Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th August 2004, 16:39   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Hey Guys,

A couple of days ago i was driving along marine drive in 4th gear at about 2000RPM and the accelerator pedal just went dead.... the car just held the revvs at 2000Rpm almost as if cruise control was on!
I downshifted and then the engine came back to life.

Again last nite i was driving along marine drive at exactly the same place, 2000Rpm again, and the same thing happened! Except this time it was more like the engine died than "cruise controlled". I downshifted and it was like engine braking rather than it comming back to life like last time. I switched off and started up immediately and it was fine.

Then once again on my way home it just died, except when i pressed the accelerator it would hold the speed, and when i left the accelerator is seemed to decelerate slightly.... if i pressed the clutch, the engine would still not respond to the accelerator.
Switched off, started up...all fine again.

Happened once more at worli sea face.

This sounds like a ECU problem to me.... maybe the humidity has fouled the system a bit
Its just the ignition that gets messed up IMO, it has only happened to me while the car is in motion... so luckily PS and brake booster (as well as all electricals) were functioning coz the engine was still turning.

I will check all the electricals for loose connections. Have booked a service appointment anyway,
but was just wondering if you guys had any better ideas or if you had ever heard of anything like this happening?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 16:51   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11,894
Thanked: 9,737 Times
Default

could be a sticky throttle body
ajmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 17:02   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,202
Thanked: 2,096 Times
Default

It could be water getting in due to the monsoons... Stop racing thru those puddles to splash water on the chix walking on the footpath *



Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 17:08   #4
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,753
Thanked: 89,436 Times
Default

Topic moved to Technical section

Just the fact that switching the car off and restarting solves the problem makes me believe that its an ECU issue.

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 17:48   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 212 Times
Default

hmmm....lets not leave out the paranormal! Since it happened at exactly the same place both times...maybe there is a strange magnetic force acting on a car which traverses that section of tarmac at exactly the engine RPM and speed as Rehaan's car was doing. This in turn would cause the unidentifiable magnetic field to interfere with the cars ECU, the brain if you will, causing the said problem.

OR

It could be an ECU problem

Rtech

P.s. it would help if you read the above post with the twilight zone soundtrack playing in the background!
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 19:07   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

LOL, i think Rehaans car is being watched by the "Third Kind". Careful Rehaan, soon you might have little green, big eyed , bald creatures running around yor place.

Like Rtech said, if it has happened at the same place, then there is a remote chance of some sort of magnetic or some other field acting on the ECU, but the question is, Y only Rehaan's Accent?? There must have been so many other cars with ECUs in them.

Or

it could be due to moisture, even my Vtec felt underpowered, had a lot of engine braking and throttle lag last week, when the weather was cold and rainy.
Yesterday, the sun broke out and the car is back to normal functioning. I feel the weather does affect the car in a way.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 19:14   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,477 Times
Default

moisture shouldnt ideally cause probs and thats one of the reason why ecu are accomodated inside the car.. sensors yup can get affected (theorotically).. but chances are less or u will be in trouble everytime after a pressure wash like the ol points m800 and fiat padminis... get ur car electricals and ecu checked thoroughly..
san ur prob can be a bad quality fuel or u getting bogged down in water collecting on the roads..
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 19:31   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,367
Thanked: 387 Times
Default

hey rehaan,

the cars asking u to floor the accelerator maan..... 4th gear at 2000 rpm..


it cud be the ecu acting up...but not due to rains..cud be loose wiring or some other problem...

cheers



normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 20:09   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Hey Ajmat,

Sticky throttle body... hmm....thats an interesting alternative to ECU problem, but i doubt it, because the engine is not firing at all.

GTO, oops....lol..i had that weird feeling when i posted that i shld be posting somewhere else...lol. Yup, i cant think of it being anything else other than a ECU problem as well...but was just wondering if anyone cld think of any other possibilities.

Rtech, i was SERIOUSLY considering that there was some strange sort of EMF at that point on marine drive!!.. i was gonna turn around and go back there and do the same thing same speed and same gear......but on my way it happened again so i gave up on that idea!

Jaggu, even though ECUs are inside the humidity has just been so high lately, so i just thought of that as a possible cause for what i am pretty sure is a ECU problem. About it being bad fuel, nope, theres absolutely no jerking or sputtering form the engine

Sahil, Shan2nu, N_C, well i havent been doing much splashing lately

Anyway, will let you guys know after my service (on wednesday 18th Aug 2004)... i wonder if their diagnostics system will be able to tell me anything...

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 20:14   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,477 Times
Default

ECUs are sealed units so chances of moisture getting inside are next to impossible, check sensor terminals and wiring thoroughly.. and bad fuel reply was for shan2nu.. lazy me typing lol
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 20:41   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Good point Jaggu.....

It is definitely an ignition related problem, i moved around everything electrical in the engine bay today, lets see what diff that makes. The reason ECU seems most apt is coz everything is fine after a "reboot" lol, but these things work in strange ways.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2004, 01:36   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Doesn't the Accent have a warning signal if anything goes wrong in the engine?? If that light isn't blinking then nothins wrong, unless ofcourse the light is fused out. LOL

Regards...
Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2004, 04:21   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
jesal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 2,322
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

rehaan i think i know wht u tlking bot. i got some chip changed as well. i forgot the name damn . it was cheap though. happ to me a cpl of times. i got it changed since it happ when i was on the expressway. scary shit. after i changed it works fine now.
jesal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2004, 11:25   #14
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,477 Times
Default

yup Rehaan.. if any of the sensors/inputs malfunction, the ecu has to be rebooted..
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2004, 17:55   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Jaggu @ Aug. 17 2004,09:55)]yup Rehaan.. if any of the sensors/inputs malfunction, the ecu has to be rebooted..
Ahh....i did not know that....
makes sense, but doesnt seem like a very good procedure though!! :P
Is it neccessary to restart the ECU in all cars if there is a sensor malfunction? Or can some ECUs resume on the fly?

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]i got some chip changed as well. i forgot the name damn
Hey Jesal, plz try n think, or atleast tell me the cost involved.. was it not covered underwarranty? and dont you have a CRDi ??
(Still waiting for ur XDAII review btw)

cya
R



Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Check Engine" light also indicates ECU "relearning" ? anandpadhye Technical Stuff 28 19th August 2017 09:54
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
What hangs on your Rear view Mirror IQBAL VEERJI Shifting gears 46 17th December 2010 23:32


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:26.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks