Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th March 2007, 10:20   #1
BHPian
 
santhoshx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore/New Jersey
Posts: 46
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Is it ok to use choke to start

I have a LPG fitted 99 Zen. My mechanic advised me to use choke to start the car in petrol since it is giving me starting trouble in the morning. Usually I prefer to start engine on petrol and switch over to LPG. I am not pretty sure how to use choke. Once I pull the choke and start my car, am I suppose to drive with choke on for sometime or should I push it back immediately after starting.

How exactly choke is used and is there any issues in using it
santhoshx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2014, 17:55   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 160 Times
Default How to check the Health of choke in case of Auto Choke Mechanism?

How to check whether the Choke is operating or not in case of vehicles fitted with Auto Choke Mechanism?

We have a Scooty Pep (75cc- Not Plus) of July-2003. It has covered more than 60-70KKms. (Cannot specify exact because the Speedo was not working for some months).
The minimum temp. in our city goes @ 20 Deg. C during the night.

When it is started first time in early morning (before 9-10am), it gets started with 1st kick but gets Turned-Off if a little bit accelerator (Little Bit here means 4-5 mm of accelerator) is given. I have to wait around 30 seconds in that idle rpm and then the vehicle does not give any trouble thereafter throughout the day.

If the Pep is started after 11 am, the above problem does not show its face.

I have cleaned the Carburettor, but still the problem persists. Also even after disconnecting the Choke Connector, this problem is there.

How to check if the Choke that is fitted on the carburettor is faulty? I have enquired its price which is Rs.636/-

There is no voltage across the terminals of Female Connector of Choke after disconnecting the Male Connector from it.

I am confused. Please help.
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2014, 19:03   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,370
Thanked: 13,345 Times
Default Re: How to check the Health of choke in case of Auto Choke Mechanism?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
How to check whether the Choke is operating or not in case of vehicles fitted with Auto Choke Mechanism?

There is no voltage across the terminals of Female Connector of Choke after disconnecting the Male Connector from it.

I am confused. Please help.
Look at this link below. It may be of some help.

http://www.vw-resource.com/automatic_choke.html#trouble

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2014, 23:21   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 160 Times
Default Re: Is it ok to use choke to start

Anurag, its too technical for me but one point given is To check for the Voltage across the Choke. Currently there is no voltage in our pep's case. I will check the wiring and see if I can sort out the problem.
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2014, 23:32   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,370
Thanked: 13,345 Times
Default Re: Is it ok to use choke to start

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
Anurag, its too technical for me but one point given is To check for the Voltage across the Choke. Currently there is no voltage in our pep's case. I will check the wiring and see if I can sort out the problem.
Apologies for the technical article but seeing your issue and reading the article that I posted, I feel you need to get the wiring checked first after which the further checking can be done.

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2014, 16:27   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 160 Times
Default Scooty Pep: Whether Choke is working or not?

Sorry for late update.

I switched On the Ignition and checked the voltage between the orange wire coming towards the Choke and Carburettor Body. The voltage came to around 12 V.

So does it mean that Choke is getting Supply but the former is faulty and need replacement?Name:  IMG_20140803_155124.jpg
Views: 4316
Size:  81.9 KB


Some more points I want to add-
1) I have to "pump" the accelerator (but very slowly and in very small proportions to avoid stalling the engine) and I have to wait for minimum 60-90 secs. before I can move.
The Cost of Choke Mechanism shown by Black outline in above picture is Rs.636/-.
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2014, 19:01   #7
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,370
Thanked: 13,345 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
I switched On the Ignition and checked the voltage between the orange wire coming towards the Choke and Carburettor Body. The voltage came to around 12 V.

So does it mean that Choke is getting Supply but the former is faulty and need replacement?

The Cost of Choke Mechanism shown by Black outline in above picture is Rs.636/-
If your are getting 12V then the wiring is fine. IIRC there should be an element in the choke, so to check it:

1) First remove the power cable from the coil;

2) Then set a low value like 8-10 ohms (it must be in ohms);

3) Touch one probe to the element connector and the other to body of the Carb.

4) If you get any reading the element is intact; if you get no reading it's broken.

Even if the element is fine and the voltage obtained is 12V but the choke isn't working as it should, then do change it.

Rs 636 is a single time investment but it will get you peace of mind.

Anurag.

Last edited by a4anurag : 3rd August 2014 at 19:04.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2014, 07:38   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 160 Times
Default Scooty Pep: Whether Choke is working or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4anurag
1) First remove the power cable from the coil
If you mean disconnect the green connector of the Choke, then that is what I did and checked the voltage which came 12 V.
Quote:
Originally Posted by a4anurag
3) Touch one probe to the element connector...
Could you please guide me as to which part are you referring? Is it the wire coming from Choke towards the Green Connector?
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2014, 18:09   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 160 Times
Default Re: Is it ok to use choke to start

Yesterday I replaced the Choke Mechanism with New.

Still the problem of "The Engine feels suffocating" persists. Now what to do next?
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2014, 18:33   #10
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,370
Thanked: 13,345 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
Yesterday I replaced the Choke Mechanism with New.

Still the problem of "The Engine feels suffocating" persists. Now what to do next?
Check the air filter and clean the carburettor once. Do it at an FNG rather than at ASC.

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2014, 19:27   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 160 Times
Default Re: Is it ok to use choke to start

I have cleaned the Carburettor myself to eliminate the carburettor issue and then only I posted the query here. Sorry I should have mentioned it before.

Also I had cleaned the Air Filter not long ago. May be Max 1500 kms ago.
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2014, 20:10   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,370
Thanked: 13,345 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
I have cleaned the Carburettor myself to eliminate the carburettor issue and then only I posted the query here. Sorry I should have mentioned it before.

Also I had cleaned the Air Filter not long ago. May be Max 1500 kms ago.
Since you have cleaned it by yourself, hope you set the AFR screw in the correct position.

Do look at Spark plugs, if they haven't been changed.

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2014, 21:44   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 160 Times
Default Re: Is it ok to use choke to start

AFR has been set to 1.75 Turns and the Spark Plug have been replaced around 2000kms ago. I have inspected and cleaned the Spark Plug around 500-600 kms ago.
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2014, 22:08   #14
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,370
Thanked: 13,345 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
AFR has been set to 1.75 Turns and the Spark Plug have been replaced around 2000kms ago. I have inspected and cleaned the Spark Plug around 500-600 kms ago.
All seems to be fine then. What about fuel quality?

"Engine Suffocating" - Do you mean that, when you twist the throttle there is no response? Like Sluggish?

Anurag.

Last edited by a4anurag : 11th August 2014 at 22:10.
a4anurag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2014, 15:53   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 160 Times
Default How to check for Fault in Choke Mechanism?

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4anurag
What about fuel quality?
"Engine Suffocating" - Do you mean that, when you twist the throttle there is no response? Like Sluggish?
I fill petrol from the same bunk since past few years.
When the throttle was twisted more than 3-4 mm the engine would die. The engine needed some time to be stable. I would give throttle 2-3 mm (Approx) and gradually increase it depending on the behaviour of engine. If I feel that the Engine would be remain alive if the throttle is increased to 5-6mm, then I would slowly do the same. Then if I feel that engine has really awaken (this would take around 1min), then I would set off.
I think this problem has got solved. But still keep watch on this and update.
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cold start vs warm start, is there a difference? Shan2nu Technical Stuff 6 18th May 2010 18:32
help me choose for 60% highway use 40% city use nawabnabeel SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 43 7th April 2009 17:48
Driving with choke on - what damage can occur? archat68 Technical Stuff 9 13th December 2008 09:48
Four Choke to death in car DCEite Shifting gears 37 13th September 2006 20:31
Let me start my jeep... hianooo Introduce yourself 21 14th October 2004 11:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks