Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th February 2010, 10:43   #1231
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Probably have to save a few route points along the shorcuts for it to 'learn' them.
Does the software have the options of route calculation which takes into account your 'made by you' route points on its own?
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2010, 11:44   #1232
BHPian
 
manim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tuticorin
Posts: 716
Thanked: 375 Times
Post same with me

Quote:
Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
I use my Nokia 5800 with the new free Ovi Maps and it works like a charm in Bangalore and also in Kolkata city limits. Excellent turn-by-turn directions and reasonably quick route recalculations. But it DOES get addled if I dive into my usual shortcuts. Probably have to save a few route points along the shorcuts for it to 'learn' them.

Overall, extremely satisfied and have effectively saved 11k as I was on the verge of buying a standalone GPS device.
Same with me, I was going to buy a PND but now have gone in for a Nokia 5230 which costs much less and has many other features.

The Ovi map software is good, but in my area it shows only the highways. The town itself is not covered.

'Google earth for mobile' is great and I have changed my GPRS connection to unlimited now!

Very satisfied with my purchase.
manim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2010, 19:08   #1233
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,387
Thanked: 338 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
Hi,



Does the software have the options of route calculation which takes into account your 'made by you' route points on its own?
Yes. It is quite easy since you can do that on PC. Route would be transferred to device next time you sync.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2010, 20:11   #1234
BHPian
 
manim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tuticorin
Posts: 716
Thanked: 375 Times
Post Learning to use Google Maps

Google maps looks great on my Nokia 5230.
I am yet to take a long drive with it.
On a short drive, I found that the satellite images moves along showing my car in the centre.
Attached Images
 
manim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2010, 21:57   #1235
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,387
Thanked: 338 Times
Default

If you are palling to use Google maps, do look at "mgmaps" software.

With this you can download Google maps on PC and then transfer to mobile. This way you need not pay data charges while roaming.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2010, 22:50   #1236
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
If you are palling to use Google maps, do look at "mgmaps" software.

With this you can download Google maps on PC and then transfer to mobile. This way you need not pay data charges while roaming.
Would you please explain the procedure with respect to Nokia 5230? The site doesn't list the model and says first of all Java is to be installed. Also, can it be installed in the memory card instead of phone memory?
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 13:24   #1237
BHPian
 
surd_biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 116
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
That is possible via Mobile GMaps - View maps from various sources on your mobile phone!
But I have not been able to install it on my mobile.
I use this in my SE w810i. Woks flawlessly. Very useful on the go. Although my mobile doesn't have GPS but the s/w works great.
Great thing is that you can actually customize your download for the maps by selecting the actual drawing area on the map.

Use this guide for how to do it

Offline maps on a Java Mobile - Guides and Tutorials | TechEnclave

Use Map Creation Tool for MGMaps to create your maps and then use gMapMaker to download the tiles for your map
MGMaps :: View topic - gMapMaker - Map Tile Downloader for Windows

ANother beauty of this is that you can also view the downloaded maps on your windows machine by using this guide
MGMaps :: View topic - MGMaps on Windows XP using WTK - Instructions

You can use Yahoo maps, Microsoft maps, Google maps, ask.com maps, and Openstreet maps with MgMaps which is simply great means you can actually select from a variety of maps.
surd_biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 13:30   #1238
BHPian
 
praful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 977
Thanked: 436 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Praful, I think you are not married yet and hence this question.

Some features I really liked.
It claims to find my location within 600 m.
In reality it found it within 100m.
But that is based on cell tower coverage. So it will change based on where I am.
Lol at the marriage point!

I guess your phone is A-GPS enabled hence the approximate location fixes. I usually get a fix which is accurate to within 10 metres, but thats coz I have GPS receiver inbuilt with the phone.
praful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 14:22   #1239
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,607
Thanked: 8,603 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Bumping up an old thread.

Just installed on my Asus P527.
Google Maps for mobile

All I did was goto m.google.com/maps
Click on install.

Maps a really good and it found my location in less than a second.
However I am connected via my LAN network and not gprs.

Will test GPS & GPRS later today.

But if you have a phone that can install it. Then do it. Its really neat.

Latitude will allow you to sign in and others to see where you are.
Am never gonna sign in.
Thats the only issue that you need a GPRS connection to access the maps. The offline would be very good. Though MGMAPs is available, but would be good if Google directly supports it. Its been promised for Android 2.1 though.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 14:24   #1240
BHPian
 
nkapoor777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 583
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
No, you will not be able to use google maps with this device.

But you can search for places on google maps and store results in your device. E.g. you can search for "XYZ Club" and store it in your device.

Tutorials here :

How to Load Google Maps to Garmin | eHow.com
Hi NFB,

I tried to import a location from Google maps to my Garmin Nuvi 750 but it doesn't give me an option to send it to GPS. When I click the send button on top of the page in Google Maps, it only gives an option to send to email. Am I missing something?
nkapoor777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 16:23   #1241
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,387
Thanked: 338 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janitha View Post
Would you please explain the procedure with respect to Nokia 5230? The site doesn't list the model and says first of all Java is to be installed. Also, can it be installed in the memory card instead of phone memory?
5230 has Java. Just install "generic" version and you should be good to go.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 17:33   #1242
Newbie
 
ravindran353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi Ram
Some of your questions prompts me to write the folloeing details.

!.The GPS refered here is the ordinary handhelds which are easy to fix all the new pOI, where ever u travel
2.A car charger is absolutely necessary, cause the battery drains out faster.
3.An antenna is a must otherwise you have hold the navigator in your hand closer to the windshield.
4.For different GPS thre are software from the manufacturer.This wil help you to load the contents to your comp.For these type of road mapping I used to keep a Garmin 12xl with external antenna.
regards
ravindran353 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 18:10   #1243
Senior - BHPian
 
getsurya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 1,381
Thanked: 944 Times
Default

guys, one basic query for using GPS in India-

How does this work with so many unplanned lanes, bylanes, unmentioned diversions, different routes to same place?? I am asking this because I use GPS in US and is very useful to say the least. However in India, I am faced with these questions>
getsurya is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 13:02   #1244
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 481
Thanked: 132 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by praful View Post
Lol at the marriage point!

I guess your phone is A-GPS enabled hence the approximate location fixes. I usually get a fix which is accurate to within 10 metres, but thats coz I have GPS receiver inbuilt with the phone.

How does one know which phones also have built-in GPS receiver?

Don't all high end phones with GPS (Not-Only Assisted GPS) come with GPS receiver.

You have me worried there. I bought an E72 a week back. Is it likely that it also does not have GPS receiver?
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2010, 13:06   #1245
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
You have me worried there. I bought an E72 a week back. Is it likely that it also does not have GPS receiver?
Google Maps will still work if your phone lacks GPS. I have been using it on N70 and works fine to get the location and route from one place to another.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:06.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks