Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th August 2006, 20:59   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default Shift-light installation

Hey,

I want to install only a shift light. Is it possible to use any bulb/LED? Can someone tell me how to actuate the light at the desired shift point?

Thanks
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 21:14   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
veyron1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,426
Thanked: 37 Times
Default

There are dedicated shift lights from autometer. You get a programmer and remote/input to set the shift point.

If you meant locally, I'm afraid there aren't many home-made kits out there. One way to do it would be to install a bulb in the dash, and take a spliced input from the ECM such that the bulb lights up when you hit the rev-limiter. Two disadvantages, though.

A) You can't change the shift point, and
B) You're messing up the OEM harness-for the sake of experimentation that MAY or MAY NOT work.

Here's the link to the Autometer shift light section...

http://www.autometer.com/cat_accessories.aspx?sid=31
veyron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 21:15   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XtremeG
i have installed only a shift light in my baleno,it already has a tach in the dash. you can wire it to your orignal rpm meter in the dash. open the instrument cluster and connect the wires in parallel to the stock RPM.
found this on another thread i bumped
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...autometer.html (AutoGuage Vs AutoMeter)
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 23:44   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

May actually need a physical feathertouch switch on the needle, methinks.

Don't the meters work off increased current flow? If so, one should be able to use a bulb or LED that lights up only with a particular current rating.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 23:52   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Ok, update... Auto Meter sells just a shift light with "pills". They appear to be some sort of resistors which do something so that the thing lights up at the desired rpm. So if you want 10,000 rpm, you put a 10,000 rpm pill into the standalone shift light.

Any ideas on how to implement this?
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 14:10   #6
BHPian
 
Harrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: KA 03, KL 12, TN 38
Posts: 699
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Ok, I have figured out how to do a DIY thingy for this. Works reasonably well. I tried setting up 7800 rpm limit. When I hit that limit some 10 bright blue LEDs start flashing.
Harrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 14:24   #7
BHPian
 
quicksilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 455
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrie View Post
Ok, I have figured out how to do a DIY thingy for this. Works reasonably well. I tried setting up 7800 rpm limit. When I hit that limit some 10 bright blue LEDs start flashing.
Congrats Harrie. Looks like you are putting your classes on Embedded systems to good use.

Does the shift-point stay same for all gears? stupid question, I know, but is there a way we can control the shifting point for each gear so we get the optimum shift point for all gears.
quicksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 14:33   #8
BHPian
 
Harrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: KA 03, KL 12, TN 38
Posts: 699
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

The shift point can be set as needed. Working on that still. As of now it can be changed only when the car is switched off.

Let me see about the gears part. But why do you need separate shifting points? I shift at 8000 rpm in all the gears
Harrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 14:39   #9
BHPian
 
sbasak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CCU-LTN
Posts: 607
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

What's the point of fitting a shift light?

You can always decide when to shift from RPM.

Or I'm missing something?
sbasak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 14:57   #10
BHPian
 
Harrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: KA 03, KL 12, TN 38
Posts: 699
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

When you are driving very fast and shifting at the red line you cant afford to take your eyes off the road or hit the rev limiter.

Some people shift exactly at the red line by listening to the engine note, but I prefer having a visual prompt telling me when to shift.
Harrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 15:18   #11
BHPian
 
crazydiablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore/San Francisco
Posts: 854
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Do you get the autometer shift lights in our accerories shops? is it popular.

Its very useful to have a shift light when u r draggin or out on the track. The shift light should ideally light up a few hundred rpms before the limiter. So with your reaction time counted in you are shifting just below the limiter.
crazydiablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 17:27   #12
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,748
Thanked: 89,371 Times
Default

Excellent idea v1p3r! I too would love to have *only* a shift light, for a pre-decided upshift point. Would look great...subtle yet serving the purpose.

Will watch this thread closely.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 18:21   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,469
Thanked: 19,377 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Excellent idea v1p3r! I too would love to have *only* a shift light, for a pre-decided upshift point. Would look great...subtle yet serving the purpose.

Will watch this thread closely.
hmmm, GTO i dont think you should watch it too closely as v1p3r posted this more than a year back. lol.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 18:36   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

http://www.hondaclub.com.ph/v4/diy1.php check this out for Shift-Light
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 18:54   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Haven't any of U seen this?
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...?do=big&p=3805
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrie
I shift at 8000 rpm in all the gears
U must be getting 5kpl.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable Shift vs Direct Shift Gearboxes BlackPearl Technical Stuff 14 15th September 2013 13:35
My DIY mesh grille and fog light installation ! Shakensoul DIY - Do it yourself 92 8th October 2010 13:30
Shift - Light Tachometer for Alto dsinz Modifications & Accessories 6 27th June 2008 16:05
For Sale: Autogauge 3'3/4"TACH 0-10,000 R.P.M. (W/SHIFT-LIGHT) s0uljah Shifting gears 12 19th September 2006 22:05
Tach With a shift light needed... Rice_tuner Modifications & Accessories 6 3rd January 2005 09:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks