| |||||||
| Register | BHP Garage | Classifieds | Team-BHP FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Technical Stuff Want to know your Vtec, ABS or intercooling better? |
![]() |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| BHPian | When stuck in city traffic, I'm faced with two alternatives. slot into second, rev hard to move forward , and slowing down by just easing off the pedal, and engine braking does the rest. This keeps the engine in the 2k rpm mark, so throttle responses are better and there is more control. This is what i usually do. but mileage suffers as a result and i feel I'm straining the engine , and it runs hot :( Second alternative. Stick to third. The Indica can pull from almost still in third, with some clutch to keep it from stalling. then coast along for a while with the engine at idle , and then brake when i need to stop. I suppose i save fuel, but then I'm eating up the clutch and brakes, but the car is much more relaxed since it is running at much lower revs. Which is the correct technique ![]()
__________________ 2007 Indica DLG My next Truck will be a Safari! |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| BHPian | in case 1, my right leg is in use the whole time in case 2, its the left leg, so leg pain wise , both are the same. I suppose because the clutch by itself might cost as much as my car ![]()
__________________ 2007 Indica DLG My next Truck will be a Safari! Last edited by Technocrat : 17th April 2008 at 16:10. |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Team-BHP Moderator ![]() | In stop and go traffic use 1st gear and switch to second when speed increases. If you do what you are doing for long(3rd gear) you would be left without clutch plates soon. With proper use an indica clutch plate can last 1 lakh km+
__________________ .--- ..- ... - - .-- --- -- --- .-. . -.. .- -.-- ... - --- --. --- !! |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| BHPian | From the Horse's mouth itself...Well Said Tanveer. -- If you maintain 1st gear for starts from STANDSTILL/'0', mechanicals will be saved. forget FE, 1st the car, then the traffic Vs FE. And why do you bother about that in a Indica, whats your average anyways. If its a V6 Accord/Sonata I can understand (5-7KMPL). so chill out and take good care of the car.
__________________ Dont wear Helmets & Seatbelts to reach Heaven Faster You hardly have any time left in this world to be a sinner |
| |
| | #7 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Forget the idle starts, thing is , i've felt that there is a certain speed range, i somewhere in the 25-35 kmph range, where the engine revs too much in 2nd, and is just above knocking in 3rd. so i need to shift a lot.
__________________ 2007 Indica DLG My next Truck will be a Safari! Last edited by greenhorn : 17th April 2008 at 16:16. | |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| Team-BHP Moderator ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004 Location: Bombay / New York
| Hi Greenhorn, This has been discussed before - (well, 1st vs 2nd - unlike your 2nd vs 3rd gear, but kindly adjust as per car's toqrue) http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...gear-move.html (Do you always use first gear to move on?) http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...ar-second.html (First gear or Second) http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...ng-styles.html (Questions on General Driving Styles) http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...on-needed.html (First gear clutch release operation in MPFI cars - clarification needed!) Please continue the discussion in the most appropriate thread. Thanks, R
__________________ The memory of you will ride by our side forever. |
| |
![]() |