Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st June 2016, 16:11   #376
BHPian
 
sivasain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 34
Thanked: 38 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanveer_2558 View Post
Can you let us all know some more information about it? Which car did you did this on and how, Would be really helpful specially for those parents who have given their young kids a german car.
I did it on my Polo GT TSI. Using the OBDEleven Tool. http://obdeleven.blogspot.in

Go to Engine -> Adaptations -> There are two speeds limits here. Both set to 250. Change the UserLimit to whatever speed you want and apply.

If anyone else wants to check if their engine supports it, we can meet up and I can check.
sivasain is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 18:40   #377
Senior - BHPian
 
Tanveer_2558's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,308
Thanked: 1,247 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivasain View Post
I did it on my Polo GT TSI. Using the OBDEleven Tool. http://obdeleven.blogspot.in

Go to Engine -> Adaptations -> There are two speeds limits here. Both set to 250. Change the UserLimit to whatever speed you want and apply.

If anyone else wants to check if their engine supports it, we can meet up and I can check.

Thats great, Thanks for the information i will check it on my jetta and will post here too, Also Anyone was able check their brake light flashing on the jetta? I had to brake hard in the night few days back and i really did not think the brake lights were flashing.
Tanveer_2558 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2016, 20:44   #378
BHPian
 
sivasain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 34
Thanked: 38 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanveer_2558 View Post
Thats great, Thanks for the information i will check it on my jetta and will post here too, Also Anyone was able check their brake light flashing on the jetta? I had to brake hard in the night few days back and i really did not think the brake lights were flashing.
I enabled that and hazard lights flashing on Polo. The hazard light flashing did work once on the highway i had have to brake from 90-10 for a speed breaker. I cannot see my own breaklights, so not sure if that works.
sivasain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2016, 23:45   #379
Senior - BHPian
 
Tanveer_2558's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,308
Thanked: 1,247 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivasain View Post
I enabled that and hazard lights flashing on Polo. The hazard light flashing did work once on the highway i had have to brake from 90-10 for a speed breaker. I cannot see my own breaklights, so not sure if that works.
Yes it works with Polo, A couple of my other friends too confirmed it, Its only during night time if the surrounding is not very well lit when you can see in your rear view mirror if the brake light is flashing, I had tried to check it a couple of times and had to brake hard a couple of times but never i think the brake lights flashed in my jetta.
Tanveer_2558 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2016, 10:11   #380
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: bangalore
Posts: 55
Thanked: 27 Times
Talking Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by kishore1984 View Post
ok, the car(VW POLO Diesel Comfortline) isn't delivered yet but I am biting the bullet anyway, can someone confirm if this seller is worth the risk -

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/VAG-C...5-b9a08489b8a4
with a wide grin from left to right, I can confirm that the cable works like a charm

Started off with lane blink changes from 3 to 5 followed by lock and unlock confirmation sound(I park my car outside so the sound doesn't feel so loud)
Next would be cluster staging followed by hazard lights and more

thanks
kk
kishore1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2016, 11:19   #381
Senior - BHPian
 
itwasntme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 1,836
Thanked: 870 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

For those using non original software and cable, are you all switching off anti virus during installation and running??!
itwasntme is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2016, 11:41   #382
Senior - BHPian
 
graaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 1,031
Thanked: 1,615 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
For those using non original software and cable, are you all switching off anti virus during installation and running??!
Nope. I am not switching off antivirus. I just turn off WiFi so that there is no internet connection.
graaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2016, 22:28   #383
BHPian
 
BigBrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: KL - 7
Posts: 152
Thanked: 118 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Thanks to the monsoons, I got a chance to test this feature which I had activated long time back:
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBrad View Post
-Speed dependent wiping frequency of front wipers
It works like this:
The wiping speed reduces by one level when the car slows down to less than 5kmph and returns to the originally set speed when the speed is above 5kmph. If the wiper stalk is in the uppermost position (highest speed), the wiping speed reduces to the next lower level when the car slows down to 5kmph or less and returns to the original speed when the car goes above 5kmph. Similarly, if the wiper stalk is set to the 2nd position, the wiping speed changes to intermittent mode when the car is below 5kmph and is restored to the original speed on crossing 5kmph. However, please do note that it does not turn off the wiper completely when the car comes to a halt, no matter which position the stalk is set.
It is located in Central Electronics -> Coding -> Long Coding Helper -> Byte 14 -> Bit 7. Here's a screenshot posted by robimahanta from the first page of this thread for reference:
Name:  VCDSwipers.jpg
Views: 755
Size:  79.8 KB

Last edited by BigBrad : 11th June 2016 at 22:29.
BigBrad is online now   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2016, 00:19   #384
Senior - BHPian
 
Tanveer_2558's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,308
Thanked: 1,247 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
For those using non original software and cable, are you all switching off anti virus during installation and running??!
I don't switch off anything, Its recommended to switch off the internet while you install the software though, Even though its just to be sure nothing goes wrong, I haven't had an issue ever with an antivirus or an active internet connection.
Tanveer_2558 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 13:51   #385
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: bangalore
Posts: 55
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

It looks like rear comfort wiping doesn't work using a 12.12.0 cable, when I try to do it via adaptation, it never lets me save the new value, it stays grayed out.

any alternates to this ?
kishore1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2016, 14:09   #386
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Pune
Posts: 46
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanveer_2558 View Post
Yes, Reinstall it step by step, You'll get that error if you haven't installed the software properly, All the best.
Done. Somehow it wouldnt work on Win 7 even though it the seller mentions it to. Waited for a few weeks until my Laptop was upgraded to Win10 Pro. Re-installed VCDS 15.7 as instructed and voila..!!! It worked straight away on my Vento without any issues.

So yes, the clone cable worked for me. The seller was kind enough to send me a download link for the software since my laptop has a Slot-in DVD player which does not allow me to work with mini-CD's (the one that was shipped with the cable)

Thanks.
Mitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2016, 00:22   #387
Senior - BHPian
 
McLaren Rulez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mysore
Posts: 2,284
Thanked: 341 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Perhaps this has been asked before but I came across this post that claims that VW Polo's steering assist level can be modified using VCDS. It is a common complaint among Polo owners that the steering is overassisted.

Curious to know if anyone has tried this on their Polo.
McLaren Rulez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2016, 00:33   #388
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mlore/Kasaragod
Posts: 1,492
Thanked: 2,240 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

I want to know if there is anything similar for cars from other manufacturers ? VCDS is so helpful when one goes to remap any VAG car. It shows exact torque, EGT (Exhaust Gas Temperature) etc.
Dr.Naren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2016, 21:17   #389
BHPian
 
sivasain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 34
Thanked: 38 Times
Default Re: VCDS (Vag-Com Diagnostic System) for VW & Skoda - Discussion Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by McLaren Rulez View Post
Perhaps this has been asked before but I came across this post that claims that VW Polo's steering assist level can be modified using VCDS. It is a common complaint among Polo owners that the steering is overassisted.

Curious to know if anyone has tried this on their Polo.
I have tried doing this. The steering module does not seem to have the same coding. I did find an option to turn off active return, but that needed the security password. Does anyone have that for the Indian polo ?
sivasain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 19:33   #390
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: India
Posts: 327
Thanked: 73 Times
Default

Hi

I tried to enable staging through VCDS on my polo highline, 2016 model but kept getting errors. I see that lots of bhpians have got it enabled on their polo so can anyone guide me with the process and the plausible reason for the error.
torque18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vag-com (VCDS) and Passat B7 exhaustpipe Technical Stuff 9 25th June 2016 16:04
Technical and diagnostic Guide: Hyundai's HVAC systems sidindica Technical Stuff 54 20th May 2016 13:04
Bangalore Meet: VCDS tweaks for VW & Skoda cars psuraj The Team-BHP Meet Section 52 26th January 2015 16:41
Affordable ODB Display & Diagnostic Tools (eg. GReddy Informeter, ELM 327, etc) dot Modifications & Accessories 33 12th March 2013 22:44
Android based Engine Perfomance/Diagnostic Tool SudhanshuSD Technical Stuff 3 2nd December 2010 16:10


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks