Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff

Old 8th August 2006, 09:52   #1
BHPian

Default At what age does an engine start performing at its peak?

I drive a 2002 800. Its done 51000km and while its suspension seems to have become a little weak and the clutch is not in its best condition ever, the engine feels and sounds better than ever. Which makes me wonder -"When does an engine really come into its own?" And from the look of things, it will easily outlast all the other parts of my car by decades. Of course, I am a sedate driver and have never pushed this baby over 110kmph, but if one really wishes to enjoy one's car, does one need to get a car that also has the rest of the body and suspension also built to last? I for one feel at home in a car that I have driven for years.
That means I should get a 1.6 Petra or a Palio or an Ikon and find a good mechanic to live happily ever after? What say the Team?
prabuddhadg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 10:46   #2
GTO
Team-BHP Support

From my experience with cars, until 10000 kms the engine is just okay. Onto 20000 kms, she is good. Butttttttttttttt the best are engines around the 40000 km+ mark and which have run on Mobil1. These love to be revved all day!
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 11:20   #3
BHPian

I have not paid too much attention to engine oil. Of course I have it changed every 5000km and I use Maruti recommended oil, but these new synthetics would definitely work better. But it makes me sad to think that now that my engine is at its best, the rest of the car no longer is.
Old 8th August 2006, 11:21   #4
Distinguished - BHPian

The first 10K-15K kms is when any manufacturing defect will show up. This period would also be when the engine settles down. Post this, the engine should be at it's best. How long it remains there would depend on how one drives.
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 11:57   #5
SLK
Senior - BHPian

Quote: