Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th May 2008, 21:52   #1
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 190
Thanked: 20 Times
Default Esteem Battery discharged -ECU reset

one day my Esteem Battery discharged completly and after i charged the battery now the engine noise is very high as well the car maximum speed is only 100kmph and i feel the engine is very harsh now.

Is this due to ECU reset due to battery discharge
how can we remap the ECU to the correct setting?

-MUKE
muke31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2008, 00:44   #2
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: pune
Posts: 250
Thanked: 101 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muke31 View Post
one day my Esteem Battery discharged completly and after i charged the battery now the engine noise is very high as well the car maximum speed is only 100kmph and i feel the engine is very harsh now.

Is this due to ECU reset due to battery discharge
how can we remap the ECU to the correct setting?

-MUKE
imo just disconnect the negative for say 2 minutes and reconnect should reset ecu
Jr Godzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2008, 08:52   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,364
Thanked: 22,566 Times
Default

muke31,

This does not really sound like an ECU problem. (though resetting it once is probably worth a shot!)

Why did your battery discharge in one day? Do you know what the reason for that was - it might provide some insight to the problem you are currently facing.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2008, 09:56   #4
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 190
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

The car was kept parking for a week and that was the reason why the battery discharged, but why max speed decreased and harsh engine
I noticed this while i took my car from Bangalore to chennai and car refused to go beyond 100kmph and the RPM was showing only 2500-3000

i recently changed my clutch plates for esteem? is this the problem?

-MUKE
muke31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2008, 12:25   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: pune
Posts: 250
Thanked: 101 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muke31 View Post
The car was kept parking for a week and that was the reason why the battery discharged, but why max speed decreased and harsh engine
I noticed this while i took my car from Bangalore to chennai and car refused to go beyond 100kmph and the RPM was showing only 2500-3000

i recently changed my clutch plates for esteem? is this the problem?

-MUKE
in one week normally battery should not discharge but can happen
is your car carb version
after changing clutch did you try +100 speeds
has your FE dropped??
Jr Godzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2008, 22:49   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

you cannot reset the ecu by disconnecting the battery. the dealerships use a special diagnostic machine to reflash the ecu.
Shardul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2008, 18:04   #7
BHPian
 
quicksilvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 41
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

You can very well reset the ECU as described by Jr Godzilla.
Reflashing is a total different ball game.

Make sure that, after resetting the ECU, start the car and let it idle for about 3mins and then turn it off.
quicksilvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2008, 20:41   #8
BHPian
 
scorpian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GOA
Posts: 270
Thanked: 112 Times
Default

Ideally to reset a ECU you should disconnect the negative terminal for atleast 15minutes(sum even recomend 30mins).
On a cielo showing check engine light,we disconnected all connectors,disconnected the batt for almost an hour or so(meantime we were cleaning the plugs)after this when we reconnected everything and started the engine the check engine light had stopped glowing(no this was not due to a faulty plug,as prior to this we had checked by replacing all four plugs with plugs from the other car)
its worth a try just disconnect and leave it for 30 mins or so....
scorpian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2008, 21:06   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

You have to discharge and reset the ecu as described by dischargin the battery, then reconnect the battery.Start the car drive it hard for a few minutes switch it off and start and drive again normally and then once more.
this should set the parameters again for your car.
have done this a lo of times..will work. especially with the suzuki ecu
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2008, 21:07   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

other option o dicharge battery is disconnect the two terminals and touch them to each other thereby removing complete charge even residual.
else disconnect battery and crank the engine a couple of times.
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2008, 19:16   #11
BHPian
 
kishoryk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 97
Thanked: 4 Times
Default ECU Reset

I bumped into this thread while wandering around in the TBHP forum.

Mods - this may be slightly out of topic, so if you wish you may please post this as a new thread.

I've two questions on the ECU reset:
1. As the original post from MUKE, recently I had my car battery drained for the same reason of not being used for long time. THen when the mech arrived, he wanted to quickly re-charge it - so ran the engine at high RPM for few minutes immediately after jump starting it with another battery. Could this have effected ECU mapping? Does this require an ECU reset?

2. The car I recently bought was a pre-owned one. It's highly likely that the first owner's driving habits/behaviour is quite different from the way I drive. He could be slightly inexperienced and might not have used the clutch+accelerator+gear combination appropriately. I can't claim myself an expert but now I'm better learned in optimal/effecient driving. Does it help to reset the ECU now and let it re-map for my driving style so that I can get better performance from my car than what it's currently?

Please clarify.. Thanks in advance!

cheers:
KK
kishoryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2008, 10:06   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,950
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kishoryk View Post
I bumped into this thread while wandering around in the TBHP forum.

Mods - this may be slightly out of topic, so if you wish you may please post this as a new thread.

I've two questions on the ECU reset:
1. As the original post from MUKE, recently I had my car battery drained for the same reason of not being used for long time. THen when the mech arrived, he wanted to quickly re-charge it - so ran the engine at high RPM for few minutes immediately after jump starting it with another battery. Could this have effected ECU mapping? Does this require an ECU reset?

2. The car I recently bought was a pre-owned one. It's highly likely that the first owner's driving habits/behaviour is quite different from the way I drive. He could be slightly inexperienced and might not have used the clutch+accelerator+gear combination appropriately. I can't claim myself an expert but now I'm better learned in optimal/effecient driving. Does it help to reset the ECU now and let it re-map for my driving style so that I can get better performance from my car than what it's currently?

Please clarify.. Thanks in advance!

cheers:
KK
1. Running the engine at high RPMs for few minutes might not have affected the ECU mapping. No need for ECU reset.

2. Don't worry about how the previous owner had used the car. Just stick to the best practices. And, the ECUs are not having too much of AI !

Also see : http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...resetting.html (Basic ECM Resetting)
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2008, 16:03   #13
BHPian
 
kishoryk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 97
Thanked: 4 Times
Default THanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by mithun View Post
1. Running the engine at high RPMs for few minutes might not have affected the ECU mapping. No need for ECU reset.

2. Don't worry about how the previous owner had used the car. Just stick to the best practices. And, the ECUs are not having too much of AI !

Also see : http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...resetting.html (Basic ECM Resetting)
mithun, Thanks much for that piece of information and the link is useful too.

Cheers,
KK
kishoryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reset ECU after installing K&N PatienceWins Technical Stuff 20 6th July 2010 16:15
Accent ECU Reset - Is it advisable? jasher26 Technical Stuff 15 20th October 2009 15:53
Using a battery tender to revive discharged battery xxaarraa Technical Stuff 2 14th May 2008 19:56


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:21.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks