Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th June 2004, 11:43   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 21
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

i wanted to know can we alter the speeds at which the gear shifts automatically in an automatic transmission

amit
shahmotors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 14:27   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,478 Times
Default

can be done ie change the shift point for auto tranny, has read on this somwhere, mods depend on the kind of gear box used..
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 14:41   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 213 Times
Default

what car are you talking about? Your Cielo? If so, well, I'm afraid its really too old a tranny, hence doesn't rely a lot on electronics, so any changes would probably cost way too much to make it viable. The best option would be to just manually shift down when you want a lil extra boost.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 15:17   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,478 Times
Default

manually shift down?? in cielo auto tranny??
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 15:29   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 213 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]manually shift down?? in cielo auto tranny??
what i mean is manually shift the lever to the 2nd or 3rd position in the gate. The tranny is a 4 speed. I'm not sure if there is a 3rd gear mark though, so in that case, shift to 2nd.

Also when starting, start with the lever in 1, then manually shift up to 2. this allows you to hold the gear for longer.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 15:36   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,478 Times
Default

wont blipping the throttle affect the same?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 15:52   #7
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,758
Thanked: 89,465 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]wont blipping the throttle affect the same?
Yeah I am pretty sure that the Cielo has a kickdown feature in its auto-transmission. Even the Zen and Esteem automatics had it.

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2004, 16:00   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Dippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 7,269
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Yes the kickdown feature is present in most automatics. To do it push the accelarator hard and the tranny will automatically shift down a gear giving you a real kick. Its usually done during overtaking or when u wanna floor the car . Gives a great engine rev sound as well. I do it many times.

Always remember. the faster the car is at the kick down the more you have to push the pedal harder . eg: kickdown shifting at 60 wont require you to push the pedal as much as you would if you were to travel at 80 and kicking down.

Cheers



Dippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2004, 23:24   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Hey,

Im not sure about the specifics of the cielo autobox, but it is quite likely that it does have setting to adjust when the gears change.
My W123 has a vaccum operated shift if i am not mistaken and i do remember finding a way to adjust the shift points but it was a long time ago and i cannot remember at the moment and am outta town!...
will get back to you,
have you tried asking at the service center?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 00:25   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (shahmotors @ June 07 2004,20:13)]I wanted to know can we alter the speeds at which the gear shifts automatically in an automatic transmission
I'm not sure if i really got what you're trying to say here.

Do you wanna alter the speed or the rpm at which the gear shifts.

Using different gear ratios will surely change the speeds at which the gears shift. TO change the rpm point, you might have to work on the engine ECM, if it has one.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2004, 13:22   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,478 Times
Default

its more basic a cielo tranny ie.. u will have to change the vicious coupling pre load.. gearing etc.. its a head ache.. better option get a junk manual tranny and plaonk it..
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SWIFT - Shifting to 2nd gear problem eflanker Technical Stuff 45 31st January 2009 16:49
Car banged. Gear shifting problem! maxbhp Technical Stuff 15 15th September 2007 12:48
Tachometer vs Engine sound. What do you prefer more while gear shifting? salilpawar1 The Indian Car Scene 74 25th April 2007 15:40
Future of gear shifting naveendhyani Technical Stuff 1 22nd April 2006 02:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:47.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks