Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th August 2009, 15:50   #31
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Indica Vista OBD

Quote:
Originally Posted by sun View Post
As I said before, I had seen the TATA service personnel in action on my Safari 2.2 l. On the hardware connector was written ISO 14230. That should be the protocol.. right ?

Hope this was useful.
Since my scan tool [ELM 323] is compliant withISO14230, the PCM Scan should have recognized it.....Am i missing out on any settings....Will post the screen shot of the error shortly...

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team : Please take the time to use proper punctuation as per Team-BHP rules. Avoid...typing...like...this. Thanks.

Last edited by Technocrat : 24th August 2009 at 17:31. Reason: Please read the note in post, thanks
svdath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 15:54   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,649
Thanked: 242 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svdath View Post
Dadu,
Tried using the PCMScan trial version..>It was able to recognize hte ELM323 scanner..But it then gave a error message that the protocol was not recognized. Is TATA using its own propritery protocol. I thougt it was a ISO-9141-2. Also, when i connet the ELM323 to the OBD connector, i get one red led light on the scan tool, but there is one more which does not glow, is that a problem? I bought mine from Car PC Systems | Vehicle Infotainment Solutions | iRide Technologies, Mumbai, India

Also, is there a way to find out what is the protocol by some AT command? I keep getting the BUS INIT.....ERROR message
It uses ISO 14230-4 (KWP2000 FAST) protocol.

Connect using Hyperterminal with the following :
Set Bits per second to 9600
Data Bits to 8
Parity to None
Stop bits to 1
Flow Control to None

Type 'ATZ' and hit enter, what do you get ??
Type '010C' and hit enter, what do you see ??
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 20:06   #33
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Indica Vista OBD

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadu View Post
It uses ISO 14230-4 (KWP2000 FAST) protocol.

Connect using Hyperterminal with the following :
Set Bits per second to 9600
Data Bits to 8
Parity to None
Stop bits to 1
Flow Control to None

Type 'ATZ' and hit enter, what do you get ??
Type '010C' and hit enter, what do you see ??
Dadu,
Still no luck I have attached the screenshot.Is there any other setting that i need to make?
Attached Thumbnails
Cracking the Da Vinci "TATA Safari 2.2l" ECU Code-obd.jpg  

svdath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2009, 09:15   #34
sun
BHPian
 
sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 106
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

your indica vista is Quadrajet or with TATA engine ? If its Quadrajet, then may be it has some FIAT protocol ?
sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2009, 10:30   #35
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Indica Vista OBD

Quote:
Originally Posted by sun View Post
your indica vista is Quadrajet or with TATA engine ? If its Quadrajet, then may be it has some FIAT protocol ?
Its the Quadrajet running the Fiat 1.3 MJT. I googled and saw that Fiat also followed the ISO protocols. Now i am in a confused state whether there is problem with my OBD connector
svdath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2009, 16:45   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,649
Thanked: 242 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svdath View Post
Its the Quadrajet running the Fiat 1.3 MJT. I googled and saw that Fiat also followed the ISO protocols. Now i am in a confused state whether there is problem with my OBD connector

Yours is an older version of ELM-323, current is 327, do the following on the hyperterminal,

- Turn on the Ignition and Set the protocol to Auto by typing ATSP0 (last digit is zero) and then issue a 0100. if it doesn't respond its a non-standard OBD ECU.
- When it responds check the protocol by typing in ATDPN.
- Whatever number is returned now type in ATSP N (where N is the number the previous ATDP command returned)
- Now type in ATMA and post the results.

Last edited by dadu : 25th August 2009 at 16:47.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2009, 17:46   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,649
Thanked: 242 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svdath View Post
Since my scan tool [ELM 323] is compliant withISO14230, the PCM Scan should have recognized it.....Am i missing out on any settings....Will post the screen shot of the error shortly...
ELM323 supports: ISO14230-4 (KWP2000) ISO9141-2

ELM327 supports: ISO15765-4 (CAN) ISO14230-4 (KWP2000) ISO9141-2 J1850 VPW J1850 PWM

So if the vehicle ECU needs other than the ELM323 protocols, it will not work.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2009, 19:01   #38
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Indica Vista OBD

Quote:
Originally Posted by dadu View Post
ELM323 supports: ISO14230-4 (KWP2000) ISO9141-2

ELM327 supports: ISO15765-4 (CAN) ISO14230-4 (KWP2000) ISO9141-2 J1850 VPW J1850 PWM

So if the vehicle ECU needs other than the ELM323 protocols, it will not work.
Dadu,
It looks like i will need to go for the ELM327. I have attached the screen shot of the auto protocol setting. This itself did not go through. But do you think that me going for the ELM327 would solve the problem. Is there a one where I can test and then go for buying it?
Attached Thumbnails
Cracking the Da Vinci "TATA Safari 2.2l" ECU Code-obd2.jpg  

svdath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2009, 22:26   #39
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 580
Thanked: 83 Times
Default

I've had my go at Palio MJD with my ELM327 and it simply doesn't work. Always say "Unrecognized Protocol" or something similar.

Later learned from FIAT forums that FIAT uses some proprietary protocol which requires special SW.

Good luck to you! It would be a pleasant surprise if it ever works on Vista MJD.
Digital Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 14:14   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,649
Thanked: 242 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svdath View Post
Dadu,
It looks like i will need to go for the ELM327. I have attached the screen shot of the auto protocol setting. This itself did not go through. But do you think that me going for the ELM327 would solve the problem. Is there a one where I can test and then go for buying it?
Like I said earlier, it seems like a non-compliant OBDII ECU, usually Fiat should use ISO only. You can test with someone having ELM327 before opting to buy.
dadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 20:08   #41
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under the Hood
Posts: 903
Thanked: 37 Times
Default

Fiat (old) uses the ISO 14230-4 KWP fast init for communication with ECU. But the langguage it speaks is very different from OBD-II or EOBD. I have had some success in communicating with my Petra ECU through hyper terminal. I could not make a program as I do not understand software code so much.

However, I thought new MJD engines complied to EOBD standards! I am surprised it doesn't!!!
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 21:25   #42
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC View Post
Fiat (old) uses the ISO 14230-4 KWP fast init for communication with ECU. But the langguage it speaks is very different from OBD-II or EOBD. I have had some success in communicating with my Petra ECU through hyper terminal. I could not make a program as I do not understand software code so much.

However, I thought new MJD engines complied to EOBD standards! I am surprised it doesn't!!!
Can you let me know what were the commands you used with Hyper terminal and also what was the connector you used - ELM 323 or ELM 327?
svdath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 22:01   #43
sun
BHPian
 
sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 106
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

svdath, I inquired with TATA personnel today, Fiat indeed uses different protocol. They have different hardware to connect to quadrajets and 1.3 Fiats. Even the software is different, though he did not mention which .
sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 11:10   #44
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under the Hood
Posts: 903
Thanked: 37 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC View Post
Fiat (old) uses the ISO 14230-4 KWP fast init for communication with ECU. But the langguage it speaks is very different from OBD-II or EOBD. I have had some success in communicating with my Petra ECU through hyper terminal. I could not make a program as I do not understand software code so much.

However, I thought new MJD engines complied to EOBD standards! I am surprised it doesn't!!!
I used a ELM327.
The sequence of the commands were too long and clumsy (atleast for my laziness). Please PM your mail ID, I will send some scatch pad which I made while trying to decode. If you can write some code in c# and live in bangalore, we can put together a program to do this job.
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 13:43   #45
sun
BHPian
 
sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 106
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Check this -

Wow..I just Connected my Palio to Laptop via OBD II cable today~! - The FIAT Forum

(Link taken from another thread)
sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Cayenne" we "XC-eed" in our "Endeavour" to "Safari"? Taking powerful metal off-road SS-Traveller 4x4 Excursions 55 10th November 2016 22:56
"Check Engine" light also indicates ECU "relearning" ? anandpadhye Technical Stuff 23 22nd August 2016 22:13
Swift DDIS SVS Light turns Off only after engine starts(ECU records immobilizer code) tush Technical Stuff 58 10th November 2014 20:51
Tata Safari Dicor 2.2 Paint Code Sankar Modifications & Accessories 10 6th April 2008 00:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:06.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks