Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th September 2008, 20:17   #31
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 107
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CtrlAltDel View Post
friends in Bangalore tell me that some workshop (Maruthi A*S*S...?) is fixing ABS to non-ABS Swifts for around 20K. will verify this and get back with any contact number/address.
I would never go for it personally, unless it is officially fitted by the car manufacturer.
AFAIK ABS needs specific software in your ECU for communication. Also, given that ABS requires faster communication, my guess would be that a micro controller ,not built for ABS , will not be able to handle it.
I am a n00b, so I might be wrong but one would really need to make a huge effort to convince me to fix a third party ABS in my car.
e1t1bet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 20:48   #32
BHPian
 
aerohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: India
Posts: 883
Thanked: 582 Times
Default

Why do people even think about doing stuff like this?

All i have to say is - Forget it!

ABS conversion is not possible easily and is not safe.

Very Simple - If you want an ABS, just buy a car that has ABS, or learn how to brake properly.
aerohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 21:01   #33
BHPian
 
rajivanoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 398
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Yes. sundaram clayton Ltd, manufactures ABS systems for sure. As we are in transport line, we get journal once in a quarter from CIRT & ASRTU. In that TVS have advertised about their products and the pics.

There Was ABS too. But i think its for heavy vehicles like Bus and trucks, am not sure whether it manufactures for other category.
rajivanoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 21:25   #34
BHPian
 
MuzzledMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: THRISSUR
Posts: 192
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

What about fitting ABS to a car without ABS but the higher end version coming with ABS. Like if i have a swift without ABS and want to make it ABS, is that possible with every car offering top end ABS facility to be fitted to a lower end version of the SAME CAR MODEL
MuzzledMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2008, 21:33   #35
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 107
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aerohit View Post
Why do people even think about doing stuff like this?
Because he didn't know. The appreciable thing though, is that he asked others before going for it. To my knowledge, a bad ABS fit(which will pretty much be the case always), can have horrifying results.
e1t1bet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2009, 21:36   #36
BHPian
 
shivshanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

I Test Drove a recent model of the Gamma, with the simple hope that I iwll be buying the Gurkha one day...very soon.

I TD a Mid 2007 vehicle and also a fairly early model of the TRAX, maybe a 2006.

As a sales talk, explaining the feature benefits of the vehicle .. What the chief Mechanic told me was that there is a "more effecive" booster for the current model vehicles.

Maybe it is worth trying it out.
shivshanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2017, 11:48   #37
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 423
Thanked: 587 Times
Infractions: 0/3 (12)
Default Re: Adding an aftermarket ABS?

ABS after-market fitment is not possible. My service advisor said the only way to get ABS is a non-ABS car is to sell the non-ABS car and buy the same model of the ABS car!
Apparently it will cost over a lakh and not worth the effort. That is why best to buy cars with ABS

In case you are aware of any MASS that does it reliably, please share the details. I was interested and did a lot of exploring about after market ABS but was not successful

Quote:
Originally Posted by e1t1bet View Post
I would never go for it personally, unless it is officially fitted by the car manufacturer.
AFAIK ABS needs specific software in your ECU for communication. Also, given that ABS requires faster communication, my guess would be that a micro controller ,not built for ABS , will not be able to handle it.
I am a n00b, so I might be wrong but one would really need to make a huge effort to convince me to fix a third party ABS in my car.
bhpfaninblr is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 13:18   #38
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kottayam
Posts: 41
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Re: Adding an aftermarket ABS?

It's nearly impossible to fit an aftermarket ABS system currently on a Non-ABS vehicle.
However , who can say ? Maybe someone will make vehicle specific kits and make it a business. The kits thus produced will have a high price tag though , since it will include the ECU and all the components related to the braking and ABS system.
And with no much of a guarantee ,who is going to go for it ? My opinion is , driver slower , take it offroad and enjoy what you have while you have..!
JozfGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Integrated Head Units - Is this the death of the aftermarket for aftermarket HU's ajmat In-Car Entertainment 44 27th July 2011 16:48
Can the functionality of ABS be simulated on Non-ABS cars? abhinav.s Technical Stuff 54 24th February 2010 14:51
swiftDz ZDi Vs verna SX Abs Vs fiesta sxi tdci abs Vs logan dlsx Vs indigo XL G-dicor dayaraamm Sedans 1 27th August 2008 14:22
Are aftermarket ABS available? novice Technical Stuff 1 11th March 2008 11:22
Fusion + ABS or Baleno VXI or Accent Viva ABS? What to buy? Confused like anything.. sendu79 Sedans 47 3rd June 2006 20:21


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks