Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th October 2014, 16:14   #1006
BHPian
 
PMK-MoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: KA51/AP07
Posts: 120
Thanked: 53 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Anyone tried using the OBD tools for Mahindra XUV. please suggest which tools will be good.
PMK-MoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 17:17   #1007
BHPian
 
nidhinsarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Calicut
Posts: 208
Thanked: 80 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
An ARM chip is not going to make dial updates faster nor connection more stable. The data updates will be only as fast as the ECU puts out data, and that really doesn't need faster screen updates. OBD data updates are last priority in the list of ECU tasks, and the data publishing is not associated with any guaranteed update frequency.

The ARM chip just replaces some functionality - at higher cost - that was achieved cheaply with PIC micro. Not that the change is desirable, the designers may have a long term plan to have done that.

The only plus point would be the ability to provide firmware update for the dongle, IF it supports firmware loading via USB by end-user. However, if you are not changing the car as often as the updates are expected to come, there is no advantage.
Thanks for the valuable info, but i had already ordered the one with ARM chip.
nidhinsarath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 18:09   #1008
BHPian
 
devrajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 498
Thanked: 110 Times
Default

I have all of these models. I have personally tried all these.
With Vgate icar2 I could clearly see throughput difference.
I also have spoken to startups working on OBDII, they too confirmed the same during their r&d and testing different models for compatibility.

You can try it too.. ;-)

All of these ELM327 devices work with xuv.

Last edited by devrajman : 8th October 2014 at 18:11.
devrajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 18:27   #1009
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,063
Thanked: 2,859 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by devrajman View Post
... You can try it too.. ;-)
All of these ELM327 devices work with xuv.
Yeah, sure, of course you would have them! Get me one that works with a Safari DICOR ! I don't have an XUV, na, and don't intend to get one.

BTW, how did you objectively measure "throughput difference"??? Or was that the usual "I get a feeling that it is faster"?

Last edited by DerAlte : 8th October 2014 at 18:31.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2014, 20:07   #1010
BHPian
 
devrajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 498
Thanked: 110 Times
Default

Mostly visual difference when using both at same time with two diff ecu simulators.

Afaik Safari dicor works with Vgate or premium. Need to use OBD car doctor app. Do try...

Xuv reply was for other post :-D
devrajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2014, 11:24   #1011
BHPian
 
Chalu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 86
Thanked: 35 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Does ELM327 devices would work with Honda City 2012. Also I would like to see how it works in my car before i put my money on it. Is there any way to check it before I buy?

Any advise guys
Chalu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2014, 11:28   #1012
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 180
Thanked: 18 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Yeah, sure, of course you would have them! Get me one that works with a Safari DICOR ! I don't have an XUV, na, and don't intend to get one.

BTW, how did you objectively measure "throughput difference"??? Or was that the usual "I get a feeling that it is faster"?
I bought ELM 327 from ebay and it is working perfectly fine with Car Doctor Android app
mandyrana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2014, 11:38   #1013
BHPian
 
devrajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 498
Thanked: 110 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chalu View Post
Does ELM327 devices would work with Honda City 2012. Also I would like to see how it works in my car before i put my money on it. Is there any way to check it before I buy?

Any advise guys
Yes Its compatible with any ELM327 device and works without issue with any OBDII Android App.
devrajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2014, 13:49   #1014
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,063
Thanked: 2,859 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by devrajman View Post
Mostly visual difference when using both at same time with two diff ecu simulators. ...
That's even worse than "I get a feeling that it is faster"

Quote:
Originally Posted by devrajman View Post
Afaik Safari dicor works with Vgate or premium. Need to use OBD car doctor app. Do try ...
Hmmm must try that some time. Even the others seem to work with OBD Car Doctor. That must be a protocol translation issue more than dongle compatibility issue.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2014, 13:15   #1015
BHPian
 
nidhinsarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Calicut
Posts: 208
Thanked: 80 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Received the V gate OBD II yesterday. It works fine with the Torque app.
Attached Thumbnails
OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars-imag2293.jpg  

OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars-imag2294.jpg  

nidhinsarath is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2014, 14:07   #1016
BHPian
 
Mr.mitsuvolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bhopal
Posts: 137
Thanked: 80 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Recently bought ELM 327 mini for my cars.
I found it to be working perfectly in my Honda Brio and Cedia but for some strange reason it is not working properly in Polo i.e. it does not show the speed (OBD) and fuel consumption (Km/l - instantaneous).
I am using the Torque Pro app.
What could be the reason?
Mr.mitsuvolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2014, 15:11   #1017
Distinguished - BHPian
 
a4anurag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 8,385
Thanked: 9,862 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.mitsuvolk View Post
I found it to be working perfectly in my Honda Brio and Cedia but for some strange reason it is not working properly in Polo i.e. it does not show the speed (OBD) and fuel consumption (Km/l - instantaneous).
In the settings tab, go to OBD2 adapter setting -> here check if the 'Do not calculate MPG/FE'. If this option is checked then FE won't be calculated.

Anurag.
Attached Thumbnails
OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars-1414057286689.jpg  

a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2014, 15:39   #1018
BHPian
 
Mr.mitsuvolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bhopal
Posts: 137
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
In the settings tab, go to OBD2 adapter setting -> here check if the 'Do not calculate MPG/FE'. If this option is checked then FE won't be calculated.

Anurag.
Just checked the adapter settings and 'Do not calculate MPG/FE' was not checked.
The FE and vehicle speeds are being displayed when I connect the adapter in Cedia as well as Brio, it is just the Polo in which I am encountering this problem.
Mr.mitsuvolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2014, 16:45   #1019
Distinguished - BHPian
 
a4anurag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 8,385
Thanked: 9,862 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.mitsuvolk View Post
Just checked the adapter settings and 'Do not calculate MPG/FE' was not checked.
The FE and vehicle speeds are being displayed when I connect the adapter in Cedia as well as Brio, it is just the Polo in which I am encountering this problem.
Then I hope these sensors that are required to calculate these parameters are available or no for Torque PRO to access.

When you open a page in the real-time data tab, add a display and when you select on the parameter that needs to be added, is it green in colour or greyish?

OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars-screenshot_20141023164720.png

If it is Green then it is an active sensor.

Anurag.

Last edited by a4anurag : 23rd October 2014 at 16:51.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2014, 19:55   #1020
BHPian
 
Mr.mitsuvolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bhopal
Posts: 137
Thanked: 80 Times
Default re: OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars

I just checked the speed and FE parameters in the add display panel, both of them appear with green background but the speed remains 0km/h in Polo :(

Another thing, should I remove the adapter everytime after a drive. I'm afraid that I might end up damaging the pins if I remove it frequently.
Attached Thumbnails
OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars-img_20141023_185135.png  

OBD (On-board diagnostics) for Indian Cars-img_20141023_185208.png  

Mr.mitsuvolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
On Board Diagnostics (OBD) for Dummies a4anurag Technical Stuff 34 23rd October 2016 22:37
Diagnostics, Spares, Service & Upgrades for European Cars - Euro Car Pitstop (Cochin) Games Goblin Other Cities 3 1st February 2016 13:36
TechSpec® : Understanding On-Board Diagnostics, also known as ECU, ECM, EMS dadu Technical Stuff 62 14th March 2014 15:30
Advantages of OBD 2 over OBD 1 Sprucegoose Technical Stuff 19 20th October 2009 06:44
req help with indigo sx (diesel) on board diagnostics shldn Technical Stuff 4 26th March 2006 20:11


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:36.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks