Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff

Old 10th April 2014, 00:24   #1
BHPian

Exclamation Mercedes E280 CDI: Jerky with heavy throttle inputs

Hello everyone,

I am new to Team-Bhp and would like bring to your notice the problem I am having with my Mercedes.

I have a Mercedes-Benz E 280 CDI (2007 model) and from the past few months whenever I accelerate my car a little hard (more than half throttle), it starts jerking very badly as if it were continuosly shifting gears and sometimes the turbo-charger stops working causing a huge loss of power. The turbo-charger is revived only after the car is switched off for a few hours.

Though the car is fine most of the times, it is very annoying when I want to drive a little fast as I have certain expectations from a V6 monster.

If anyone else has faced a similar problem or knows a solution, please help.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Rehaan : 10th April 2014 at 18:10. Reason: Adding line spaces for readability.
Naman_Ferrari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2014, 12:34   #2
Team-BHP Support

Default re: Mercedes E280 CDI: Jerky with heavy throttle inputs

Quite possible that your car is slipping into failsafe mode hence turbo cutting off to restrict damage.
It sounds like poor fuel flow, might be time to change the injectors. A diagnostic check will reveal the fault code
ajmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2014, 18:13   #3
Team-BHP Support

Naman_Ferrari,

To be honest, i think you are jumping to conclusions about the gearbox and turbocharger.

The issue could be something completely different.

If it is a consistent and easily noticeable issue, do start by having a mechanic look at it.

Unfortunately, your car is out of warranty. It is best you get an experienced mechanic to take a look, and perhaps back it up by getting a second opinion too.

cya
R
Rehaan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2014, 18:16   #4
Distinguished - BHPian