Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th August 2009, 17:45   #946
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 61
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Thank you tsk and netfreak will head to Chenoy trade center in Sec'bad this weekend and try my luck
ubsmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 18:34   #947
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubsmart View Post
I have couple of WinMo phones. One a smartphone and the other is a PDA phone(t-mobile MDA).
What are the models / brands of the phones? Sure they do not have GPS built in?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
This would work and it plugs in car charger socket.
However, I think software that this seller is "giving away" is pirated.
I really would not go for this type as it would necessarily block the power socket for it to be used. Even the regular ones come with a car charger. They work upto 8-10 hours on a full charge.

You could be right about the software though!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubsmart View Post
Thank you tsk and netfreak will head to Chenoy trade center in Sec'bad this weekend and try my luck
All the best.

Guys, should he get one with the SIRF III chipset or any chipset would do?
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 20:00   #948
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by neoonwheels View Post
Thanks bro !!. lets see which phone ppl recommend me given that I want WiFi and GPS both in the phone.
See the Map Browsing settings option for Mobile mgmaps:

Name:  sshot000.bmp
Views: 298
Size:  225.1 KB<br /> <br />
When I tried the GPS settings:<br /> <br /> <img src=
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 20:15   #949
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,860
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neoonwheels View Post
My question is more or less related to Asus P320. It has got WiFi and GPS both. Thats why I was wondering if I go for this phone will I be able to use built in gps with mgmaps for navigation without the use of GPRS.
Neo,

Get a phone with GPS inbuilt and I will take you thru setting up the MGMaps and offline stored maps. No need for GPRS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
... See the Map Browsing settings option for Mobile mgmaps:...The last may be related to my phone not having in built GPS. The offline mode setting was also not saved.
Trrk, Your version of JBlend is the reason you are not having couple of extra options. But since you say that your phone does not have inbuilt GPS, are you using MGMaps with an external GPS device?
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 14:15   #950
Senior - BHPian
 
neoonwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,651
Thanked: 599 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Neo,

Get a phone with GPS inbuilt and I will take you thru setting up the MGMaps and offline stored maps. No need for GPRS.
Hey thanks HappyWheels. I will buy a new phone this weekend in Mumbai. I came to know about the slow speed of P320 so as of now it is not in my list, but a few new entrants are:

1. HTC P3300 with GPS
2. Nokia N79
3. Acer X960/F900 - Dont know price

I am not very inclined towards Symbian phones. Acer phones look good but i dont know their price. HTC P3300 with GPS would be a good buy I guess.
neoonwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 14:21   #951
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,860
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Neo,

I have a HTC HD, so you will know what I would recommend!
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 14:23   #952
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 61
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
Hi,



What are the models / brands of the phones? Sure they do not have GPS built in?
Yes, I installed Google Maps and it is prompting me for GPRS or GPS. So, Sure it does not have GPS in it. I am using HTC Excalibur and HTC TyTn.
ubsmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 14:31   #953
Senior - BHPian
 
neoonwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,651
Thanked: 599 Times
Default

Anybody have any idea about Acer X960/F900?? Both looks good? Any hint on price??
neoonwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 14:46   #954
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,860
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubsmart View Post
Yes, I installed Google Maps and it is prompting me for GPRS or GPS. So, Sure it does not have GPS in it. I am using HTC Excalibur and HTC TyTn.
I reckon that TyTn has GPS in it but not Excalibur.

For using the inbuilt GPS with MGMaps, you will need an application like GPSPort, which routes the GPS signal to a port that MGMaps listens to.

And for the prompt on using GPRS, you can set it disabled in the option that comes after you deny access. It will ask whether the denial is for current session or always, just click on always.
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 17:27   #955
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pantnagar--> Kanpur-->Noida
Posts: 25
Thanked: Once
Default

Hi guys

I know that this must have been already discussed on the forum but can somebody please point me to link detailing the steps for downloading maps for mgmaps. I would like to use this functionality for rajasthan and U.P. and would not mind using the saved maps (offline mode) for the same.

I would appreciate any help that you guys might offer. I have already downloaded mgmaps on my phone and it has inbuilt gps.

Thanks
Nishant B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 19:39   #956
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
@trrk, you got to do better than that unless you wanted us to see only ghosts.
Luck did not favour me yet again. Sun and the fact that I have been using a HTC phone to capture the images. Still:
Using a GPS Receiver in the Car-image_220.jpg <br />
Whatever we say about Bill Gates / Windows, my HTC had enough gadgets and so this is what I got off it at the same location:<br /> <img src=
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Trrk, Your version of JBlend is the reason you are not having couple of extra options. But since you say that your phone does not have inbuilt GPS, are you using MGMaps with an external GPS device?
The older version of Mgmaps that I installed had all those extra options, but then it also told me that my phone does not have a Bluetooth.

I do use an external BT receiver, but I tried Mgmaps only to give some answers to ubsmart's query. I don't intend to use it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubsmart View Post
Yes, I installed Google Maps and it is prompting me for GPRS or GPS. So, Sure it does not have GPS in it. I am using HTC Excalibur and HTC TyTn.
Google Maps, to the extent that I know will only work with a GPRS connection, so may not be useful to you. Since I have an unlimited connection, I do try it once in a while.

Though I asked about the models, I hardly know the details of those models and luckily HappyWheels seems to have answers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
For using the inbuilt GPS with MGMaps, you will need an application like GPSPort, which routes the GPS signal to a port that MGMaps listens to.
I forgot all about this though I had read about it long back. I also read somewhere that the newer versions don't need GPSPort.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 20:02   #957
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,860
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
...Google Maps, to the extent that I know will only work with a GPRS connection, so may not be useful to you. Since I have an unlimited connection, I do try it once in a while...
Not exactly. For using Google Maps, what you need are the map tiles. GPRS is required if you do not download and store the maps locally. But if you do store the maps locally (ie, on your storage card) you need no GPRS.

I have Google Maps and I do not have GPRS, but I still use them. Since I use GPRPort, I can run MGMaps and also another GPS program.

Do note that Nokia, with its "free 3 months" GPS does this GPRS thing. They download the Google Map tiles are and when your position changes. After the trial period, you need to foot the bill.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
...Though I asked about the models, I hardly know the details of those models and luckily HappyWheels seems to have answers...
Psst.... let you in on a secret. I know nuts about those two models; my knowledge is from Google & Wikipedia!

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
... I forgot all about this though I had read about it long back. I also read somewhere that the newer versions don't need GPSPort.
The latest version had some compatibility issue with my HD, hence took the last stable release.
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2009, 20:19   #958
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 97
Thanked: Once
Default GPS Tracking system resricted to Mobile phone service providers network

I think, the GPS tracking devices in cars are linked with Mobile phone's networks like vodafone or Idea. in this way would not the Tracking ability of the GPS device be restricted to the service providers network?
Maximum_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2009, 00:57   #959
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Do note that Nokia, with its "free 3 months" GPS does this GPRS thing. They download the Google Map tiles are and when your position changes. After the trial period, you need to foot the bill.
Nokia's navigation does not require GPRS in 3 months trial or otherwise.

Maps are free (these are vector maps so are searchable).

Thing that is not free beyond 3 months is turn by turn guidance.

Maps use GPRS just to get a quicker fix on GPS, that is by sending current basestation id to Nokia's servers and they quicly tell approx location to GPS chip. GPS chip now knows which satellites to scan for.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2009, 13:31   #960
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Not exactly. For using Google Maps, what you need are the map tiles. GPRS is required if you do not download
I did not know that! I will remember that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Psst.... let you in on a secret. I know nuts about those two models; my knowledge is from Google & Wikipedia!
Now why did I not think of that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximum_torque View Post
I think, the GPS tracking devices in cars are linked with Mobile phone's networks like vodafone or Idea. in this way would not the Tracking ability of the GPS device be restricted to the service providers network?
I am not very sure about what you mean! Whether in cars or other devices, the GPS is not dependant on the mobile provider's network. If the navigating part / map part requires updates from the Internet, then it would need the GPRS connection of the mobile network and that may depend on the network availability.

I have used a Reliance phone and its GPRS for Mgmaps in my travel from Alleppey to Belgaum and back and it worked without problems in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. My Idea connection from Kerala also worked with GPRS in all these regions.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:00.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks