Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th December 2008, 12:00   #661
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
my family is from jabalpur and I really don't see any GPS data for jabalpur though.
I am a frequent visitor to Jabalpur . Only was out at present is to use MGMaps since it has remarkable coverage of most areas of Jabalpur and Nearby small towns like Narsinghpur.

I am not sure if your Germin device runs Windows CE or not. If it does, then MGMaps should run on it.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 13:59   #662
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 655 Times
Default

I use maps provided to me by the seller. I've north zone and south zone maps including that of Metros. It is a constant companion on all my highway trips. The head of the Delhi branch is a guy called Ramesh Kashyap, who is a member here though not very active. You can run a search for him here as he had initially posted. Can send an email and find out from him..

Post #: 346 is from him, here..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sudipto-S-Team View Post
Interesting to find another Garmin user here. What Indian maps do you use? Do you use any map at all or just create your own way points? Are Garmins capable of using any map other than those made by Mapsource? I have a very basic Foretrex because when I bought GPS at that time no digital map was available for loading.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
I have an antiquated garmin unit (i2) ready to be retired. does anybody know if any of india maps can be loaded on it if i send back to india? it reads img files from micro sd card.

my family is from jabalpur and I really don't see any GPS data for jabalpur though.

Last edited by gd1418 : 4th December 2008 at 14:04.
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 14:22   #663
BHPian
 
dinu2506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 788
Thanked: 320 Times
Default

Can I get a feedback on the Blaupunkt Travelpilot 300 users? I understand they use they use Maymyindia maps. How are the updates provided. Also, from where do we buy the unit. Their marketing seems to be bad. Have not seen any advertisements or dealers listed anywhere.
dinu2506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 17:26   #664
Senior - BHPian
 
rkbharat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gurgaon/New Delhi
Posts: 1,590
Thanked: 608 Times
Default

Yes, did that setting as well, did almost every setting but no luck :(
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khandelwal View Post
@rkbharat:

Have you tried enabled/tried GPS Settings within MGmaps Menu (Menu -> GPS -> Select Device -> Internal (or GPSGate/Serial). It would be some trial and error way.

Do let us know you succeeded or not.
rkbharat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2008, 11:05   #665
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

I am planning to buy a GPS receiver & data logger and than link it over Bluetooth to my mobile/laptop (for the time being) and my car computer (when it happens).

I am considering these two options (in that order)
Visiontac VGPS-900
Qstarz BT-Q1300


I am not really keen on Navigation at this point (as maps are not matured).
Will be using it
1. To know where am I (while on long drives) along with google maps
2. To log the route I have taken
3. For Geotagging
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 10:18   #666
Senior - BHPian
 
rkbharat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gurgaon/New Delhi
Posts: 1,590
Thanked: 608 Times
Default

finally success

I manage to connect to internal GPS of my HTC with mgmaps, now this is turning out to be a very good tool as it gives me the freedom to download any area map. Very useful where I do not need directions but need to keep my track.

Name:  sshot000.bmp
Views: 1080
Size:  225.1 KB

Name:  sshot001.bmp
Views: 967
Size:  225.1 KB
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
Yes, did that setting as well, did almost every setting but no luck :(
Try mgmaps for downloading maps and beelineGPS for logging your track. There are many other endless tools I can list down for your requirements
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
I am not really keen on Navigation at this point (as maps are not matured).
Will be using it
1. To know where am I (while on long drives) along with google maps
2. To log the route I have taken
3. For Geotagging

Last edited by rkbharat : 7th December 2008 at 10:22.
rkbharat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 14:28   #667
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

rkbharat: Since you have HTC windows mobile, try Tracky where you can download offline google maps.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2008, 14:37   #668
Senior - BHPian
 
rkbharat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gurgaon/New Delhi
Posts: 1,590
Thanked: 608 Times
Default

gopinathann, yes I have tried it, but I found mgmaps more comfortable, to download maps on laptop and then transfer to phone.


Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann View Post
rkbharat: Since you have HTC windows mobile, try Tracky where you can download offline google maps.

Last edited by tsk1979 : 9th December 2008 at 10:17.
rkbharat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2008, 20:28   #669
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 765
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
gopinathann, yes I have tried it, but I found mgmaps more comfortable, to download maps on laptop and then transfer to phone.

BTW these are all Navigation and GPS software I have tried and working very well on my HTC,

Attachment 77315
ok, I installed mg maps but it didn't work for offline maps. Also I hate java based apps since it does not support dictionary when we enter text.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2008, 20:56   #670
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,190
Thanked: 181 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
gopinathann, yes I have tried it, but I found mgmaps more comfortable, to download maps on laptop and then transfer to phone.

BTW these are all Navigation and GPS software I have tried and working very well on my HTC,

Attachment 77315
Impressive. I have tried mgmaps, j2memaps, Google Maps for Mobile, gpsed, sportstracker, Nokia Maps and now just started using mapmyindia iNav WF (first impressions not that good I say)
I have used mgmaps for over 1.5 years with my N95 including trips to Goa, Delhi, Chikmagalur, Coorg and other places in Karnataka. Also used mgmaps in US with live Google routing directions :-)
Was pretty active on the mgmaps forum - pace of work has really slowed down since last 1 year after Cristian got busy with some commercial projects :-(

Do you use the latest dev versions of the mgmaps (1.41 series) ? Good to hear +ve experiences with mgmaps!

BTW, do you use the Yahoo India maps in Hindi by choice (some of the roads etc become difficult to follow for me)? Earlier, Yahoo India maps were only rendered in English. This was updated later - in case you wish to use the English version of Yahoo India maps, there was a fix applied to mgmaps for this...

Cheers,

Last edited by lancer_rit : 8th December 2008 at 21:07.
lancer_rit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2008, 12:44   #671
Senior - BHPian
 
rkbharat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gurgaon/New Delhi
Posts: 1,590
Thanked: 608 Times
Default

May be some settings problem, its not really an install and run kind of app.
Not sure what does dictionary means, do you mean typing english dictionary?
Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann View Post
ok, I installed mg maps but it didn't work for offline maps. Also I hate java based apps since it does not support dictionary when we enter text.

lancer_rit, good to know that you used this app.

yes I am running on 1.4 dev release. I just tried to download some map. BTW mgmaps says that Google maps are not supported but it is working on my PDA.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancer_rit View Post
Impressive. I have tried mgmaps, j2memaps, Google Maps for Mobile, gpsed, sportstracker, Nokia Maps and now just started using mapmyindia iNav WF (first impressions not that good I say)
I have used mgmaps for over 1.5 years with my N95 including trips to Goa, Delhi, Chikmagalur, Coorg and other places in Karnataka. Also used mgmaps in US with live Google routing directions :-)
Was pretty active on the mgmaps forum - pace of work has really slowed down since last 1 year after Cristian got busy with some commercial projects :-(

Do you use the latest dev versions of the mgmaps (1.41 series) ? Good to hear +ve experiences with mgmaps!

BTW, do you use the Yahoo India maps in Hindi by choice (some of the roads etc become difficult to follow for me)? Earlier, Yahoo India maps were only rendered in English. This was updated later - in case you wish to use the English version of Yahoo India maps, there was a fix applied to mgmaps for this...

Cheers,
rkbharat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2008, 08:00   #672
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,190
Thanked: 181 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
May be some settings problem, its not really an install and run kind of app.
Not sure what does dictionary means, do you mean typing english dictionary?



lancer_rit, good to know that you used this app.

yes I am running on 1.4 dev release. I just tried to download some map. BTW mgmaps says that Google maps are not supported but it is working on my PDA.
Google maps is not supported due to demand from Google to remove it. Originally, it was the first map to be supported. So, you can define a custom URL and Google maps will work for you. I used it a lot. All the route calculation is still done by contacting google map servers.however, driving directions does not yet work for India in Google :-(

I had this problem suddenly of Yahoo India maps for Bangalore showing up in Kannada one day. So, I posted about this, and there was a fix made to one of the 1.39 series. It shows up in English now.

BTW, for the offline maps not working, the main reason usually is what is the uSD card drive represented as. For Nokia, this is E:, please refer to mgmaps forums for details on this topic...

Cheers,
lancer_rit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2008, 10:20   #673
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 39
Thanked: 3 Times
Default Bluetooth receiver - Satguide or MapMyIndia

Hi All,

Wanted to buy a blue tooth GPS receiver to use with my Sony Ericsson P1i phone (Symbian UIQ).

2 questions:

1) Which one is better: MapMyIndia Bluetooth GPS at Rs 3490
MapmyIndia iNav : GPS navigation for mobile phones! Nokia, Blackberry, HTC, ASUS GPS phone navigation software all India


OR

Satguide Bluetooth GPS receiver for Rs 4290 here
GPS Receiver | Go GPS Kit for Mobiles | GPS Bluetooth Receiver

2) Can one use the MapMyIndia maps with the SatGuide BT receiver and vice-versa?

Thanks a lot.
sidkun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2008, 17:46   #674
BHPian
 
ask77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Agra
Posts: 143
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

both are bluetooth gps receivers . the satguide receiver has sirf iii chipset which is the best chip for gps receivers . any software can be used with these receivers. You need a symbian based software from either map my india or satguide . I am using map my india inav loaded of map my india and find it quite
ask77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2008, 12:10   #675
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 39
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Hi ask77,

your post got truncated mid-sentence.

You find the inav loaded quite ... what?

Also, is the price difference between the satguide and mapmyindia BT GPS receivers based solely on the sirfStartIII chipset? Because I would have thought that most of the new BT GPS receivers would be using sirfstarIII anyway?

Thanks.
sidkun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:59.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks