Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th January 2005, 02:39   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Deeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Delhi/Noida
Posts: 1,090
Thanked: 67 Times
Exclamation Indicator problem.........need help

Hi guys, i need ur urgent help. There's an indicator problem with my clio. When i turn on the indicator (on any side), the lights don't blink, they just remain on. Neither is there any cut-cut sound. Same is the case when i turn on the emergency lights, they don't flicker. A few months ago the switch for the emergency light had to be replaced and then everything was fine until today. So all u experts, please help..
Deeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2005, 02:51   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,601 Times
Default

Hi Deeps,

Sounds like u have a problem with your thermal flasher.
Getting it changed should be a 1minute job, and the part itself should cost less than $5.

For more info check out - HowStuffWorks.com - How Turnsignals Work

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2005, 15:03   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Deeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Delhi/Noida
Posts: 1,090
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Hey thanks a lot rehaan. I'll get the thing changed asap. That saves another trip to the mech. thanks to team-bhp!!
Deeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2005, 15:16   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 212 Times
Default

Hey Deeps,

It could just be a simple case of a wire grounding out. Check the wiring first before replacing any parts. If you say the switch for the hazard lights was changed recently, the problem could be traced back to that. Maybe it was not installed securely.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2005, 16:51   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Deeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Delhi/Noida
Posts: 1,090
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Hey rtech, thanks for the help. I also thought that the problem could have been due to the switch. So i took it out and reinstalled it but it didn't cure the problem. I talked to a guy at an accessories shop and he also said that its the thremal switch that needs to be changed. He showed me 2 switches. One had 3 pins, the other had 4. he said that i need to ckeck the current switch to see whow many pins that has and then choose the correct switch. But here he was quoting a price 13 Euros which much more than what Rehaan said. But thats no big deal. The guy refused to actually install the switch saying that the shop only sells parts. So rehaan, can this be done by someone like me? I know where the fuse box is located. And if its only a matter of locating the switch and taking it out and then installing a new one, then i can probably do it myself.
Deeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2005, 21:48   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,601 Times
Default

Hey Deeps,

Well i dont know about the Clio, but the flasher may be located in the fuse box. Once you identify it, it should be as easy as changing a fuse.... (pull out old one, push in new one)
However Rtech does have a point, ie theres a slight possibility that after u spend 13euros it still might not work because it wasnt a problem with the flasher anyways, but i feel it is the flasher...

Another option you might have is to order the part online if you want to try to save a few bucks.

Give it a shot, make sure the car is turned off.
Keep us informed
cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2005, 23:50   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Deeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Delhi/Noida
Posts: 1,090
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Ok, i got the problem fixed today. I couldn't change the flasher myself as i couldn't locate it in the fuse box. In fact the flasher didn't need to be changed. The mechanic just took it out, checked the circuitry and then reinstalled it. Then everything worked perfectly. So it was probably some kind of loose connection. Thanks a lot for the help rtech and rehaan.
Deeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2005, 00:08   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,601 Times
Default

LOL,

Sometimes the best way to fix something is to unplug it and then plug it in again :P
(Somtimes the problem is that its not even plugged in...)

If you dont mind, im just curious to know if / and how much this costed $$$ ?

Glad we cld help out.
cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2005, 20:04   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Deeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Delhi/Noida
Posts: 1,090
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Well, since no part was changed i paid 10Euros for the labor of just identifying the flasher, checking its condition and putting it back in! Oh i also went to Renault to ask abt the flasher and they said that it'd cost me 35Euros for the part (the same thing that the accesories shop guy was selling for 13Euros) and the labor was free of charge. But they said i'd have to wait till Monday and leave the car for a few hours. I didn't really want wait that long so i just took it to the mechanic i knew and he did it on the spot in abt 2 mins. Now that i know where the flasher is located in the fuse box, i can just replace it myself if there is any problem in the future. Thanks again for the help guys!
Deeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2011, 14:22   #10
BHPian
 
rohan_iitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 992
Thanked: 401 Times
Default Re: Indicator problem.........need help

Need some help in rectifying a small issue with the turn indicator.

I gave my i10 irde for servicing at Advaith Hyundai, Outer Ring Road, Bangalore. The turn indicators were functioning properly when I gave the car for service.

After servicing, the right turn indicator is flashing very fast (probably twice as fast compared to the left one). The left indicator is working properly.

What could possibly be the issue ? Is it necessary to rectify this at the earliest ? The service centre is far away from my residence, I don't feel like visiting the service centre for this small issue.

Rohan
rohan_iitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2011, 14:24   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Deeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Delhi/Noida
Posts: 1,090
Thanked: 67 Times
Default Re: Indicator problem.........need help

One of the bulbs on the right side indicators has failed. hence it flashes at double speed. A simple job of changing the faulty bulb is required.
Deeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake fluid/Parking Brake Indicator light- Is this a problem? santosh.s Technical Stuff 10 7th June 2017 14:02
Why don't modern cars have a "battery problem" indicator? PearlJam Technical Stuff 24 23rd August 2012 22:18
Getz Indicator display in dash problem K a s h Technical Stuff 3 10th November 2008 00:23
Overtaking indicator - Right or Left prince1a Technical Stuff 5 7th October 2006 04:36
Fuel reserve indicator by light or voice in Scorpio santhoshbkartha The Indian Car Scene 0 21st August 2006 14:02


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:49.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks