Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th August 2010, 18:41   #1381
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Satguide maps cost 990 Rs. Garmin PND + Satguide maps is pure VFM combination.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2010, 23:13   #1382
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 3,506
Thanked: 2,072 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
A-GPS simply helps in "cold fix" by downloading Ephemeris data. Once you have a complete fix, AGPS will not make any difference in accuracy.
This comes up over and over again. Think you should start a thread on this.

Regards
Sutripta
Sutripta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2010, 07:03   #1383
Senior - BHPian
 
shankar.balan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: BLR
Posts: 8,027
Thanked: 5,325 Times
Default

thanks man. Thats indeed a good deal. Serves me right for not doing enough research on SatGuide before plunging on to MMI.

Do let me know does SatGuide come in SD card form? And would it be compatible with the Garmin Nuvi 205W?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Satguide maps cost 990 Rs. Garmin PND + Satguide maps is pure VFM combination.
shankar.balan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2010, 19:52   #1384
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

It is shipped on MicroSD card, package has SD adapter too. It works fine with Garmin units.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 02:42   #1385
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Those looking for Garmin unit from US, this is a great deal.

Garmin Nuvi 1450 GPS Navigation System with 5" LCD Screen | BuyDig.com

Price is 149 after adding to cart.

Specs : https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?...63932#specsTab
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 11:06   #1386
Senior - BHPian
 
shankar.balan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: BLR
Posts: 8,027
Thanked: 5,325 Times
Default

thanks

like i said - serves me right for not checking satguide before plunging into buying the MMI SD Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
It is shipped on MicroSD card, package has SD adapter too. It works fine with Garmin units.
shankar.balan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 12:26   #1387
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,162
Thanked: 3,756 Times
Default

Mods: Please merge with SatNav Vs Mapmyindia
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 12:45   #1388
Senior - BHPian
 
anujmishra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,271
Thanked: 338 Times
Default Speed Error GPS vs Speedo

I have started using Samsung Wave Navigator in my car. Samsung Wave comes with Route 66 Navigator. My Car is Maruti 800 and it is 100% stock and no modification made till. Speed which my GPS Device is showing and what speedometer shows has difference of 9-10KMPH.

When GPS Device show speed of 51 KMPH my car shows 60 KMPH and this difference is pertinent for all speed.

I am really confused where is the problem, whether navigator is showing incorrect speed or my car is showing incorrect speed. Can anybody faced similar issue with their Navigator?
anujmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 12:54   #1389
Senior - BHPian
 
anekho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: .
Posts: 1,995
Thanked: 659 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anujmishra View Post
I have started using Samsung Wave Navigator in my car. Samsung Wave comes with Route 66 Navigator. My Car is Maruti 800 and it is 100% stock and no modification made till. Speed which my GPS Device is showing and what speedometer shows has difference of 9-10KMPH.

When GPS Device show speed of 51 KMPH my car shows 60 KMPH and this difference is pertinent for all speed.

I am really confused where is the problem, whether navigator is showing incorrect speed or my car is showing incorrect speed. Can anybody faced similar issue with their Navigator?
This is known as Speedo Error and is a common issue in all cars - nothing to worry about.

Check out this wiki link: Speedometer - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia and scroll down to the section titled 'Error' for more info.
anekho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 16:27   #1390
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anujmishra View Post
When GPS Device show speed of 51 KMPH my car shows 60 KMPH and this difference is pertinent for all speed.
This difference is on a higher side, but slight variation is expected. Reason is GPS chip is read at a frequency of 2 to 5 Hz by cell phone. And it takes two readings to calculate speed.

So, whatever speed is shown on GPS would be stale by a second or so. Unless car is running at a constant speed, speed as measured by GPS would be different.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 17:25   #1391
Senior - BHPian
 
anujmishra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,271
Thanked: 338 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anekho View Post
This is known as Speedo Error and is a common issue in all cars - nothing to worry about.
But how come error is coming even my Tires are Stock. But Odometer measures correct distances. I have verified distance with three vehicles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
So, whatever speed is shown on GPS would be stale by a second or so. Unless car is running at a constant speed, speed as measured by GPS would be different.
Difference is constant of 9 Kmph for all speeds. I will check speed of my GPS speed in another car and will check what is the difference coming out.
anujmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 21:44   #1392
BHPian
 
Amrik Singh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 112
Thanked: 41 Times
Default Garmin / Nokia navigator

I have Garmin Nuvi 715 with Pre-installed maps for Gulf Countries.

On my recent visit to India, I got Micro SD Card (within SD Card Adaptor) installed which claims Maps for about 680 Cities in India. It costed me Rs. 2000.00.

Worked fine in Delhi, Punjab and Mumbai.
I also have Nokia Navigaor 6110 and would like to know, if it would work on it also or would it need any further / different download ?
To be honest, I did not try it out.

Please advise

Regards

Amrik Singh
Amrik Singh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 22:58   #1393
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,385
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Easiest way it to buy Navigation software for Nokia. It costs 1200 along with maps from SatGuide.

Or you can download and install Garmin software on Nokia and use that with Micro SD card you already have. But that will require some work.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2010, 13:03   #1394
BHPian
 
splitsecond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: calicut
Posts: 85
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

I am currently using gpsed in my nokia n82 to log the route i traveled.
These routes can be saved in gpx and kml file....so is there any mobile gps navigation software capable of opening gpx or kml file and route according to this information????
Does SygicMobile(mapmyindia) or MgMaps supports these file format??
splitsecond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2010, 16:41   #1395
BHPian
 
Dr.AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore/Pune
Posts: 428
Thanked: 1,091 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anujmishra View Post
I have started using Samsung Wave Navigator in my car. Samsung Wave comes with Route 66 Navigator. My Car is Maruti 800 and it is 100% stock and no modification made till. Speed which my GPS Device is showing and what speedometer shows has difference of 9-10KMPH.

When GPS Device show speed of 51 KMPH my car shows 60 KMPH and this difference is pertinent for all speed.

I am really confused where is the problem, whether navigator is showing incorrect speed or my car is showing incorrect speed. Can anybody faced similar issue with their Navigator?
Most car speedos are known to show higher than true speed. The GPS indicated speed should be much closer to true speed. In many road tests (in some auto magazines, for example), they also give a table of true speed versus speedo numbers and you can see that the speedo numbers are often higher. This is true even with stock tyres.

However, the difference is often about 4-5 kmph and not as high as you have mentioned.

I use MapmyIndia Vx 140, and have compared the speeds shown there against my speedo for long highway drives. In my Palio, surprisingly the speedo is very accurate (less than 1% error)! However, in my SX4, the error is high. SX4 shows a constant error of about 5 kmph (higher speed on speedo than GPS).

When in doubt, I would trust my GPS speed more than the speedo of the SX4. However, if you are using cell phone based GPS, then I am not sure what the accuracy of that is.
Dr.AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In Dash GPS/Audio Receiver mav2000 In-Car Entertainment 16 1st April 2010 20:25
How to configure MireoPC edition with USB GPS receiver contactme27 Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 4th November 2009 21:56
Fully loaded Car receiver morphean In-Car Entertainment 20 26th July 2009 13:19
How To Use A Qstarz BT-Q1000P GPS Receiver with Ubuntu? Sankar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 1st December 2008 20:05


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:13.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks