Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th April 2008, 01:04   #91
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

I agree with the closed loop feature, however we can have a map that runs closed loop to a certain point and then goes into open loop mode right?.. my other question relates to the fact that..the performance map would handle fuelling,but how would It improve efficiency (only with a map)?Or is this where part throttle tuning comes in?

Last edited by nitroxx : 12th April 2008 at 01:07.
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 01:18   #92
Senior - BHPian
 
PatienceWins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,157
Thanked: 261 Times
Default

Thanks for the clarification Shan2nu.

If that is the case, then custom map should give good FE with normal city usage. Are guys with custom map experiencing the same?

Seems to be a good proposition, more torque at disposal and better FE with normal usage.
PatienceWins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 02:21   #93
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
a custom map doesn't posses the ability to vary it's AFR to an extent, to which a custom map is capable of.
Read that as : a stock map doesn't posses the ability to vary it's AFR to an extent, to which a custom map is capable of.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 08:47   #94
BHPian
 
Ford Rocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai-India
Posts: 880
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroxx View Post
I agree with the closed loop feature, however we can have a map that runs closed loop to a certain point and then goes into open loop mode right?.. my other question relates to the fact that..the performance map would handle fuelling,but how would It improve efficiency (only with a map)?Or is this where part throttle tuning comes in?
You need to tune in open loop first, get as much readings as possible on different road conditions like in traffic, while cruising & wot runs.
Take readings in hot climate in afternoon & in late night when its cold,
also if possible take the car to some high altitude & take readings and tune accordingly. This is where wideband comes in to picture.you need to have that installed in your car hooked up to a standalone to get readings.

once you are done tuning your fuel/ign map in open loop, then you should set back your ecu to run in closed loop, up to a particular load point decided best by your tuner. once it crosses that particular load point & RPM you can tune your same map for max perfomance to redline.
Ford Rocam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2008, 21:14   #95
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: thiruvananthapuram
Posts: 774
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Is there any remapped ecu available for palio 1.6 from R.D ?
swathyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2008, 10:57   #96
BHPian
 
rdkarthik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 206
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

swathyd - Yes we have ECUs compatible with the palio 1.6.

The other guys, hang on a day or two i will upload info on how mapping can be optimized for eco and performance.
rdkarthik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2008, 19:49   #97
Senior - BHPian
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,042
Thanked: 95 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkarthik View Post
The other guys, hang on a day or two i will upload info on how mapping can be optimized for eco and performance.
Ding Dong time to share the info, looks like you forgot all about it.
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 09:13   #98
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 142
Thanked: 2 Times
Thumbs up

Nice review Psycho, Keep up the GOOD WORK RD & team, ALL THE BEST.

CHERS,
G D
P180V1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2008, 22:50   #99
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,365
Thanked: 22,570 Times
Default crosslink

Take a look at Viper's RD-0601 reivew here : http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...-race-ecu.html

cya
R
Rehaan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2008, 22:55   #100
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,033
Thanked: 1,470 Times
Default

Karthik,

You got anything for diesels in the pipeline - Indian ones at that ?!
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2008, 08:54   #101
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

The diesel ECU is under testing as we speak. It should be out quite soon.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2008, 14:48   #102
BHPian
 
rdkarthik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 206
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

theMAg, our diesel systems have just completed all the on-road endurance testing, so you can expect them very soon. The CD0801 series of ECUs for common-rail diesels are designed to work on any crd system.
We havent decided on releasing the tuning software for this.. What do you guys think? Should we or should'nt we release the software ?
rdkarthik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2008, 21:46   #103
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

I think you should release the software
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2008, 21:54   #104
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,300
Thanked: 411 Times
Default

Release it on request and get it in writing that RD will not be responsible for any eventualities due to unsupervised tuning .. or something to that extent.
binz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2008, 22:57   #105
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,745
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binz View Post
Release it on request and get it in writing that RD will not be responsible for any eventualities due to unsupervised tuning .. or something to that extent.

that is the best way to keep all camps satisfied.

With this new diesel ECU, it should be relatively safer to use the boost controller that is also being tested by others on the forum , right?
rippergeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help-Petes box or Race Dynamics piggyback ECU for Optra Magnum dockap Modifications & Accessories 66 9th December 2017 12:22
My Getz CRDI with Race Dynamics XM400 Edit: updated with 0-60, 0-100 figures Furman Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 62 12th October 2009 06:24
Race Dynamics: Honda City VTEC rdkarthik Modifications & Accessories 93 11th August 2009 20:20
ICE Upgrade in Hydra's Hatch II (Swift Zxi) - Alpine, Image Dynamics, TRU Tech hydrashok In-Car Entertainment 239 26th July 2009 11:54


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:48.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks