Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th September 2007, 14:16   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 212 Times
Default Power commander for cars? Why not?

Many here would know of the Dynojet Power Commander for fuel injected superbikes. These retail for $300-500 depending on the model, and pre-set fuel maps are available off the website itself for individual bikes.

It can't get simpler really. You simply plug the Power Commander (PC) in, copy the new map and you're set. Torque, powerband etc can all be adjusted with this and a laptop to best suit the performance updates you fit on your bike as well as the ridding conditions.

So if it's so simple and freely available for bikes, is there something similar out there for cars? Offhand, I don't know of any. SO why aren't these available? Why can't I order a PC online, plug it in, download a remap and get my car to perform better? And I also have to option to tinker around with it myself (if I know what I'm doing). All for around $500 (Rs.20,000).

Why the double standards here? Is it because the ECU in a car control far more (TC, ABS, ESP etc) than that in a FI bike? What's the reason?
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2007, 14:25   #2
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Is it because the ECU in a car control far more (TC, ABS, ESP etc) than that in a FI bike?
Maybe one of the reasons. The only solution to something like this would be to use a standalone and set it up all by yourself. Provided you know what you are doing.
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2007, 14:50   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
veyron1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,426
Thanked: 37 Times
Default

Yes. we have simple options like the Power commander, for cars. A good example, known by most of us, is the Greddy E-manage. Both are piggybacks, you see...

P.S- Rahul, standalones are far more difficult to manage. You have to build maps yourself, according to the engine's state of tune, as every engine is different...pre-determined maps are very costly, as they are engine-specific...

Last edited by veyron1 : 5th September 2007 at 14:55.
veyron1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2007, 15:13   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,035
Thanked: 1,472 Times
Default

Rtech,

Will the RD ECU help? I'm to believe that it can be programmed on the fly with a laptop, according to an existing customer. And I've seen that it can be either standalone or piggyback by toggling a switch.
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2007, 15:33   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 212 Times
Default

E-manage is similar. Isn't it primarily only for Jap imports though?

Quote:
Will the RD ECU help?
I don't know. You tell me.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2007, 15:41   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,035
Thanked: 1,472 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtech View Post

I don't know. You tell me.

From what I've seen, there's a perceptible power upgrade by switching on this ECU
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2007, 16:05   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,042
Thanked: 95 Times
Default

eManage / SAFC / VAFC are the closest you can get to power commanders for the car world and no they are not plug and play.

However there are a few select ECU's for which you get directly swappable options for reprogramming from various manufacturers and most of them are are targetted towards the subaru / mitsu / honda stables

Some of the famous ones are like Hondata / Crome and Uberdata

Other than that you get standalones and RaceDynamics makes ecus that can be used like piggybacks / standalones.

Yes applications for cars are a bit more expensive due to the additional drivers that one needs to manage.
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2007, 16:09   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 212 Times
Default

Thanks Psycho. Any particular reason why we don't have a plug & play similar to the PC?
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2007, 16:39   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,042
Thanked: 95 Times
Default

CAr damages due to fiddling can be way higher than on bikes and not many people want to tinker with their orignal ecu's.

Also the connectors are not that easily available. One shortcut could be to use the OBD conversion cables available abroad.
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commander Project Preliminaries DirtyDan 4x4 Vehicles 26 21st September 2015 21:13
Mahindra Commander Engine exhaust rranjith_kum Technical Stuff 16 22nd December 2009 12:11
Adding an Airbag to a Mahindra Commander raoulu Modifications & Accessories 5 20th October 2008 10:12
pioneer HU deh-p7750 rotary commander knob required urgently. clipto333 In-Car Entertainment 14 24th April 2007 12:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks