Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th October 2004, 01:51   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

Hey guys,
After allthese days talking abt strut braces ,when I came to know from the Automech site (www.automechexhausts.com),,the first thing that I did this Saturday was call up Ajay of automech.
As soon as it was confirmed ,I landed up in Parel and got one fitted in my car.when Automech is involved in something ,there is no doubt abt the quality.and before I know,its already been fitted,it took abt 15mins and rs1250 *to be fitted.
Wud post photos soon.
The handling has definitely improved ,but not something very much drastic .but u can feel the difference.
Maybe when I go on the NH17 or the Ankola rd,I will get to know the difference.
So,I am going to karnala tomorrow morning on the NH17,only to test my new mod.
Will let u all know .

Cya ,
Speedsatya.



speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2004, 02:01   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Hey, SS thats great news. But i just realised that, in the vtec the strut brace would end up directly above the airfilter cap. So what has to be done during services when the air filter needs to be removed and cleaned?

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]Maybe when I go on the NH17 or the Ankola rd,I will get to know the difference.
Boy, you can forget the Ankola road for now, the ghat sec is in a horrible state. Last time i drove through there, i had to drive at 20-30kmph in 2nd gear.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2004, 18:51   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

guys,
fitting a strut brace is real hazard.
when i fitted the free flow abt 3 years back,in the process of trying to disturb others or trying to hear the exhaust while keeping the driver door slightly open i had many near-misses.but luckily did not bang nto anyone.
now the same happened when i have fitted the strut brace.
the very next day that i fitted it ,i was off to the nh17 stretch till Pen.i narrowly missed an electric pole while taking a turn at 110+speeds .actually i was feeling that putting a brace wud make my car handle as if on rails.
the fact is that though the handling has definitely improved it is not something drastic.but with 2 people in the rear also there was a noticeable improvement .
but the fun factor has improved.

still i feel ,that everyone iwth wider tires shud go for it.

speedsatya
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2004, 18:54   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Shan2nu @ Oct. 24 2004,00:31)]. So what has to be done during services when the air filter needs to be removed and cleaned?

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]Maybe when I go on the NH17 or the Ankola rd,I will get to know the difference.
Boy, you can forget the Ankola road for now, the ghat sec is in a horrible state. Last time i drove through there, i had to drive at 20-30kmph in 2nd gear.

Shan2nu
het shan,
fitting a K&n can solve ur problem of cleaning .
[img]http://www.team-bhp.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/***.gif[/img] .V12 has just been to mangalore and he was saying the ankola rd is still good.
i am talking abt the NH63 via Yellapur.

speedsatya
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2004, 18:42   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

this a photo of my strut brace and the k&n .




speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2004, 23:25   #21
v12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
v12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 5,880
Thanked: 3,265 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]i am talking abt the NH63 via Yellapur.
Hey satya, isnt the Yellapur Road dangerous? I mean i've heard of lots robberies taking place on those roads. Thats why we avoided Yellapur and passed thru some place called Mundugud.
v12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2004, 15:00   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (v12 @ Oct. 30 2004,21:55)]
Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]i am talking abt the NH63 via Yellapur.
Hey satya, isnt the Yellapur Road dangerous? I mean i've heard of lots robberies taking place on those roads. Thats why we avoided Yellapur and passed thru some place called Mundugud.
v12,
[img]http://www.team-bhp.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/***.gif[/img]
for me the actual drive starts only after the toll booth i.e 4 kms from dharwad from where u take a left turn to go via kalghatki .
the yellapur road is not at all dangerous.it was notorious for its robberies,but now its pretty safe.if u start at 3-4am from mumbai ,u can do this stretch till ankola before 4pm.
actually while going to mangalore its for this stretch that i do 580kms from mumbai.
its heaven.
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2004, 09:18   #23
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 41
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Domnic,

Automech has not yet made one for an 800 yet, Could you post some desings and any details which i could forward to them to get one made.. Thanks.

Regds
kakx
kakx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2004, 14:32   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (kakx @ Nov. 05 2004,06:48)]Domnic,

Automech has not yet made one for an 800 yet, Could you post some desings and any details which i could forward to them to get one made.. Thanks.

Regds
kakx
hey kakx,
why dont u talk to automech now.
seems like they have it for every car.

satya
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2006, 19:50   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Informative thread, Thanks Satya, Dom, Shan2u & others.
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2006, 11:10   #26
BHPian
 
rareone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 256
Thanked: 11 Times
Question Why there is no need of Strut Braces in Santro

Yesterday i met the Automech guy (Vivek) he said there r no Strut braces for a Santro. Coz he never made any coz he says he doesnt feel the need of a Strut braces in a Santro.

I would like to know y there is no need of Strut braces in Santro.

Thanx. Enjoy Revving...
rareone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2006, 11:26   #27
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cockpit
Posts: 907
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Does automech had braces for Petra? does any one know whom to contact in Bangalore? Do they ship?

thanks in advance
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2006, 11:43   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC
Does automech had braces for Petra? does any one know whom to contact in Bangalore? Do they ship?

thanks in advance
Just go to their website and use the "contact us" link ot drop them a miail.. they respond immediately... which is a relief now a days!! ...

Their contact numbers are also on the website - just give them a shout
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2006, 12:54   #29
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cockpit
Posts: 907
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Thanks Just did it now!!
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2006, 12:59   #30
BHPian
 
EVO6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 488
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Well if anyone wants ajay's contact number please pm me.. I can furnish the same.
Cheers
EVO6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brace yourself - i'm going to bore you to death! IronH4WK Introduce yourself 18 23rd December 2009 21:21
Strut Brace for Baleno ? Anybody? eapen Modifications & Accessories 24 8th December 2009 16:22
Strut Brace on a Vtec ajmat Modifications & Accessories 25 16th August 2006 11:57
Strut Brace for a Palio? airfoil Modifications & Accessories 8 13th September 2005 12:04
SCOOP : Brace yourselves the Murcielago is coming !!!! Dippy Super-Cars & Imports in India 28 30th December 2004 21:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:55.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks