Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th August 2008, 01:56   #526
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,839
Thanked: 7,211 Times
Default

Quote:
The mapping seen in website is more detailed than Navigator.
Well, that is what I didn't want to hear.

I suspect, though, that it is still the best available outside the metros and major cities? Even Nokia Maps is good for Chennai.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 07:44   #527
Senior - BHPian
 
harjeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,896
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Well, that is what I didn't want to hear.

I suspect, though, that it is still the best available outside the metros and major cities? Even Nokia Maps is good for Chennai.
I too too a demo about a year, and spent a lot of time on their website.
But when I saw the product demo it was a very big let down. The website is much more detailed than the product.

What i did was i loaded Mgmaps (www.mgmaps.com), downloaded road maps (google and yahoo) for the whole of North India and transferred them to my mobile E90. The only thing that I have not been able to manage working is their navigation (though on thwir forum(Mgmaps) peoplle claim that they have).

Other that is i dont seem to find any issue with Mgmaps. and did I tell you 'ITS FREE'
harjeev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 08:52   #528
BHPian
 
nripin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 131
Thanked: Once
Default

friends i have a2 year old map of mapkingG10 Bangalore

most locations are outdated.

Could any one help me with a later map for map kingG10 ?
nripin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 09:53   #529
Senior - BHPian
 
rkbharat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gurgaon/New Delhi
Posts: 1,590
Thanked: 608 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harjeev View Post
downloaded road maps (google and yahoo) for the whole of North India and transferred them to my mobile E90. is i dont seem to find any issue with Mgmaps. and did I tell you 'ITS FREE'
Can you please tell how you downloaded whole North India map from Google or Yahoo
rkbharat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 10:03   #530
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 115
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harjeev View Post
hi
I downloaded the application on my E90 (Nokia) and volla my external BlueTooth Receiver(BTR) connects to the phone. I was not able to connect the BTR to my phone earlier. Hense I will not have to worry for the battery life of my E90 now.cheers:

One thing I am not able to get is that, maybe you could help me on this, in Nokia Sports Tracker s/w the old log files are saved and can be imported and exported anytime. I have been trying this the Trail Explorer(TE) but no luck.
Harve Have you managed to, or know whether this is possible on TE.
Thanks
When you say " Stop Tracking/recording" automatically you should get a popup asking you to give a name for the track and the options (tick boxes) to export to KML and export to GPX and the last one being Save Trail. You can save the trail in the memory card or any other location on the phone. And ofc you can export it later. I have not tried importing the older tracks but theoretically it must be possible.
Sandeep_K_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 12:29   #531
Senior - BHPian
 
harjeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,896
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
Can you please tell how you downloaded whole North India map from Google or Yahoo
the instructions are all there on this thread
check this out
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...tml#post811011 (Using a GPS Receiver in the Car)
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...tml#post811597 (Using a GPS Receiver in the Car)

Also when you will download the maps I initially used 'Hash 1 & Tiles 256'.
This makes the files too big and the phone very slow.
So now I am using Hash 1 and Tiles 8. Though this increases the files size a little bit but at the sametime the speed of the phone s/w (while using Mgmas) is not compromised.
However it would be best if you experimented with what settings work best for you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandeep_K_Ram View Post
When you say " Stop Tracking/recording" automatically you should get a popup asking you to give a name for the track and the options (tick boxes) to export to KML and export to GPX and the last one being Save Trail. You can save the trail in the memory card or any other location on the phone. And ofc you can export it later. I have not tried importing the older tracks but theoretically it must be possible.
yes i was experimenting with the s/w yesterday evening and discovered it.


Also an other thing I've discovered is that, if I am using an external b/tooth GPS receiver BTR I cannot use it for two applications at the same time on my mobile.
In my case this would be the TrailExplorer and MGMAPS. if the 1st application is using the BTR and I start the 2nd application it fails to search for the BTR.

Is there any way around this?
harjeev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 16:03   #532
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,468
Thanked: 19,375 Times
Default

I need to download maps on my htc touch to use here in USA. which is a nice reasonably priced map I can purchase for California state?
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 16:11   #533
Senior - BHPian
 
hillram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 2,835
Thanked: 942 Times
Default

any Sony Ericsson P1i users here , who were successful with bluetooth navigation tehcnology
hillram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 20:41   #534
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

I am using gMapMaker to download the map, whose definition was created using the mapcacher utility - Bangalore and around 50Km radial distance around it (Actually a square about 100Km a side), Zoom Level 10-18, Slow & Detailed, Google satellite images with roadmaps overlayed. gMapMaker: Hash size 97.

Now, what did I specify incorrectly / excessively? Blessed thing has been running since yesterday with no end in sight!
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 22:00   #535
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 115
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harjeev View Post

yes i was experimenting with the s/w yesterday evening and discovered it.


Also an other thing I've discovered is that, if I am using an external b/tooth GPS receiver BTR I cannot use it for two applications at the same time on my mobile.
In my case this would be the TrailExplorer and MGMAPS. if the 1st application is using the BTR and I start the 2nd application it fails to search for the BTR.

Is there any way around this?
No I am not sure if there is a work around to it . AFAIK the Ext GPS Transceiver will only work with one app at a time unlike the integrated A-GPS Transceiver on a N series.
Sandeep_K_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 22:02   #536
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandeep_K_Ram View Post
No I am not sure if there is a work around to it . AFAIK the Ext GPS Transceiver will only work with one app at a time unlike the integrated A-GPS Transceiver on a N series.
If you use Windows Mobile and an application called GPSGate or GPSProxy, you can have any number of applications utilising the GPS receiver via Virtual Serial Ports!
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 22:50   #537
Senior - BHPian
 
harjeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,896
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

thanks for the info. i guess i would just have to use only 1 app when using the extGPS.
Have anyone of you been able to get the 'GetDirections' or the routing to work in Mgmaps. I have tried it a number of times but it always says 'NoRoute Found'

@deralte: that would certianly take alot of time as though the data is not huge, but number of files is very large and that is what takes time.
Also i personally think that zoom 18 is very much detailed.

I have downloaded for Delhi & NCR zoom 5-17 & 5-13-on my phone. The details are as follows
Hash 1 Tiles 8
Map type : google road maps and yahoo road maps (i am not using sattelite maps as i find it confusing plus they take up more space)
On practical usage, I use upto zoom 15 or 16 in the cities(Delhi) and 17 is used if i am trying to find something specific. And for northern india i use zoom 13, and find the level of detail to be ok.

Last edited by harjeev : 7th August 2008 at 23:04.
harjeev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2008, 07:38   #538
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harjeev View Post
thanks for the info. i guess i would just have to use only 1 app when using the extGPS.
Have anyone of you been able to get the 'GetDirections' or the routing to work in Mgmaps. I have tried it a number of times but it always says 'NoRoute Found'.
That's normal. It relies on google to provide driving directions. Unfortunately, google still does not offer this service for India.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2008, 11:15   #539
Senior - BHPian
 
harjeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,896
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
That's normal. It relies on google to provide driving directions. Unfortunately, google still does not offer this service for India.
Thats a relief.


So for someone wanting driving directions (in India), the only options left are either to use products like those supplied by Mapmyindia or subscribe to the expensive nokia maps service?
harjeev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2008, 13:46   #540
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harjeev View Post
Thats a relief.
So for someone wanting driving directions (in India), the only options left are either to use products like those supplied by Mapmyindia or subscribe to the expensive nokia maps service?
or Satguide (with its inherent deficiencies). I had requested Cristain to add Yahoo India driving directions to mgmaps. But it is not possible right now because of the way yahoo India manages the request/response for driving directions.

I have pan India offline G**gle maps at 0-13 zoom. But G**gle have improved on their maps recently - adding more details, country roads etc since then. So offline maps has its own disadvantages.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:20.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks