Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th June 2006, 12:52   #1
BHPian
 
dnaturallywired's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 28
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Tuning for K&N?

Hi Guys

Does my K & N performance filter needs a tunning for a better performance?? I drive an Esteem LXI which is an year old.Heard it through some guys that cars has to be tuned in differently for the K&N to fire up..Myth or Fact?? please advice
dnaturallywired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2006, 15:26   #2
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

U would need to reset the ECU i think after fitting the K&N filter.
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2006, 18:21   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
mail4ajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,834
Thanked: 222 Times
Default

Is your car MPFI? If yes, It will tune on its own. From what I understandThe ECU will calculate the air intake and supply more fuel.

Soemone correct me if I am wrong.
mail4ajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2006, 18:32   #4
BHPian
 
Ford Rocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai-India
Posts: 880
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Nothing doing, just make sure filter placement is away from heat source.
Ford Rocam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2006, 21:41   #5
BHPian
 
dustDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Surat/Pune
Posts: 155
Thanked: Once
Default

What if its a carb. engine.... will i hav 2 change the air setting or open my carb a bit.....? or i need to do nothing but get the K&N installed!?
dustDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2006, 21:54   #6
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnaturallywired
Hi Guys

Does my K & N performance filter needs a tunning for a better performance?? I drive an Esteem LXI which is an year old.Heard it through some guys that cars has to be tuned in differently for the K&N to fire up..Myth or Fact?? please advice
No , I dont think so.
Its just a filter its not forcing extra air into your system..its not like some forced induction system like turbo or supercharger...
It is just helping your engine to suck in air more freely without restriction as per the requirement of the ECU. If you are running a normally aspirated stock engine with a KnN you dont need to worry.
Just try to install it in such a way as other BHPians said.. as far as possible away from heat source.
Maybe as a side precaution you may need to reset the ECU once by disconnecting the battery terminals for a short period... just to make sure the ECU starts calculating the parameters again

Last edited by chetanhanda : 30th June 2006 at 21:57.
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2006, 23:52   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
humyum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leicester/Mumbai
Posts: 2,306
Thanked: 2,188 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chetanhanda
No , I dont think so.
Its just a filter its not forcing extra air into your system..its not like some forced induction system like turbo or supercharger...
It is just helping your engine to suck in air more freely without restriction as per the requirement of the ECU. If you are running a normally aspirated stock engine with a KnN you dont need to worry.
Just try to install it in such a way as other BHPians said.. as far as possible away from heat source.
Maybe as a side precaution you may need to reset the ECU once by disconnecting the battery terminals for a short period... just to make sure the ECU starts calculating the parameters again
Exactly dude as chetanhanda said u need to reset the ecu after installing the K&N air filter.Reset it by removing the negative terminal of the battery for about 15 to 20 seconds and then fix it.Start the car and let it idle for about a minute or so.This will let the ecu detect that more air is comming in because of the K&N and thus it will supply more fuel and increase in power.U can easily notice the difference in the way your car moves after resetting the ECU after fixing the K&N
humyum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2006, 00:10   #8
Jay
BHPian
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 819
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by humyum
Exactly dude as chetanhanda said u need to reset the ecu after installing the K&N air filter.Reset it by removing the negative terminal of the battery for about 15 to 20 seconds and then fix it.Start the car and let it idle for about a minute or so.This will let the ecu detect that more air is comming in because of the K&N and thus it will supply more fuel and increase in power.U can easily notice the difference in the way your car moves after resetting the ECU after fixing the K&N
Or as soon as you reset the ECU, instead of idling, you can take it for a quick spin.... drive it a little fast during the first 2-4 kms and later enjoy the extra power you get from the K&N install...
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2006, 09:38   #9
BHPian
 
COUGAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 538
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay
Or as soon as you reset the ECU, instead of idling, you can take it for a quick spin.... drive it a little fast during the first 2-4 kms and later enjoy the extra power you get from the K&N install...
Do we really need to ride a little fast for the first few kms?

I thought the ECU always did the initial recalibration based on parameters at idle rpm?? Can anyone confirm?
COUGAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2006, 09:51   #10
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Resetting teh ECU is done by disconnecting teh battry for 15min and reconnecting it and then driving for couple of kms. WHy? this way teh ECU understands/trains itself your driving style and adjusts to that way
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2006, 23:15   #11
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

1] All ECU' are not the same. (a)Some use predefined lookup tables or (b)some do calculations at runtime to find out the values based on the inputs by various sensors.
2] Why we are saying that it is better to drive the car fast and not just idle it in neutral is to ensure the car is not cold and the ECU is in closed loop. Because if it is idling and if engine is cold ECU is in open loop i.e will basically not base its calculations on input sensors e.g. narrowband 02 sensor in the exhaust, Engine temp,Intake 02 amount, crank sensor, TPs. Basically ecu simply pushes rich mix to the engine and doesn't think necessary to ask the sensors.
3] When you are driving the car for some time ECU will go into closed loop and will start calculating/recalibrating based on all the sensors and start modifying the various parameters of the engine.At this stage it will detect larger amounts of 02 and maybe if its smart enough understand the increase of O2. Basically drive the car thrpughout the rev ange
4] Also note that at WOT i.e full throttle the ECU will again go into open loop so sensor input will be bypassed, this again is dependant on the type of ECU
5] In short just drive the car fast but not at full throttle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by COUGAR
Do we really need to ride a little fast for the first few kms?
Regarding your 1st question.. I think the above would answer your question, dont get into more details

Quote:
Originally Posted by COUGAR
I thought the ECU always did the initial recalibration based on parameters at idle rpm?? Can anyone confirm?
Depends on temperature of car and also what is there to calibrate at idle ?
I dont think at idle rpm the ECU calibration is done
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2006, 23:16   #12
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
Resetting teh ECU is done by disconnecting teh battry for 15min and reconnecting it and then driving for couple of kms. WHy? this way teh ECU understands/trains itself your driving style and adjusts to that way
Plz explain how does it adapt to your driving style ? Are you referring to Aston Martins or BMW's ? which Indian car actually adapts to your driving style and how ?
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 17:53   #13
BHPian
 
dnaturallywired's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 28
Thanked: 2 Times
Wink Thanks all

Thanks for all the advice guys.. Also is it advisable to set the ECU myself or do you think the mechanic has a good hand? Also my car is an MPFI, and as adviced will drive it for couple of Kms fast after the ECU is reset.

Psst: WHAT DOES ECU STAND FOR?? )) I really need to know as am not good at car mechanics!!
dnaturallywired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 19:17   #14
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chetanhanda


Plz explain how does it adapt to your driving style ? Are you referring to Aston Martins or BMW's ? which Indian car actually adapts to your driving style and how ?
You knw what I meant right? AFter a reset, teh ECU will need new parameters which it learns when you drive.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2006, 19:30   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,373
Thanked: 22,589 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnaturallywired
Thanks for all the advice guys.. Also is it advisable to set the ECU myself or do you think the mechanic has a good hand?
Basic ECM Resetting

ECM = Engine Control Module
ECU = Engine Control Unit

or similar

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spider Diesel Tuning Box VS. Pete's Tuning Box - Spider Box feedback on pg 2 Endeavour333 Modifications & Accessories 130 11th September 2017 01:24
Santro ICE - Installation & Tuning Queries nura In-Car Entertainment 233 7th August 2017 12:44
Tuning Box versus Remaps (Diesel tuning) Ravveendrra Modifications & Accessories 122 15th June 2017 08:24
Scorpio diesel pump timing and tuning for best performance & economy MB-Sting Technical Stuff 7 15th February 2009 05:10
The Dawn of Turbo Diesel Tuning in INDIA - Pete's Tuning Box turboindia Modifications & Accessories 108 17th April 2006 12:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:20.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks