Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th April 2014, 08:58   #16
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 48
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Instrument Cluster display failure - Ford Figo

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
This is daylight robbery. Not at all accepted and how can RSA charge if the work done is not successful?! Do they expect customers to be stranded on the road? Unbelievable!

...

How long does it take for the engine to start when you twist the key?

Anurag.
I think what they meant was even if they are not able to fix the issue on site, they may just call for towing and I would have to pay for both, the RSA visit and the towing.

The engine would not crank at all. Blank cranks. Seemed like there was no current available at all. When the cluster lit up in between, the engine fired as normal, within a second. Looks like a contact issue, hence the intermittent nature of the problem. Couldn't be a blown fuse, could it?

Have given the car to Ford Service. Hope to have the issue resolved by today.
RobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2014, 09:15   #17
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: India
Posts: 9,364
Thanked: 13,338 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobC View Post
The engine would not crank at all. Blank cranks. Seemed like there was no current available at all. When the cluster lit up in between, the engine fired as normal, within a second. Looks like a contact issue, hence the intermittent nature of the problem. Couldn't be a blown fuse, could it?
Wiring us getting in contact with each other so it us shorting so no cracking power there. The starter motor pulls huge amount of electricity from the battery so no other electrical load should be there at that time and even if such load is given the supply is cut-off till engine starts. I guess it is to protect the electricals system due to surge in power.

Another suspect is, could be water/moisture in the wiring that could be playing havoc here.

Please update the thread as to what Ford has to say.

Anurag.

Last edited by a4anurag : 8th April 2014 at 09:39.
a4anurag is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2014, 09:26   #18
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 48
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Instrument Cluster Failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post

Please update the thread as to what Ford has to say.

Anurag.
Got the car back. A case of loose coupling was the diagnosis and was rectified. Driven for a couple of days and faced no issues since.

Only regret was having called RSA when the issue cropped up initially. Fixing the issue at Ford Service cost way less than the RSA charges for basically asking me to get the battery checked. Duh.
RobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Used Parts (Instrument cluster- dials) ..? gary_yuen42 Modifications & Accessories 38 9th April 2014 13:31
can the colour of the in dash instrument cluster lights be changed??? mclaren1885 Modifications & Accessories 23 22nd August 2009 16:04
Is it possible to change the instrument cluster display? passion4cars Modifications & Accessories 41 15th March 2009 22:54
Palio Instrument Cluster etchemkay Modifications & Accessories 13 6th April 2007 14:11
Instrument cluster light change nikibusa Motorbikes 7 10th September 2005 09:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:57.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks