Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th March 2008, 17:42   #451
Senior - BHPian
 
mjothi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,252
Thanked: 216 Times
Default

yes.. Google map actually installs as a compass icon, in blackberry, not sure of other. Just make sure you have unlimited download plan for data so you can use it regularly with minimum charges.
This works fine for major cities. but for remote locations, the google map is not ideal since you dont have much info on this.
mjothi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2008, 17:49   #452
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: chennai
Posts: 757
Thanked: 299 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
I am not a Nokia man, But is the bluetooth on your phone in "Discoverable" mode? Have you paired the phone with the BT GPS?
yes, i have paired it with my phone and have set the status to authorised so that it connects automatically everytime the receiver is switched on.
tifosikrishna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2008, 22:54   #453
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: chennai
Posts: 757
Thanked: 299 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tifosikrishna View Post
yes, i have paired it with my phone and have set the status to authorised so that it connects automatically everytime the receiver is switched on.
another frustrating experience.

came back from office and was determined to make gps receiver work. started off from the beginning, deleted the device from the list of authorized deviceand reconnected it and set it to un-authorized.

opened nokia maps and selected find place using gps, voila it worked immediately, switched off the unit, got into the car and switched it on again eagerly awaiting to test the navigation functionality, then tried for the past two hours in vain. bluetooth indicator keeps blinking indicating that it is searching for device.

dont know what to do.

any pointers on what could be wrong?
tifosikrishna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2008, 23:01   #454
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 156
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

I use a Holux with my Nokia E61 and have never faced a problem.

The blue light blinks continuously to indicates that it is connected. The best way to check your GPS connectivity is to use the application that come with your phone called "Navigator" It will show your GPS signal strength as well as the number of satellites that it is hooking to. Also, your orange light on your GPS should blink. This indicates that it is ready.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tifosikrishna View Post
Gurus, i have a holux m1000 gps receiver and nokia e61i. I have installed google maps and pre-loaded nokia maps for india. I have synced my gps receiver, however when i try to use gps either in nokia or google maps to track my current location, it does not work. Indicator in gps receiver blinks to denote that position is fixed, but indicator to denote bluetooth blinks continously denoting that it is searching for bluetooth device. What could be the problem? This does not happen always, but many times it fails.
Please help.
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2008, 23:13   #455
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: chennai
Posts: 757
Thanked: 299 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharathjeppu View Post
I use a Holux with my Nokia E61 and have never faced a problem.

The blue light blinks continuously to indicates that it is connected. The best way to check your GPS connectivity is to use the application that come with your phone called "Navigator" It will show your GPS signal strength as well as the number of satellites that it is hooking to. Also, your orange light on your GPS should blink. This indicates that it is ready.
i tried that before and tried it once again but i guess it is not able to recognize the receiver. what i see is a kind of blank screen flickering continuously.

blue light if it blink continuously 1 time/sec means searching for device or standby mode, only when it is 1time/3 sec it means transferring data.

anything else...

regards
tifosi.
tifosikrishna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2008, 00:13   #456
Team-BHP Support
 
aah78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC / BOM
Posts: 3,625
Thanked: 1,627 Times
Default trusted

Quote:
Originally Posted by tifosikrishna View Post
set it to un-authorized.
Did you retry setting both devices to Authorized / Trusted?
If you say it worked after deleting and linking both devices, then the "trusted" mode is probably your only issue.
aah78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2008, 06:44   #457
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: chennai
Posts: 757
Thanked: 299 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aah78 View Post
Did you retry setting both devices to Authorized / Trusted?
If you say it worked after deleting and linking both devices, then the "trusted" mode is probably your only issue.
culprit looks like the bluetooth driver in my phone. i had a chat with the Navigation Products for Pocket PC PDA, PDA Phone, Bluetooth GPS, PDA GPS - buy GPS Now sales team (this is where i bought the receiver) and he pointed out that it could be due to bt driver.

just now tested it out with my wifey's mobile e51 and it works absolutely fine, i tried it for a couple of times (switched it on and off and also tried with navigator, google maps and nokia maps) and it works without any problem.

Now i need to install the bt driver again or look for some updates.

any pointers on where to look for bt driver for my e61i, my current firmware version is 2.0633.65.01

regards
tifosi.
tifosikrishna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 20:01   #458
Senior - BHPian
 
hvkumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 7,369
Thanked: 3,354 Times
Default

I use a Garmin GPSMAP60C with its own maps. Track points on all my trips and merge them in Google Earth.
hvkumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 20:05   #459
BHPian
 
btirthankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Some Moving Vehicle
Posts: 816
Thanked: 115 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Kumar already has a GPS device..
HVK does even have Google Earth Subscription. I will ask him to market his maps commercially. I met this mapmyindia CEO yesterday to get info on mapping API sharing for my Real Estate Portal. He too told me I'd have to buy the entire unit of Delphi alongwith.
btirthankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 21:13   #460
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 655 Times
Default

Sir, I use a Garmin iQue 3600 (since discontinued) with its own maps and I also track all my way points on all my trips and also the tracks as well. But how does one merge them in Google Earth.

I've Google Earth 3.0 of Nov 17, 2005 and it is free. Do I've to get Google earth plus to be able do that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
I use a Garmin GPSMAP60C with its own maps. Track points on all my trips and merge them in Google Earth.
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 22:57   #461
Senior - BHPian
 
hvkumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 7,369
Thanked: 3,354 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Sir, I use a Garmin iQue 3600 (since discontinued) with its own maps and I also track all my way points on all my trips and also the tracks as well. But how does one merge them in Google Earth.

I've Google Earth 3.0 of Nov 17, 2005 and it is free. Do I've to get Google earth plus to be able do that?
Google Earth Plus is the regular Google Earth + GPS compatible. This will help Google Earth recognise your GPS and exchnage track points, etc. I pay an annual subscription of around USD 20.
hvkumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2008, 00:03   #462
BHPian
 
vabs78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 551
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tifosikrishna View Post
another frustrating experience.

Try this:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...tml#post720638 (Using a GPS Receiver in the Car)

might work
vabs78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2008, 10:07   #463
Ram
Senior - BHPian
 
Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Singapore, Mumbai, Nagpur
Posts: 2,165
Thanked: 144 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
I use a Garmin GPSMAP60C with its own maps. Track points on all my trips and merge them in Google Earth.
Garmin GPSMAP 60C is apparently an obsolete discontinued handheld product.
What is the current product?

Name:  Garmindiscon.jpg
Views: 351
Size:  20.0 KB
Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2008, 10:19   #464
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

For people wanting to go for handheld Garmin units like the 60C, a good resource would be Redirecting to new portal...

This is a site for maps for SE-Asia but has a lot of information on which unit is best suited for what purpose and a good resource for tutorials for the DIY mappers.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2008, 10:27   #465
BHPian
 
HotChillyPepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bang_a_lore
Posts: 605
Thanked: 215 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4_attitude View Post
Is there any GPS avialable in market which also works as mobile, its a great gadget, but worth only if it has mobile facility tooo, carrying two geomectry box is a tough job..
I heard some company launching it soon in India
any clues??
Cheers
Wadhwa Ajay
Yes. AFAIK, There are 3 models from Asus doing well abroad which is having GPS receiver built in, GSM Quad band, GPRS, Wifi, Blutooth in one single box. But I m not certain how will you get the map of indian cities in that. My friend is owning one (P750) but he dont have a GPS enabled yet. Check out the indian website of Asus for details. ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
HotChillyPepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks