Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd August 2009, 18:46   #1006
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,848
Thanked: 7,255 Times
Default

I thought the N82 GPS antenna was also at the bottom?

It will run for a mere two hours without charging, but, with a car charger, I can keep it on charge; the wire is long enough that I can still put it by the windscreen.

A "proper" GPS navigation unit, with a handsomely-sized screen, has long been on my list of wanted toys --- but not needed badly enough to spend the cash. The N82 will do me for now, at least until I have occasion to drive much further than the Nokia coverage of Chennai.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2009, 23:33   #1007
Senior - BHPian
 
wanderernomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 2,390
Thanked: 786 Times
Default

Guys I ahve a sony erricsson p990i. I downloaded google maps and my service provider is Vodafone. I tried a route search and it did work sort of step by step. I want to know if it can provide a constant live kind of navigation and turn by turn directions? Also since google says it is free will Vodafone be charging for its use?
wanderernomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 00:51   #1008
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,191
Thanked: 181 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
I thought the N82 GPS antenna was also at the bottom?
No, Thad. Its only in the bottom on the N95 since GPS was an afterthought addition and not an original part of N95 design. Logical position for any GPS antenna is on the top part of the phone.

Quote:
It will run for a mere two hours without charging, but, with a car charger, I can keep it on charge; the wire is long enough that I can still put it by the windscreen.
That's another aspect better in the N82 - battery life. My N95 conks off from full charge to power off in about half-hour if GPS is ON. So, car charger is must.

@wondernomad, Google maps is not to be used for navigation and they don't support such a feature. Infact, the map companies license map data to Google and Yahoo's of the world under the explicit condition that this data cannot be used for navigation.
mgmaps has limited navigation capability after doing the routing online through google.com.
Vodafone can only charge you for the GPRS data you use for routing using google.com server. The google maps app needs to contact the google maps servers for routing.

Last edited by lancer_rit : 23rd August 2009 at 00:54.
lancer_rit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 09:55   #1009
BHPian
 
wheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: DXB
Posts: 261
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

I am currently using N82 with the Garmin mobile XT. Satellite locks in under 30 seconds and turn by turn navigation with voice. Works pretty well as long as the maps are updated. Depending upon the time of the day, the screen color combo changes to provide max visibility. During the day, display has white background with various colors to indicate roads, water bodies, etc. During the nights, display backgroud changes to black thus highlighting the roads clearly.


@wandernomad, are you using an external bluetooth GPS receiver with the p990i?

Last edited by wheeler : 23rd August 2009 at 09:57.
wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 10:18   #1010
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,848
Thanked: 7,255 Times
Default

Thanks, lancer_rit; I picked up some wrong information somewhere about the antenna position.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 10:59   #1011
Newbie
 
chitranshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: KOLKATA
Posts: 7
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Anyone, any idea on the Mapmyindia devices for navigation ? I was thinking of getting one.
chitranshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 22:36   #1012
BHPian
 
sharathjeppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 156
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

I have updated to ovi maps on my Nokia N82. The map quality and the search functionality is a lot improved. Plus the placemarks can be synchronized online.

I really like the GPS of the N82. It is superfast. Haven't see the same with any other phone so far. It locks on to satellites even when placed completely away from any of the windows and even indoors. Any feedback on the quality of GPS of other phones?
sharathjeppu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2009, 23:53   #1013
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

I tried MMI on a Touch HD today. Satellite lock was impossible from a balcony in a high-rise. On the road without anything overhead, blessed thing took about 5 minutes to get satellite lock. Once locked, it was quite OK.

Yes, comparatively N82 is blazing fast at 1-2 minutes. iPhone is quite good too, same time as N82. I use Holux BT external, which gets a lock in 30 sec., as a comparison. Garmin PND does it in <1 min.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 00:19   #1014
BHPian
 
tush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 328
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharathjeppu View Post
I have updated to ovi maps on my Nokia N82. The map quality and the search functionality is a lot improved. Plus the placemarks can be synchronized online.

I really like the GPS of the N82. It is superfast. Haven't see the same with any other phone so far. It locks on to satellites even when placed completely away from any of the windows and even indoors. Any feedback on the quality of GPS of other phones?

I have Nokia 5700 Xpress Music. Have installed Google Maps application. It just works flawlessly. But few times I noticed that the GPS reports some odd location with some different names(may be code names) not heard of places. To that I just close the application and start it again.

I was traveling from Pune-Mumbai by train and just for fun tried to use the GPS and it showed where exactly I was and would update in every few seconds or may be minute or two, dont exactly remember.

Also used while goin to Bhimashankar by Car. Worked just fine.

But for the map to refresh it also requires GPRS. Dont know how to get it worked if there is no GPRS on phone. May be to get it worked without GPRS will need to download an application that has all the location Maps within it, so that it does not require a net connection to load the map.

Last edited by tush : 24th August 2009 at 00:23.
tush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 10:12   #1015
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

@tush, use mgmaps with downloaded maps. The mgmaps site describes how to do it.

You need not close the application when it erroneously shows you are in a strange land lol, just use the 'where am I' command (usually the 0 key, I think). It will refresh the map all over again using the nearest cell phone tower, before resuming more accurate tracking with the GPS.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 12:18   #1016
Senior - BHPian
 
wanderernomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 2,390
Thanked: 786 Times
Default

Thanks Lancer. But does p990i has GPS? If not google maps are there any other free maps available for navigation on p990i?
wanderernomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 12:21   #1017
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanderernomad View Post
Thanks Lancer. But does p990i has GPS? If not google maps are there any other free maps available for navigation on p990i?
No Vikram, P990i doesn't have GPS.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 12:40   #1018
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chitranshu View Post
Anyone, any idea on the Mapmyindia devices for navigation ? I was thinking of getting one.
They work pretty well. The device is just about the same as any other PND in terms of quality.

MMI maps are pretty decent in urban and semi-urban areas. There is not much detail outside that - only place names mentioned along NH, SH and major connecting roads.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 13:08   #1019
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by chitranshu View Post
Anyone, any idea on the Mapmyindia devices for navigation ? I was thinking of getting one.
Please a take a look at the following post: 4th picture onwards, please

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...ml#post1337379

MMI does a decent job in and around my place. Then the interface could be improved a lot. Place names are spelt horribly. One ways sometimes are missed.

Go for it!

Last edited by trrk : 24th August 2009 at 13:09.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 15:20   #1020
Senior - BHPian
 
wanderernomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 2,390
Thanked: 786 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post
No Vikram, P990i doesn't have GPS.
This means, another reason to pester Bhaiyaji with. Thanks Ashish.
wanderernomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks