Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th May 2007, 00:18   #1
AkMar's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 665
Thanked: 548 Times
Default 31 litres petrol in M-800-possible?


I have a question for the experts, although nominal, but it has been in my mind for quite some time.

A couple of times, the person at the petrol pump managed to fill 31 litres of petrol into our car. The owners manual as well as the website says that the capacity is 28 litres. At the time of
refuelling, the fuel indicator had just touched E on the guage.

Is this possible or we were fooled by the pump guys?
AkMar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 11:45   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
Join Date: May 2005
Location: KL 01
Posts: 4,287
Thanked: 1,933 Times

It's possible if you fill the petrol till the brim. But it's a not a good idea because petrol evaporates and you also have to lug around the excess weight of the fuel.
Sankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 12:22   #3
navdeep's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times

Go for more than 28 litres if you are going on long drive else fill upto brim is not a good idea.

edit : brim = 1-2 litres less then brim but more than auto cut.

Last edited by navdeep : 7th May 2007 at 12:33.
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2007, 12:30   #4
Team-BHP Support
Jaggu's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 16,561
Thanked: 4,729 Times

whatever be the distance filling up to the brim is not recommended cos it goes against the principle on which the system was designed.

trust me mileage also will be better (marginally) if you stick to proper filling exercise, though am not sure if its coz of proper calculation or some other reason whereby the fuel might be wasted/un usable.

Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2007, 22:36   #5
scorpio118's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 43
Thanked: 5 Times

Filling to the brim is not a good idea at all. Petrol heats up quickly, and it need space to expand. Auto cut is designed to allow this space to petrol. You can go a little bit above auto-cut (to pay in round figure), but leave some space for petrol to expand, other wise it may create a very high pressure zone inside.
scorpio118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2007, 18:04   #6
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 144
Thanked: 0 Times

Petrol pump guys cheating you, sounds a more likely reason than anything else. Are you sure you checked for the '0' before they started filling? They sometimes also turn and twist the pipe to trap some petrol in it. Although, that would have made the difference of 750ml-1L at max; not 3 litres.
amu1983 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting Numeric Reading of Fuel Remaining in Litres in Logan lower variants anilkalvani Technical Stuff 40 5th May 2010 15:16
Round the world on 12 litres? coolclouds The International Automotive Scene 0 14th October 2009 16:53
Always have a reserve of min 10 Litres in your tank if you drive a diesel. fash_1 Street Experiences 17 6th August 2008 12:32
Peugeot xdb 2.2 litres aaragorn Technical Stuff 1 15th July 2008 10:57
10+ litres, 500+bhp - Please welcome the new bride in my auto harem Steeroid The International Automotive Scene 39 2nd May 2006 14:27

All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks