out personally, mayb borrow for my trip to ladakh
naveendhyani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2006, 17:26   #41
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 262
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4_attitude
Anybody using any of these for navigation purpose?
does it has inbuilt gps on sirf III technology?

Wadhwa Ajay
I use the 6500.. However I do not have a India specific GPS application or maps.. Simply use it for coordinates, altitude, speed, direction kind of info..
nitinbhag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 13:20   #42
BHPian
 
madhav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 246
Thanked: 15 Times
Default GPS to find location of car if stolen?

Guys I've a question... If a car with GPS system is stolen, can we find the location of the car using the same GPS system...maybe through another unit or something? Has anyone come across any such feature or product which will also double as a safety feature?
madhav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 13:42   #43
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

GPS is a receiver, not a transmitter. For anti theft capability you will need a transmitter, and you will need to be in range. Actually any homing beacon is okay. Homing beacons are used in life boats when they are lost in sea. they have long range and its easy to locate a lost boat via homing beacons.
Some time ago there was an idea of using mobile phones to track cars. Hide a mobie phone on silent and auto answer mode.
suppose your car is stolen, call that mobile. With help from police and cell phone companies it can be fairly accurately traced where the car is.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 14:13   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979
dunno about eterx, maybe not. You have to go little higher end. Moreover its a 12 channel without the SIRF chipset, better to stay away from this. Try the Cx 60/76 they should have that.
On the lower end MAgellen meridian gold has elevation IIRC
What is SIRF chipset ? and how to you get an egde by having one ?
Can you thrown more information on this .

Thanks
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2006, 14:16   #45
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SiRFstar_III

To sum it up its the latest chipset.
Also the more the channels, the more satellites it can catch, the greater the accuracy. Also 16 channel receivers have better antennas so effect of trees etc., is less.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:38.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks