Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th January 2010, 08:39   #1171
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

No, you will not be able to use google maps with this device.

But you can search for places on google maps and store results in your device. E.g. you can search for "XYZ Club" and store it in your device.

Tutorials here :

How to Load Google Maps to Garmin | eHow.com
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 11:13   #1172
Senior - BHPian
 
nairrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Payyannur-Kannur district
Posts: 2,106
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

I just returned after driving 1500kms in last 2 days.
I was using the MMI 140 extensively it was very helpful. It identifies even small
street roads. However it get confused where there is some road diversion due to
flyover construction is going on and the command will be as per previous road condition. There you might have to ask the routing from the people outside.

Also I have seen many roads have been put NO ENTRY by the cops whereas the GPS still says to go in that road. However you still keep going straight(because of NO Entry in that particular lane), the gps will give another direction which one can select. overall a good experience !
nairrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 12:18   #1173
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 384
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
This is the free download link :

Garmin: Garmin Mobile XT Navigation for Smartphones Software Update Collection

Free download does not include maps.

You need to buy Navteq maps from Garmin ($100) or from Satguide (2k) to unlock the program.
Would this work on a Mobile running WinMo 6.1 or is it specific for Garmin devices only ??
emkay456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 13:02   #1174
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,601
Thanked: 3,452 Times
Default

emkay man - all you need to do is to open the link and run it on your phone!
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 15:58   #1175
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emkay456 View Post
Would this work on a Mobile running WinMo 6.1 or is it specific for Garmin devices only ??
Pretty much any phone (WinMo, Symbian, Blackberry, Palm).
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 20:19   #1176
BHPian
 
manim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tuticorin
Posts: 715
Thanked: 374 Times
Question Nokia 5230 Maps

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
You can look at another option. Buy Nokia 5230. Cost is 9000.

On this, you can run Google maps / Garmin /Mapamyindia and Satnav.

If you use Google maps, it would be free. But it would require 2 - 3 days to download maps for India to phone. You would need to leave the PC on so that it can download all maps.
I am planning to buy Nokia 5230. I was quoted Rs.8,400/-

1) Can you please tell me on how to download Google maps on the PC and then transfer it to the phone. I will be using Linux, will that be a problem? Since I have an unlimited broadband connection, time/size will not be a problem.

2) If I buy MapmyIndia Sygic mobile maps, will it work on this model? (This model is not listed in the compatibility web page, maybe because it is a new model?)

Thanks.
manim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 20:53   #1177
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manim View Post
I am planning to buy Nokia 5230. I was quoted Rs.8,400/-

1) Can you please tell me on how to download Google maps on the PC and then transfer it to the phone. I will be using Linux, will that be a problem? Since I have an unlimited broadband connection, time/size will not be a problem.
No need to use PC though it can be don that way too.I have installed it on 5230 and using the same . Far better than Nokia maps. Only that voice navigation is not available presently. Just go to the link, enter your mobile number and click on the link when you receive the SMS. It takes very little time too. Google Mobile | Maps for your phone Installing : Installing/Uninstalling - Mobile Help

Last edited by janitha : 27th January 2010 at 20:57.
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 21:02   #1178
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,846
Thanked: 375 Times
Default

I tried the Nokia Ovi Map recently. The voice guide is all wrong but the visual map is perfect. What's the point ??? If you keep looking at the map how do you drive ? I think Ovi Maps need an update / upgrade...



Cheers
Ricky_63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 22:19   #1179
BHPian
 
manim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tuticorin
Posts: 715
Thanked: 374 Times
Question Size of Download

Quote:
Originally Posted by janitha View Post
No need to use PC though it can be don that way too.I have installed it on 5230 and using the same . Far better than Nokia maps. Only that voice navigation is not available presently. Just go to the link, enter your mobile number and click on the link when you receive the SMS. It takes very little time too. Google Mobile | Maps for your phone Installing : Installing/Uninstalling - Mobile Help
Thanks!

But what is the file size? so I can calculate the cost of download.
(Aircel in Tamilnadu charges me 10 paise for 10 KB, meaning Rs.10 for one MB)

Also when using google maps need I need to be on-line continuously?
Mapmyindia in their web page say that after I puchase from them I need not go on-line (map data for full-india is stored on the SD-card).

Thanks.
manim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 22:30   #1180
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manim View Post
Also when using google maps need I need to be on-line continuously?
Mapmyindia in their web page say that after I puchase from them I need not go on-line (map data for full-india is stored on the SD-card).
You can use a program called "mgmaps". It has tools to download Google maps from PC and transfer to Mobile or PND.

Once you download maps from PC and transfer to cell, data charges would not apply.

This page has download details:

Mobile GMaps - Download


This page has tools for downloading tiles (map images) from Google maps.

Mobile GMaps - Map Tile Caching tools

For Linux, yo uwill have to use command line PERL tools.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 22:48   #1181
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manim View Post
Thanks!

But what is the file size? so I can calculate the cost of download.
(Aircel in Tamilnadu charges me 10 paise for 10 KB, meaning Rs.10 for one MB)

Also when using google maps need I need to be on-line continuously?
Mapmyindia in their web page say that after I puchase from them I need not go on-line (map data for full-india is stored on the SD-card).

Thanks.
The file size was only 1.3MB but I am on unlimited BSNL (Rs.199/- PM) and whenever using the map, data is downloaded. I feel AGPS enhances accuracy, though, may be I am wrong.
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 22:49   #1182
BHPian
 
manim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tuticorin
Posts: 715
Thanked: 374 Times
Post will try out

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
You can use a program called "mgmaps". It has tools to download Google maps from PC and transfer to Mobile or PND.

Once you download maps from PC and transfer to cell, data charges would not apply.

This page has download details:

Mobile GMaps - Download


This page has tools for downloading tiles (map images) from Google maps.

Mobile GMaps - Map Tile Caching tools

For Linux, you will have to use command line PERL tools.
Thanks! I Hope to get my hands on a Nokia 5230 tomorrow.
Will try everything and post my experience here!
manim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 22:56   #1183
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manim View Post
Thanks! I Hope to get my hands on a Nokia 5230 tomorrow.
Will try everything and post my experience here!
Read in another forum (TE) that Nokia has stopped supply of 5320 and instead providing slightly different and cheaper 5323! One of the local dealers too confirmed it.
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2010, 23:22   #1184
BHPian
 
manim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tuticorin
Posts: 715
Thanked: 374 Times
Post Yes I saw both

Quote:
Originally Posted by janitha View Post
Read in another forum (TE) that Nokia has stopped supply of 5320 and instead providing slightly different and cheaper 5323! One of the local dealers too confirmed it.
The model numbers are 5230 & 5233 (note '2' instead of '3' for the second digit).

Yes, I had a look at both and they look the same. It seems that the 5233 is a cheaper model for Rs.900/- lesser which does not have GPS and is 2G.

Anyway browsing the Nokia India website shows the 5230 as a new model and does not even list the 5233. Of course, I will research some more before I buy!
manim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2010, 03:09   #1185
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manim View Post
The model numbers are 5230 & 5233 (note '2' instead of '3' for the second digit).

Yes, I had a look at both and they look the same. It seems that the 5233 is a cheaper model for Rs.900/- lesser which does not have GPS and is 2G.

Anyway browsing the Nokia India website shows the 5230 as a new model and does not even list the 5233. Of course, I will research some more before I buy!
Yes, error from my part!
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:26.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks