Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th March 2008, 18:12   #1
BHPian
 
arpandiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 428
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Alto 1.1 Throttle Body problem?

Hi, I have a Alto 1.1 which is having (what looks like) a throttle body problem.once the engine is warmed up(after driving for 10-15mins),if i press the acc. slightly,it tends to stall. if however the acc. is pressed more/harder she will not stall.I checked this by moving the Throttle body arm which the acc. cable joins to. the problem still occurs,so acc. cable is ruled out.Have already got the injectors,fuel tank,fuel pump,throttle body cleaned.new sparkplugs installed.What all sensors are present in throttle body,I think only the TPS ? is there a motor/actuator inside the TB ? what could be the problem?
arpandiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 21:05   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
vigsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: AUH<->MAA
Posts: 1,722
Thanked: 581 Times
Default Your Solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by arpandiv View Post
Hi, I have a Alto 1.1 which is having (what looks like) a throttle body problem.once the engine is warmed up(after driving for 10-15mins),if i press the acc. slightly,it tends to stall. if however the acc. is pressed more/harder she will not stall.I checked this by moving the Throttle body arm which the acc. cable joins to. the problem still occurs,so acc. cable is ruled out.Have already got the injectors,fuel tank,fuel pump,throttle body cleaned.new sparkplugs installed.What all sensors are present in throttle body,I think only the TPS ? is there a motor/actuator inside the TB ? what could be the problem?
When was the last time you got the throttle body serviced?
If it was serviced,was the problem there before the service and it has started after the service?If yes,then there could be a problem with fitment or with some ports in the TB getting clogged.
vigsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2008, 21:06   #3
BHPian
 
arpandiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 428
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

The TB was serviced ~30kms back.
the problem was there before servicing the TB too.
arpandiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2008, 08:34   #4
BHPian
 
arpandiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 428
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Update: The check light is flashing at low rpms
what could be the cause?
arpandiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2008, 13:57   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,478 Times
Default

check engine light? one of your sensors, quick guess air flow or throttle body sensor aint proper, can be loose connection or dirty. Or it can be a real low idle causing the stalling problems.

Take it to a competent garage who have access to proper tools and diagnostic equipment.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2008, 20:46   #6
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PATNA
Posts: 35
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Throtle Body Probelem

HI,the probelem is from the TP sensor connector ,the copper strands of the three wires of TP sensor develop cracks which lead to signals not properly sent to the ECU .Go to a good work shop ask the electrician to dismantle the TP sensor connector (By removing a white coloured plastic lock in the connector) and fix new wires in these three terminals, allso clean the MAP sensor slot. Disconnect the (-)tive terminal for about 2 mins. This will solve your probelem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpandiv View Post
Update: The check light is flashing at low rpms
what could be the cause?
alankarmotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2008, 22:16   #7
BHPian
 
arpandiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 428
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Thank you so much will get this done and get back to you.
arpandiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2008, 23:06   #8
BHPian
 
arpandiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 428
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alankarmotor View Post
HI,the probelem is from the TP sensor connector ,the copper strands of the three wires of TP sensor develop cracks which lead to signals not properly sent to the ECU
Hi,
This work was done. around 80% of the jerk has dissapeared
The mech then put the TP sensor from a Wagon R onto the car and the problem completely dissapeared. so its the TP sensor at fault too.
Any idea how much this costs?
anything else i need to look at?
thanks
arpandiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2008, 10:29   #9
BHPian
 
amitpunjani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 451
Thanked: 101 Times
Default Bingo

Quote:
Originally Posted by alankarmotor View Post
HI,the probelem is from the TP sensor connector ,the copper strands of the three wires of TP sensor develop cracks which lead to signals not properly sent to the ECU .Go to a good work shop ask the electrician to dismantle the TP sensor connector (By removing a white coloured plastic lock in the connector) and fix new wires in these three terminals, allso clean the MAP sensor slot. Disconnect the (-)tive terminal for about 2 mins. This will solve your probelem.

Alankarmotors, ones again you have hit a bull's eye
amitpunjani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2008, 21:36   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PATNA
Posts: 35
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Throtle Body Probelem

HI, unfortunately the TP sensor does not come as a child part you will have to purchase the entire throtle body assy. Well if you manage to get a used one, which is possible because even if the other components of the throtle body i any accidented car is damaged ,then allso the entire assy. is replaced.But re fitting this TP sensor can be proprly done by a qualified technician as the throtle percentage has to be set between 14-17 %.
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpandiv View Post
Hi,
This work was done. around 80% of the jerk has dissapeared
The mech then put the TP sensor from a Wagon R onto the car and the problem completely dissapeared. so its the TP sensor at fault too.
Any idea how much this costs?
anything else i need to look at?
thanks
alankarmotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2008, 22:32   #11
BHPian
 
arpandiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 428
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

hi,
i was told the TP sensor is available seprately through spares distributors etc let me try and work something out,will get back to you sir for the installation procedure.
arpandiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle Body Enlargement / Expansion hellspawn Modifications & Accessories 42 1st December 2009 09:44
RPM Surges-Throttle Body Cleaning wolfinstein Technical Stuff 29 6th October 2009 08:12
Honda City 1.3 Type 1, 1998 model. ECM, throttle body problem cbearun Technical Stuff 4 9th April 2008 10:11
Throttle Body Bypass 1self Modifications & Accessories 3 7th September 2007 14:31
Optra, Throttle body repair sage Technical Stuff 5 7th June 2007 12:30


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:31.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks