Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th December 2015, 13:14   #316
Senior - BHPian
 
dkaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Meerut, India
Posts: 2,721
Thanked: 3,240 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

What are the common mods that one does to these VAG cars once you receive this cable?

Only one that comes to my mind right now is to disable the seat-belt chime. Rest, most can already be done through the MID settings in the Superb.
dkaile is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2015, 13:17   #317
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 13,784
Thanked: 16,927 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
Only one that comes to my mind right now is to disable the seat-belt chime. Rest, most can already be done through the MID settings in the Superb.
There are lots of mods that can be done with the VCDS. Check threads by robimahanta and others for details.

But why would anyone want to disable the seat belt chime? I did not get this part?
Vid6639 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2015, 13:25   #318
Senior - BHPian
 
dkaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Meerut, India
Posts: 2,721
Thanked: 3,240 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vid6639 View Post
But why would anyone want to disable the seat belt chime? I did not get this part?
Because everyone has got different preferences . Personally I find the chime a irritant for the few seconds it takes me to put the seat-belt on. The light should suffice as a reminder.
dkaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2015, 14:00   #319
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,353
Thanked: 8,055 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
Personally I find the chime a irritant for the few seconds it takes me to put the seat-belt on. The light should suffice as a reminder.
You can disable the bluetooth on/off chime as well if that is enabled from the factory.

Two from the top of my head - Enabling refuel quantity to be displayed on the MFD (link (VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread)) and changing number of flashes for the lane change indicator (first post).

How about rain closing? Does it show in the convenience menu on the Superb?
Gannu_1 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2015, 14:03   #320
Senior - BHPian
 
dkaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Meerut, India
Posts: 2,721
Thanked: 3,240 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
How about rain closing? Does it show in the convenience menu on the Superb?
Rain closing is already there in the menu. How about displaying the Oil Level as it does in the Audis? It only displays the Oil temperature.
dkaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2015, 14:05   #321
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,353
Thanked: 8,055 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
Rain closing is already there in the menu. How about displaying the Oil Level as it does in the Audis? It only displays the Oil temperature.
Worth a shot if your engine sump has the oil temperature sensor installed. Check out this Briskoda link.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 16th December 2015 at 14:08.
Gannu_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2015, 14:25   #322
Senior - BHPian
 
Chethan B G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,371
Thanked: 638 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
Enabling refuel quantity to be displayed on the MFD
Hi Ganesh, Does this really help?

I had activated it. Did not find it accurate at all. Therefore, deactivated..
Chethan B G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2015, 14:29   #323
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,353
Thanked: 8,055 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chethan B G View Post
Hi Ganesh, Does this really help?

I had activated it. Did not find it accurate at all. Therefore, deactivated..
Not very accurate but doesn't hurt to have an extra bit of info on the MFD that already provides so much.
Gannu_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2015, 19:19   #324
Senior - BHPian
 
dkaile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Meerut, India
Posts: 2,721
Thanked: 3,240 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
Worth a shot if your engine sump has the oil temperature sensor installed. Check out this Briskoda link.
That link only talks about the Oil Temperature which is already being displayed in my Superb. What I am talking is the Oil Level a la Audi -

Name:  IMG_36432528Small2529.JPG
Views: 957
Size:  19.6 KB

If there is any way to activate this, do let me know.

Cheers...
dkaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2015, 01:11   #325
Senior - BHPian
 
Tanveer_2558's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,305
Thanked: 1,236 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chethan B G View Post
Hi Ganesh, Does this really help?

I had activated it. Did not find it accurate at all. Therefore, deactivated..
Hi chethan,
Helps me atleast, It shows in the multiples of 5, Still i can get an idea how many litres the car would gulp in while refueling at a pump, How did you not find it accurate at all?
Tanveer_2558 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2015, 06:34   #326
Senior - BHPian
 
graaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 1,027
Thanked: 1,612 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chethan B G View Post
I had activated it...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanveer_2558 View Post
Hi chethan,
Helps me atleast, It shows in the multiples of 5, Still i can get an idea how many litres the car would gulp in while refueling at a pump...
Hi Chethan, Tanveer,

Can you point me to the module where I can enable this option in VCDS?
graaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2015, 10:15   #327
BHPian
 
allien936's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 92
Thanked: 71 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Bought this from ebay at Rs. - 2500/-

Link - http://www.ebay.in/itm/HEX-USB-CAN-I...MAAOSw37tV-T6b
Quality of the wire is really good for a first copy. Even comes with a CD of the software. Cable and software both are of version 14.10.2
Tried a few codings. Cleared previous fault codes. Good so far.

VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread-img_20151204_165637.jpg

VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread-img_20151204_165701.jpg
allien936 is offline   (4) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2015, 13:53   #328
Senior - BHPian
 
Tanveer_2558's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,305
Thanked: 1,236 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by graaja View Post
Hi Chethan, Tanveer,



Can you point me to the module where I can enable this option in VCDS?

Hello! As faar as i can recall,

Its in the Instrument cluster > Adaptation > refuel quantity.

Just enable it.
Tanveer_2558 is online now   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2015, 20:01   #329
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: bangalore
Posts: 37
Thanked: 14 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Hello. I installed PLA 2.0 on my car. I need access to a ross-tech cable to code the modules. Could any good Samaritan in bangalore lend his cable? If not, could you point me to someone who can rent out the cable? I stay in HSR layout.

Thanks
karthikpra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2015, 00:47   #330
Senior - BHPian
 
Tanveer_2558's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,305
Thanked: 1,236 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by karthikpra View Post
Hello. I installed PLA 2.0 on my car. I need access to a ross-tech cable to code the modules. Could any good Samaritan in bangalore lend his cable? If not, could you point me to someone who can rent out the cable? I stay in HSR layout.

Thanks
Original ross-tech cable would be hard to find, You can always opt for a clone one available online cheaply. By the way, Which car did you install the pla 2.0?
Tanveer_2558 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vag-com (VCDS) and Passat B7 exhaustpipe Technical Stuff 9 25th June 2016 16:04
Technical and diagnostic Guide: Hyundai's HVAC systems sidindica Technical Stuff 54 20th May 2016 13:04
Bangalore Meet: VCDS tweaks for VW & Skoda cars psuraj The Team-BHP Meet Section 52 26th January 2015 16:41
Affordable ODB Display & Diagnostic Tools (eg. GReddy Informeter, ELM 327, etc) dot Modifications & Accessories 33 12th March 2013 22:44
Android based Engine Perfomance/Diagnostic Tool SudhanshuSD Technical Stuff 3 2nd December 2010 16:10


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:48.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks