Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff

Old 30th October 2013, 13:29   #1
BHPian

Default Why can't manufacturers build "perfect" cars?

Disclaimer: I'm just trying to pool up all my queries and thoughts about our current Indian car scene. I don't intend to support/oppose any car/manufacturer. These are just my opinions, and no offense to anyone please. Also, as I'm a Newbie here, MODS, please merge/shift to the right place if this topic is irrelevant here.

My feeling about Car Manufacturers:

I keep reading lot of car reviews in Team-BHP and I have always wondered, if a particular car excels in one area, it definitely fails to impress in some other. If we want to have something, we have to compromise on something. Though it is a universal saying, why should it have to be that way? I always wonder if there is any single manufacturer who designs and produces a car from his heart rather than from a business mind which focuses on how he can achieve the annual target revenue.

I totally understand that this is a highly competitive business world and no one is here to do charity. But, if built with a proper care, with heart & soul into it, with an aim to deliver the best to the end consumer, in every single aspect, wouldn't we prefer that car even if costs a 30-50k more than its competition? Are they missing the point that if they can deliver a better quality product even with lesser margins, the rise in sales would compensate the profit?

Reasons behind this feeling:

If we glance through our official reviews, one can find many flaws in a particular car - right from serious weaknesses like engine power, handling etc to small yet significant things. Some of the best examples I can quote are:

Inconsistent panel gaps - Does the workers charge the company more for fitting the panels uniformly? Or lack of attention to detail?or taking the consumers for granted? I need not quote examples here, many cars from almost every manufacturer come under this category.