Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th August 2010, 03:07   #391
Team-BHP Support
 
Mpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,420
Thanked: 1,632 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjayr328 View Post
BOSCH sensors dont have good feedback, poor pick up and life of the sensor is a problem - or so i am told , even the insiders i know at the dealership dont recommend it, they were thrilled with this one though
OK, but how much does it cost?

Did you check for Denso in Opera house?
Mpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 09:42   #392
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 51
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Having heard the feedback i didn't try the BOSCH option at all - honestly .

i wanted Denso just to be sure, went straight to the website , Living in Pune has its limitations unlike Mumbai where sourcing is a little easier. I also wasn't convinced about the Denso part being genuine if bought here.

Regards..
sanjayr328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 10:48   #393
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 270 Times
Default

It's probably hearsay. No reason why Bosch O2 sensors might be bad.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 13:03   #394
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 76 Times
Default

I've got a vehicle speed sensor error on my car. Engine check light has come one, speedo/odo/trip meters not working.

VTEC disabled (checked it with a diagnostic device).

Honda charges 1,500 to fix it (including labour)

PS : I was under the impression the low profile cams were very sedate and designed for economy.....i couldn't have been more wrong. The damn thing still takes off like a rocket!!!

A "vtec-disabled" vbox test on the cards, next time i'm in Blore.

Shan2nu

Last edited by Shan2nu : 13th August 2010 at 13:04.
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 16:03   #395
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 270 Times
Default

Shan2nu, need a VSS? I'm coincidentally converting to an electronic VSS. The torque curve flattens after around 5k though.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 12:44   #396
BHPian
 
ankitahuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gurgaon & Delhi
Posts: 881
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan2nu View Post
I've got a vehicle speed sensor error on my car. Engine check light has come one, speedo/odo/trip meters not working.

VTEC disabled (checked it with a diagnostic device).

Honda charges 1,500 to fix it (including labour)

PS : I was under the impression the low profile cams were very sedate and designed for economy.....i couldn't have been more wrong. The damn thing still takes off like a rocket!!!

A "vtec-disabled" vbox test on the cards, next time i'm in Blore.

Shan2nu
How does one cure this problem? I've the VSS error since over 2 months now and not touching it. Just need a speedo cable replacement and a hard reset for the ECU. What's your take on this?
ankitahuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 12:52   #397
BHPian
 
toiingg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 597
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Guys, i thinking of changing all 4 shocks. How much damage am I looking at ? My local mech quoted me 2.5k each + labour.
toiingg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 14:00   #398
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 270 Times
Default

Ankit, either the cable or the complete VSS that bolts into the transmission.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2010, 01:46   #399
BHPian
 
ankitahuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gurgaon & Delhi
Posts: 881
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
Ankit, either the cable or the complete VSS that bolts into the transmission.
Hmmm. Had the same problem few years back. Replacing the cable did it. Cost was less than Rs 300.

What might be the cost of VSS? Available on the net? ;-)
ankitahuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2010, 02:39   #400
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 270 Times
Default

Free for you, will have one available when I switch to an electronic VSS. Single bolt, mounted to the transmission bell-housing. Let me know if you want it.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2010, 12:47   #401
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 437
Thanked: 98 Times
Default

What is electronic VSS? Sorry if the question is too basic.
saurabhkum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2010, 13:57   #402
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 270 Times
Default

The Vehicle Speed Sensor bolts to the transmission and gets the speed from there. Our Indian OHC came with an analog cable-driven VSS. Since I am switching to a different speedo cluster from a JDM Honda Integra, I need to change to an electronic VSS since the cluster does not support the analog cable-driven VSS. (The part that mates to the transmission is the same, but instead of a cable, the speed is transmitted electronically via a wire.)
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2010, 10:57   #403
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 402
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
I am switching to a different speedo cluster from a JDM Honda Integra,
so that means the whole unit..? or jus the sensor, didn't quite follow it sorry.

if its the whole 'cluster' can you upload a pic.
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2010, 11:08   #404
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 270 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnda View Post
so that means the whole unit..? or jus the sensor, didn't quite follow it sorry.

if its the whole 'cluster' can you upload a pic.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/1946433-post154.html
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 10:58   #405
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 402
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavt View Post
thanks..wonderful. the Speedo cluster looks neat. does it fit like a glove or do you have to make any adjustments? I guess this is not the thread to ask or make mention..
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4th Gen Honda City i-VTEC Manual - 1st year ownership report tejas08 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 41 5th October 2015 21:18
1st-gen Honda City: Adjustable Coilovers, Raceconcepts intake + exhaust and more bhuvan_prasad Modifications & Accessories 15 15th January 2015 20:02
DIY: 1st-Gen Honda City Door Panel Removal bowser DIY - Do it yourself 5 30th October 2014 00:18
Things I need to specifically look for in a 1st-gen Honda City Vtec Rice_tuner Sedans 8 16th June 2008 19:52
honda city (new) (old) and mitsubishi lancer fuel efficiency devarshi84 The Indian Car Scene 3 19th July 2005 12:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:34.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks