Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th March 2006, 12:47   #31
BHPian
 
a4_attitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 442
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

hey dom!
that was really informative please put some light is this is possible if i try with Sera as am planning to put K&N next week ,, should I go for it??
cheers
W.A
a4_attitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2006, 16:14   #32
BHPian
 
shrivz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pune, MH12
Posts: 603
Thanked: 92 Times
Default

hey dom.. nice info u giving us... thnx...

wanted to ask u some stuff...
Im using a 2000 Baleno Sedan...
I've heard that the new Baleno's have more advanced ECUs (32bit) as per the BSIII norms...

1. I would like to know if i could reprogram my ECU for maximum performance?
2. If yes, which connectors do I use to make the cable? and from where can i get the software?
3. If not, how much would it approximately cost to upgrade my ECU?

thnx dom... ur information is really useful...
shrivz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2006, 18:39   #33
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Gr8 info DOM !!!

Recently my santro use to hyper ventilate when i used to switch on the AC. like the engine used revv up whenever the compressor would switch on, i was worried as all expenses go from my pocket and the car was nearing its third service so i took it to the Hyundai dealer in noida for the third service. Now this dealer is really sh|tty in all aspects but since its the only one in noida ... so anyway when i got the car back the problem was still there so before taking the delivery i showed it to the mechanic there he got a engine scanner (PDA sorta device) and plugged it into a serial port sorta jack near the bonnet lever and then i saw "Uploading" on the screen of the device. he didn't touch a screw neither did he open the bonnet and then AC was running as smooth as ever.

I was just wondering if there is a Santro aftermarket performance ECU around ?

is there such a thing ?
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 09:31   #34
Newbie
 
sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kuala lumpur
Posts: 12
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

sorry to bump this thread back up but i just wanted to say that with regards to resetting the ECU, for my optra, i was told to get the ECU to learn by performing it this way...
start, idle for 10sec, shut. Repeat.
then start, idle for 10sec, then put it in D for 10sec,then N and finally shut.

It is a little longer, but is there such a thing? for my previious car, i did what Dom said and it worked fine...
sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 09:58   #35
Newbie
 
sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kuala lumpur
Posts: 12
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

sorry... these were the steps...

[SIZE=4]Idle Learn Procedure [/SIZE]
Whenever the battery cables, the engine control module (ECM), or the ECM fuse is disconnected or replaced, the following idle learn procedure must be performed:
  1. Turn the ignition ON for 5 seconds.
  2. Turn the ignition OFF for 5 seconds.
  3. Turn the ignition ON for 5 seconds.
  4. Start the engine in park/neutral.
  5. Allow the engine to run until the engine coolant is above 185 F (85C ).
  6. Turn the A/C ON for 10 seconds, if equipped.
  7. Turn the A/C OFF for 10 seconds, if equipped.
  8. If the vehicle is equipped with an automatic transaxle, apply the parking brake. While pressing the brake pedal, place the transaxle in D (drive).
  9. Turn the A/C ON for 10 seconds, if equipped.
  10. Turn the A/C OFF for 10 seconds, if equipped.
  11. Turn the ignition OFF. The idle learn procedure is complete.
sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 17:07   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 6
Thanked: 0 Times
Unhappy ECM troubled

Hi Dominic,

i have been facing a lot of probs with my Honda City's Type 2 ecm,

the idle does not respond and sometimes it even falls below 200, specially when the A/C turns on,

i accidently met a guy in Mumbai who flashed the ROM but it still gives the same problem,

i do much hopping between Mumbai and Pune, the car gives me a variation in average starting from 9km/ltr to 18km/ltr at crusing speed(120km/ltr),

Can you please suggest something on this,
ashish.shenoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 21:07   #37
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 558
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aZa View Post
...i showed it to the mechanic there he got a engine scanner (PDA sorta device) and plugged it into a serial port sorta jack near the bonnet lever and then i saw "Uploading" on the screen of the device. he didn't touch a screw neither did he open the bonnet
Most probably he'd connected the engine scanner to the OBD port.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sage View Post
sorry to bump this thread back up but i just wanted to say that with regards to resetting the ECU, for my optra, i was told to get the ECU to learn by performing it this way...these were the steps...

[SIZE=4]Idle Learn Procedure [/SIZE]
Whenever the battery cables, the engine control module (ECM), or the ECM fuse is disconnected or replaced, the following idle learn procedure must be performed:
  1. Turn the ignition ON for 5 seconds.
  2. Turn the ignition OFF for 5 seconds.
  3. Turn the ignition ON for 5 seconds.
  4. Start the engine in park/neutral.
  5. Allow the engine to run until the engine coolant is above 185 F (85C ).
  6. Turn the A/C ON for 10 seconds, if equipped.
  7. Turn the A/C OFF for 10 seconds, if equipped.
  8. If the vehicle is equipped with an automatic transaxle, apply the parking brake. While pressing the brake pedal, place the transaxle in D (drive).
  9. Turn the A/C ON for 10 seconds, if equipped.
  10. Turn the A/C OFF for 10 seconds, if equipped.
  11. Turn the ignition OFF. The idle learn procedure is complete.
I haven't heard of this. But sounds advanced. May be a proper ECM calibration, like how after resetting the ECM, we drive sedately or fast to calibrate it. This sounds like a default method. Shall try this sometime. Thanks for posting this tho!

cya
A
Absar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 01:09   #38
BHPian
 
dmitri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 74
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashish.shenoy View Post
Hi Dominic,

i have been facing a lot of probs with my Honda City's Type 2 ecm,

the idle does not respond and sometimes it even falls below 200, specially when the A/C turns on,

i accidently met a guy in Mumbai who flashed the ROM but it still gives the same problem,

i do much hopping between Mumbai and Pune, the car gives me a variation in average starting from 9km/ltr to 18km/ltr at crusing speed(120km/ltr),

Can you please suggest something on this,
Have you tried cleaning the throttle body?
dmitri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 02:06   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
Randhawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,127
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

All the cars with OBD II are self learning ECU's. I have experienced when I give my car some beans then it performs very well on the rollers. It adapts from your driving style. If you drive like a nany then your car's performance would be slugish, you might feel your car is slow. When you reset your ecu, it changes the stored value and might idle a bit higher for a moment but if you wack it then it will get the new values and perform at its best. Increase in air does not means it will suck in loads of fuel as it will cause the lambda to suffer. It adjusts the timing and still delivers good mpg but it will be registering increase in air only when you are wacking the car and at that time you do need more fuel. If its feeding more fuel which isint getting burnt as lambda would register with ecu then the ecu will optimize the timing,fuel accordingly to deliver the best performance.

Thats the one of the downside of OBD II which cant cope up with increase in fuel and air as it has set parameters into it and the need to upgrade to standalone ECU's or piggy back ECU to control ignition,timing and fuel. Hence more easy to mod a OBD I car rather then OBD II
Randhawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 09:12   #40
BHPian
 
rohan_fonseca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Panaji
Posts: 984
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

How can we distinguish between obdI and obdII cars?
rohan_fonseca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 10:32   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 6
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

yes the whole of throttle body has beeb cleaned along with the sensors
ashish.shenoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 12:09   #42
BHPian
 
pawan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: auckland, new zealand
Posts: 867
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan_fonseca View Post
How can we distinguish between obdI and obdII cars?
by the shape a obd1 has a rectangular shape where as the obd2 goes in wards at the top .
pawan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 19:06   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
Randhawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,127
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

I think the pre 96 models were OBD 1 and post OBD II but thats the case in europe so not sure about the Asia.
Randhawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2007, 11:39   #44
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: m
Posts: 94
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

does any one sell ecu chips for honda vtec's
is it advisable to get a mod chip and does it make any difference or harm the engine life
malcolm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2007, 12:19   #45
BHPian
 
raajks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BLR
Posts: 578
Thanked: 117 Times
Default

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/members/rdkarthik.html

I am sure Karthik could help you on this.

::..TESTIMONIALS..::
raajks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resetting a Webasto Sunroof? sridhu Modifications & Accessories 2 27th March 2013 07:37
ECM Info for Phase 3 Baleno 1.6(should be similar for our version I hope) ECM Technical Stuff 15 10th February 2008 18:00
Palio Mods (TC, ECM, & Rear Disc Brake Conversion) sbfx Modifications & Accessories 37 25th May 2007 20:11
Cheers fm ECM ECM Introduce yourself 8 17th May 2006 23:20
Tuned ECM for Vtec?? jigarmuni Modifications & Accessories 9 14th September 2005 09:46


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:22.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks