Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th July 2014, 08:04   #961
BHPian
 
nijelj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bangalore-Ktym
Posts: 340
Thanked: 283 Times
Default

Anyone had problems physically connecting the ELM OBD scanner to a Skoda fabia 1.2? Yesterday, my friend was complaining that he was not able to insert his scanner since the sides were fouling with the trim. My elm had a thinner outer cover, so we were able to insert. Torque pro worked but the fun2drive app couldn't connect.
nijelj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2014, 13:51   #962
BHPian
 
cr4nkshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 93
Thanked: 104 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by nijelj View Post
Anyone had problems physically connecting the ELM OBD scanner to a Skoda fabia 1.2? Yesterday, my friend was complaining that he was not able to insert his scanner since the sides were fouling with the trim. My elm had a thinner outer cover, so we were able to insert. Torque pro worked but the fun2drive app couldn't connect.
Did you connect to Torque PRO first? I have faced this issue on my Polo, if you connect to one app first, the other app fails to detect the adapter. Exit from Torque PRO, bounce the bluetooth, and try to connect with Fun2drive. It works for me in that manner in case of connection errors.
cr4nkshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2014, 14:17   #963
BHPian
 
Ahmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Aurangabad
Posts: 152
Thanked: 246 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Sorry for asking this question again if answered earlier, I am facing issues in reading Safari 3.0 DICOR ECU with my ELM 327. It says ECU not recognized however it can read Battery voltage perfectly. P.S. I am reading the ECU with the software that came with the OBD Cable(Scanmaster ELM). Also, same cable is not reading BMW ECU as well in INPA

Last edited by Ahmed : 7th July 2014 at 14:20.
Ahmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2014, 14:46   #964
BHPian
 
devrajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 497
Thanked: 110 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahmed View Post
Sorry for asking this question again if answered earlier, I am facing issues in reading Safari 3.0 DICOR ECU with my ELM 327. It says ECU not recognized however it can read Battery voltage perfectly. P.S. I am reading the ECU with the software that came with the OBD Cable(Scanmaster ELM). Also, same cable is not reading BMW ECU as well in INPA
AKAIK, TATA Safari is compatible with "OBD CAR Doctor" android app and Torque does not work. If Scanmaster is reading voltage means COM port is right. Same scanmaster needs to be used to scan BMW too.
devrajman is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2014, 10:19   #965
BHPian
 
COUGAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Delhi
Posts: 538
Thanked: 82 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Trying to connect to my Gypsy's OBD port using Torque Pro on the android and a Bluetooth VGATE ELM327 unit.

Device connects properly but ECU light is flashing. Protocol says "Unknown".
Protocol was set to Auto in Settings. Tried manually setting it to ISO9141-2 but still not connecting to ECU.

The earlier Scangauge unit i had used to work perfectly when manually set to ISO9141 protocol.

Has anyone tried this? Someone once said something about "initialization settings" to be sent as a command string?

Any help would be appreciated!
COUGAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 18:20   #966
Senior - BHPian
 
joybhowmik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,304
Thanked: 1,841 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by devrajman View Post
AKAIK, TATA Safari is compatible with "OBD CAR Doctor" android app and Torque does not work. If Scanmaster is reading voltage means COM port is right. Same scanmaster needs to be used to scan BMW too.
@ devrajman
On a different topic - have you figured out how to get the readings off the Toyota Innova yet?
I really need help now -as my ABS sensor recently came on - and I want to go prepared to the garage.
joybhowmik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2014, 07:28   #967
Distinguished - BHPian
 
a4anurag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 8,374
Thanked: 9,810 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joybhowmik View Post

I really need help now - as my ABS sensor recently came on - and I want to go prepared to the garage.
I guess Toyota uses a different protocol for ECU reading hence these ELM 327 do not respond well.

Regarding the ABS light, what is current level of brake fluid in the reservoir?!

Anurag.
a4anurag is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2014, 08:26   #968
Senior - BHPian
 
joybhowmik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,304
Thanked: 1,841 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Regarding the ABS light, what is current level of brake fluid in the reservoir?!
Brake fluid level is at Max level.
joybhowmik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2014, 08:41   #969
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 8,033 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by joybhowmik View Post
as my ABS sensor recently came on - and I want to go prepared to the garage.
Sometimes muck and dirt covered on the ABS sensors mounted near the wheels/discs can cause this issue and trigger the ABS light on the dash. You may have to remove the wheels and clean the sensor to see if the light goes off.
Gannu_1 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2014, 15:39   #970
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chennai
Posts: 90
Thanked: 44 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Hi fellow Bhpians,

Can someone suggest me a good brand of OBD-II scanner(Wi-Fi Variant) that can work with iOS devices and also recommended app for iOS devices.

I would be more greatful if someone can also provide the link for scanner to buy (if available online).

I'm intending to use it in my Figo.

Mods - Please merge this post if this is not the right place to post the query.
Amarkarthi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2014, 11:23   #971
BHPian
 
Ranga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 308
Thanked: 31 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Hi

I am looking for a OBD for my Scorpio MHawk bought in Dec 2009
I need the OBD to connect to IOS devices ( iphone and ipad2 ) Have read a lot of reviews on the ELM327 . Is this compatible with IOS devices ?
Ranga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2014, 14:41   #972
BHPian
 
devrajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 497
Thanked: 110 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amarkarthi View Post
Hi fellow Bhpians,

Can someone suggest me a good brand of OBD-II scanner(Wi-Fi Variant) that can work with iOS devices and also recommended app for iOS devices.

I would be more greatful if someone can also provide the link for scanner to buy (if available online).

I'm intending to use it in my Figo.

Mods - Please merge this post if this is not the right place to post the query.
As per my opinion VGate iCAR2 WiFi is good device. Stable and fast. Works with Torque and Dash Commander in iOS. Also its works with Figo Petrol and Diesel all models

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranga View Post
Hi

I am looking for a OBD for my Scorpio MHawk bought in Dec 2009
I need the OBD to connect to IOS devices ( iphone and ipad2 ) Have read a lot of reviews on the ELM327 . Is this compatible with IOS devices ?
AFAIK, Scorpio MHawk 2009 may not be compatible, best to try and buy. You will need WiFi based for iOS. Details above.

Thanks
devrajman is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2014, 18:14   #973
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,063
Thanked: 2,859 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
Sometimes muck and dirt covered on the ABS sensors mounted near the wheels/discs can cause this issue and trigger the ABS light on the dash. ...
The ABS sensor is a reluctance sensor, and doesn't at all mind being covered with muck and dirt. Ferrous stuff like lathe shavings (may have fallen on the road from a truck loaded with that stuff) might cause an error. The most likely cause of sensor error is loose contact.

If the ABS light goes on, it is better to get it checked, especially if fluid level in the brake fluid reservoir is within limits.
DerAlte is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2014, 21:32   #974
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,548
Thanked: 4,525 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
The ABS sensor is a reluctance sensor, and doesn't at all mind being covered with muck and dirt. The most likely cause of sensor error is loose contact.
True, however if muck and dirt are caught between the pole ring and the sensor, it can push the sensor out of its position. The effect being, the spacing between the sensor and the pole ring will be increased beyond its normal operational range. Or worse, the sensor gets damaged.

Depends a bit on the design of the sensor mounts. Some cars are a little more susceptible to it then others.

Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2014, 13:15   #975
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,063
Thanked: 2,859 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
True, however if muck and dirt are caught between the pole ring and the sensor, it can push the sensor out of its position. ...
While it seems feasible theoretically, in practice the toothed wheel mounted on the wheel (whose teeth the sensor senses) prevents the buildup.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
On Board Diagnostics (OBD) for Dummies a4anurag Technical Stuff 34 23rd October 2016 22:37
Diagnostics, Spares, Service & Upgrades for European Cars - Euro Car Pitstop (Cochin) Games Goblin Other Cities 3 1st February 2016 13:36
TechSpec® : Understanding On-Board Diagnostics, also known as ECU, ECM, EMS dadu Technical Stuff 62 14th March 2014 15:30
Advantages of OBD 2 over OBD 1 Sprucegoose Technical Stuff 19 20th October 2009 06:44
req help with indigo sx (diesel) on board diagnostics shldn Technical Stuff 4 26th March 2006 20:11


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:51.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks