Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th August 2009, 13:15   #1036
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Unfortunately none of map providers have decent highway coverage. Would not be a good idea to depend on GPS for highways.
I have traveled from Alleppey to Tanjore via Kumaragam, Kottayam, Kumily,Tiruchirappalli and there was not a place where the indicated road was any different from what was the actual route. Except for the town names and the Kumarakam - Kottayam part, the rest was new to me and was taking the route for the first time. I could anticipate the curves and direction following the navigator and was of use especially in the night.

There were not much of markings, though!

The NH47 route that I use is always true to the road as far as curves etc are concerned.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2009, 01:14   #1037
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,190
Thanked: 181 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Most GPS chips in phones work at 5Hz.
Are you sure ? IIRC, I had discussions with the mgmaps author about updating the GPS position more than once per second, but it turned out that most phone GPS are capable of only 1Hz. I confirmed this the Nokia GPS app as well (it only updates the display once a second).
N95 and N82 as well as most BT receivers update @ 1Hz
there are more expensive units like some of the Garmin sets etc that do 5Hz
lancer_rit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:50   #1038
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Question - If I buy a GPS navigator from abroad, can I buy just the maps from a provider in India on a microSD card? If yes, which one should I get?
the_maassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 13:55   #1039
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Yes you can put India maps on such devices.

You can get devices from Garmin or Mio.

Garmin India maps cost aprrox 2k. Contact sales on satguide.in for details.

For Mio devices, you need to "unlock" and than install India maps.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 14:41   #1040
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Don't flame me for it - but I was actually looking at this:

Galaxy's Thinnest GPS Portable Navigator (5 Inch Touchscreen)

Seems to be a good device by specs and hence got me interested. This uses a microSD card loaded with maps (as do other navigators).

Am I getting into a potential risk by trying this?
the_maassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 14:58   #1041
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

This device is completely unlocked and open.

I am using a similar device. These are design specifically for Car navigation. And a car charges is must since battery does not last long.

You can install pretty much any software/map on this.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 15:07   #1042
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
This device is completely unlocked and open.

I am using a similar device. These are design specifically for Car navigation. And a car charges is must since battery does not last long.

You can install pretty much any software/map on this.
So you saying I should be fairly safe with this! Another question - are these or similar devices (unbranded ones) available in India? Is yes, where can I get my hands on one?
the_maassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 15:24   #1043
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_maassk View Post
Don't flame me for it - but I was actually looking at this:

Galaxy's Thinnest GPS Portable Navigator (5 Inch Touchscreen)

Seems to be a good device by specs and hence got me interested. This uses a microSD card loaded with maps (as do other navigators).

Am I getting into a potential risk by trying this?
You are better off with dealextreme rather than some site with a miss-spelt name. They have free shipping by Speed post as well as paid express shipping.

Before buying, do look at the review AND the discussion comments for the particular product.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 15:57   #1044
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_maassk View Post
So you saying I should be fairly safe with this! Another question - are these or similar devices (unbranded ones) available in India? Is yes, where can I get my hands on one?
I am using a device from DealExtreme and that is similar.No issues so far.

But one CAUTION.

Sine you do not live in a metro, you might face trouble with customs. That is since your city would not have customs office. In some cases you need to go there to show invoice and prove that cost is less than 10k.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 16:34   #1045
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Sine you do not live in a metro, you might face trouble with customs. That is since your city would not have customs office. In some cases you need to go there to show invoice and prove that cost is less than 10k.
The site ships by UPS. They said they can also send a declaration alongwith the shipment for customs purposes. I think this should suffice. UPS should be able to handle customs with the declaration.
the_maassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2009, 16:48   #1046
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Yes UPS is able to handle customs. But be ready to pay hefty import duty.


With speed post, things are shipped as "Gift" and do not attract import duty since amount is less than 10k.

We are going OT on this thread. Continue this discussion on :

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadget...ork-india.html
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2009, 14:58   #1047
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Update on Garmin Maps

If you are using a Garmin device for car navigation, than ask for an upgrade for maps.

Newer Navteq maps were released last week that increased coverage of Garmin. Now smaller towns like Satara MH and Jabalpur MP are covered by Navteq.

Garmin license includes updates for a year. So if you bought it recently this update should be free.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2009, 10:47   #1048
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

What is the latest version of the Garmin India maps?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2009, 12:01   #1049
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Map id is unchanged (281)
Version is : 2009 Q4
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2009, 19:54   #1050
BHPian
 
di1in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bnglr&Thrissur
Posts: 384
Thanked: 66 Times
Default GTXi application

Like I'd said some posts earlier i did a test run with the GTXi app and the results were not all that great. I've posted the programs output at s603rd.blogspot.com I'm online from my mob so cant get the exact URL. Bottomline is that the app is good, but if you want to calculate 0-100 times you'll need way better GPS modules than those that come embedded on a mobile.
di1in is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:04.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks